What retro activity did you get up to today?

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by adz, Jan 28, 2014.

  1. jmannik

    jmannik Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    731
    Location:
    Albury, NSW
    Recently I got a "new" AT case from a friend so I decided to move my AMD 5x86 133MHz into the case and retire my rather ratty looking desktop case.


    I may rebuild the original case, trying my hand at retrobrite etc. and move my 386 computer into it instead.
     
  2. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    44,017
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Keen to know how that goes.

    I bought MD, SMS and SNES Tototek Flash carts a while (many years, now that I think about it) back. Needs to be flashed over a parallel port with uCON64 to work, which is clunky. And I think the SNES one is not working any more.

    Pretty keen to switch over to a newer model with SD Card. I love the look of the Krikzz "Everdrive" gear, but it's not cheap.
     
  3. )(arg0n

    )(arg0n Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    444
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I have his Everdrive 64, well worth the money :thumbup:. Looking at getting the Snes one when I have some spare dosh :).
     
  4. philscomputerlab

    philscomputerlab Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,843
    Back to the basics.

    MS-DOS 7.1 is interesting because you get FAT32 and up to 120 GB. I show you how to install it without any Windows.



     
  5. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,948
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    7.1 looks the good Phil with that fat32 :lol: You a gun on the dos
     
  6. philscomputerlab

    philscomputerlab Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,843
    Yea I like 7.1, FAT16 is just too limiting.

    The only retro activity lately is packing everything up.

    I'm moving soon, quite excited now. It's an upgrade from a 2 bed unit to a 3 bed house. I can finally have a few dedicated PCs around the house for various projects.

    Definitely my DOS time machine will get a dedicated spot in the living area, or Master bed to fall asleep to some retro music haha

    I will devote 1 room for filming to keep it clean and neat. A dedicated soldering / de-soldering bench as I have quite a few boards to repair.

    So yea, might not have a video for a weeks or two until I get everything sorted, but I should be back bigger and better :lol:
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2016
  7. atmo

    atmo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,162
    Location:
    Geelong
    Good luck with the move. Always better to have a bit more space.
     
  8. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,948
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Could have swore your linked a 1400 Athlon :confused:

    Put some time aside to mess with some machines.
    CBF going outside, too cold too wet. :p

    So opinions please what to hook up with the K7T Master.
    http://www.anandtech.com/show/628/3

    Board is a bolt through design. So I could be tempted on Old school WC.

    So far case is sorted. 900 Athlon. Need find matching rams.
    Still smaller caps to do. Fired up & x1 let go. :eek:
    Ultra 160 drives to find. Nakamichi scsi good to go.
    New Sony Dvd combo.

    My question what psu? what gpu?

    Board has the extra 4pin power. But I'm not certain the draw with half dozen scsi in there..........
     
  9. atmo

    atmo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,162
    Location:
    Geelong
    I sent you a PM the other day about a 1400.

    As for GPU, a Voodoo3 would be the most versatile. If you wanted to do something different and only interested in Direct3d/OpenGL, something like a Radeon 7500.
     
  10. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,948
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Been working on that machine. Not recognize the Nakamichi.
    Assume I need win98.

    Goddam cold in here typing -2 deg..........
     
  11. philscomputerlab

    philscomputerlab Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,843
    It looks like I'm getting moved on July 5th. Packed up most of my retro stuff and ready to go.

    Can't wait to be in the new house!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Grant

    Grant Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,621
    Location:
    Wollongong
    Congrats, but you'll never have enough space :upset:
     
  13. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,948
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Phil u need a bigger house with all that crap
     
  14. philscomputerlab

    philscomputerlab Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,843
    I know :)

    I'm amazed at how much I've amassed in just a few year :Pirate:

    That 7800GS arrived, it was really well packed, but can't test it out for a while.
     
  15. Wizard2k

    Wizard2k Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Newcastle
    renting or bought a house Phil?

    packing up and moving is a real pain if you have to do it alot especially with all our retro delicates :D haha
     
  16. philscomputerlab

    philscomputerlab Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,843
    I'm renting :)

    Been at the last place for almost 5 years, so it's not a frequent event.
     
  17. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,948
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Hey there Phil packer man :p

    Find a 754 processor in that stash ?
    I'll need one to test your board Phil, have ordered more high end 1000uF caps.
    So I'll be right then to fire it up " if it does start", before fitment of caps.

    Helps anyone? Got a 754 there. This US board for Phil is untested/ unknown state. :Paranoid:
     
  18. philscomputerlab

    philscomputerlab Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,843
  19. qwertylesh

    qwertylesh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,933
    digging up a little :Paranoid: old ram to upgrade the ram in my arcade cab.

    [​IMG]


    edit:
    [​IMG]
    better :)

    Now i know its definitely a celeron 1.8ghz also, hoping to upgrade it to a P4 400/533 Hyperthreaded 3Ghz or so.

    PGA478, Shanes favorite kind of retro! :lol:
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2016
  20. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,948
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Is you ill Querty :confused: Let nurse Ratchet come over administer your daily dose of pills. :p
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: