What retro activity did you get up to today?

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by adz, Jan 28, 2014.

  1. qwertylesh

    qwertylesh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,612
    Played Super Mario World on my new supaboy on the train all the way in to work. It puts emulators to shame :D
     
  2. Flamin Joe

    Flamin Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    4,223
    Location:
    4300
    Yeah that's probably true. I was thinking back to when I last purchased from them mid-last year and I do recall emailing them after doing the order asking if they could ship ASAP. That was because I was being impatient as I only just received an XT I'd be chasing forever from overseas and was eager to play with it over the weekend. :D

    It must of prompted them to get there ass into gear and from memory it only took a couple of days from ordering to receiving it (I did Express shipping). So it might pay to give them a friendly bump when you order. :)
     
  3. BuuBox

    BuuBox Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,304
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I emailed them this morning and they replied back within 30 minutes. I'm picking up a few items on Saturday. :)

    They've got a few interesting bits and pieces on their website. I'd like this, if I had a use for it: http://www.a1usedcomputers.com.au/shop/prodView.asp?idproduct=4216

    Dual Slot 1 motherboard with 2 x Pentium III 500MHz CPUs installed and a bit of RAM for $55. :thumbup:
     
  4. TaXy DriVar

    TaXy DriVar Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    488
    Location:
    Dural
    I also emailed them this morning and received this from the MD.

    These items are held at our remote warehouse and will be accessed overnight - for shipment via Express Post tomorrow. So, I would expect that delivery to Dural, NSW should be Thursday - subject to Australia Post meeting their agreed standards.

    Kind Regards,


    So here's hoping I get it in a few days, and that it works!
     
  5. Mau1wurf1977

    Mau1wurf1977 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,706
    Location:
    Country WA
    Got these 3 Pentium 4 motherboards. The large AOpen has SIS chipset, the other ones are Intel.

    I got them for 99 cent each, but postage was $15 a pop and it appears the seller paid $21 which is odd, seeing the seller used an eBay satchel and each box only weighs a Kg. Has AusPost increased prices on 3Kg Satchels?

    Also the AOpen board (Intel chipset) doesn't post. Shame as this was the one I wanted to use for my Voodoo 2 benchmarking marathon :(

    "Adventurous packing". Bubble wrap and stuck in a satchel :thumbdn:

    Some images:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    With the Abit I Expected some fancy looking BIOS, but nope, looks pretty standard. There was a BIOS password but I CMOS cleared it.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Non POSTing AOpen Intel chipset board :upset:

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Flamin Joe

    Flamin Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    4,223
    Location:
    4300
    Yeah that board is pretty awesome and a great price imo. Onboard SCSI to boot! Would of jumped at it a few years back but these days I prefer my servers to be quiet and energy efficient.

    Let us know what the shop is like. If I'm ever in Melbourne again in the not too distant future I wouldn't mind dropping in if it's worth the effort. Would be fantastic to walk into a shop and see old gear for change. :)
     
  7. badmofo

    badmofo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    Australia
    I dropped in there a while back and the 2 guys I talked to were all glazed stares and unhelpful one line responses. The younger one didn't seem to know what a 486 was, and I walked away under the impression that they were a) both depressed and lacking basic life skills and b) didn't have half of the stuff listed on their website.

    But maybe they were just having an off day.
     
  8. Mau1wurf1977

    Mau1wurf1977 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,706
    Location:
    Country WA
    Got this little Philips 18.5" LED monitor because it has a 4:3 aspect ratio button. 4:3 aspect ratio monitors are hard to find. One option is old 1024 x 768 monitors, but they are indeed old with slow refresh times and poor colours.

    At the other end of the extreme are 20" 1600 x 1200 LCDs. Hard to find and not cheap. 1920 x 1200 screens are also an option if they have a 4:3 aspect ratio mode.

    Here some images:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  9. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,219
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Know how it feels, buying boards that don't post.

    3x New boards purchased Ebay. 2x are second hand that arrived
    & did not post.

    The one gem in the rough was this.

    [​IMG]

    Bought some cheapy cpus. Bit bashed up for 5 bucks.

    3x had a fair bit of pins that needed work.

    The score was

    2x palamino 1.4 & 1.5 ghz
    1x Thoroughbred, about 1.8ghz IIRC
    1x Barton xp2600

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Mau1wurf1977

    Mau1wurf1977 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,706
    Location:
    Country WA
    Nice board!

    Turns out that SIS chipset board from AOpen has a few caps which are bulging. And I played around with the Abit board and it froze a few times. So basically all three boards are dodgy and I paid $15 shipping each :upset:

    I think many of these boards suffer from cap damage. Currents / temperatures used to be a lot higher compared to 486 and early Pentium gear.

    A typical Pentium used maybe 20W, a P4 up 70W+
     
  11. badmofo

    badmofo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    Australia
    Very interesting, could you explain more about this please? I'm completely retarded when it comes to resolutions, aspect ratios, etc but I'd like to have a modern option if my CRT kicks the bucket.

    In 4:3 mode, what sized image do you end up with? About 17 or 18" I'm assuming? And what does the screen do with DOS resolutions? It will still have to scale it I suppose, but at a 1:1 ratio?

    How does it look in DOS games? Is ghosting still an issue with as screen this new?

    What model number is it and where did you get it?

    Thanks!
     
  12. Mau1wurf1977

    Mau1wurf1977 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,706
    Location:
    Country WA
    The image ends up being very small. I will measure it and let you know the diagonal in inches.

    Scaling is great, no complaints. Speed / ghosting is typical of a TN, not an issue and miles better than "real" 1024 x 768 LCDs which use ancient panels.

    It works great under DOS through VGA or DVI, doesn't matter. Under Windows you can then play 1024 x 768 and have perfect pixel mapping (because the monitor has 768 vertical pixels).

    Played some Splinter Cell last night and it works great!

    On the 1280 x 1024 screen I found that many game don't even have that resolution, just 1280 x 960, which is the resolution they should have used to make 17" and 19" Monitors.

    I might do a video on this topic explaining the issue a bit more.
     
  13. BuuBox

    BuuBox Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,304
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I like using a 24" 16:10 monitor - as long as it has 1:1 pixel mapping and a few scaling options.

    Gives you 1600x1200 at 1:1, a decent size screen, and a 4:3 mode for scaling lower resolutions.
     
  14. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,219
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Was a big fan of AOpen & still am.
    Have a keyboard still & scored some nice server style AOpen cases.

    Friend has an AOpen socket7 board stashed for me. Think it may be a 440mx chipset. This does post. :)

    Negotiating some Asus A97 mb's too.

    https://www.google.com.au/search?q=...nd-PSU-TESTED-PACKAGE-%2F171132699111;300;225
     
  15. Mau1wurf1977

    Mau1wurf1977 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,706
    Location:
    Country WA
    I'd love to grab one, but reviews that look into this are hard to find. We got some 1680 x 1050 16:10 at work with a 4:3 button (Benq). Good enough, but not ideal.
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2014
  16. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,219
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    I'm so over dodgy sellers!

    See there he nailed you with 3x boards. Noticed after I re-read.
    As you agreed to 3x lots of $15 postage, you have no recourse.

    I'm negotiating with an excellent seller atm...............

    For 3x Asus sp97 boards sporting 133 pentiums.
    Just awaiting testing of the 2x final boards before shipping out Monday.


    If these work out, you interested in one? I could divert it your way.
    Do have a spare 200mmx pentium here & there purchased ebay too. :thumbup:
     
  17. Mau1wurf1977

    Mau1wurf1977 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,706
    Location:
    Country WA
    I'm set with Socket 7 boards :thumbup:

    One highlight from last week, a new-in-box, never used, even smelling new, Asrock P4i65G :)

    http://www.asrock.com/mb/intel/p4i65g/

    I have a used one as well and they are a pleasure to work with. Also nice and compact compared to the Asus, Gigabyte and Abit boards.

    I will use this board for my massive Voodoo 2 scaling project for the Pentium 4 platform.

    I got a S370 board to pickup from the Post Office. It has a Tualatin compatible Intel chipset, but is an Acer OEM board. So I will only find out through trying if it takes the Tualatin chips.

    If not I will have to use a different board from Gigabyte with VIA chipset.
     
  18. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,219
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Have one of these, sure I fired it up last week. Looks new too.
    No idea where I got this one now.

    http://www.motherboards.org/reviews/motherboards/1215_2.html

    Have some OK socket 370 boards, but need a tidy & a few caps done.
    I'm fine with that type of soldering.

    Biggest of those type cpu's here is a 1ghz, followed by some 933's.
    Then a misfit 1200 celeron.

    Got one of these ( Super clean + tidy ) like Brand New.

    Gateway 400c fitted with Celeron 400. Way way better than the ebay pic.
    Oem but nice anyway.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Gateway-G6-...d=100011&prg=9407&rk=1&rkt=10&sd=321219697812
     
  19. Flamin Joe

    Flamin Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    4,223
    Location:
    4300
    :thumbup::thumbup: *** hugs my Dell 2405 ***

    Use to be my main monitor being driven by the latest gear, now it gets a XT, Amiga 500 and anything else I can throw at it. :D 1:1 pixel mapping, a plethora of input options (DVI/VGA/S-Video/Composite) makes it a winner in my books. :thumbup:
     
  20. Mau1wurf1977

    Mau1wurf1977 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,706
    Location:
    Country WA
    So that LCD has your retro seal of approval? :)

    Might keep my eyes out for a second hand one...

    Wondering if there are any current 16:10 screens with retro compatibility (4:3 aspect ratio mode).

    Picked up that Acer motherboard and while it was well packed, it's filthy as. Full of dust, unbelievable that these professional resellers don't even bother with a little cleaning. I wonder if they even test the stuff or just let the customer test it...

    Was so pissed I stuck it under the shower. It's drying now and I might test it tomorrow :thumbdn:
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2014

Share This Page

Advertisement: