1. If you're receiving a message that you are banned from the Current Events or Politics forums, it's not you specifically: those forums have been hidden for all users. For more info, see here.
    Dismiss Notice

What retro computer activity did you get up to today?

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by adz, Jan 28, 2014.

  1. BuuBox

    BuuBox Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,574
    Location:
    Melbourne
  2. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    12,024
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    Phil.. I managed to work out what some of those parts are.. no real alarm bells, but I'd fall short of saying it's fine without testing it myself.. as has been said, the Aywuns don't have the best rep.

    Buubox.. That is a nice find. I'd have more faith in FSP (such as the one I converted for my current build) , not a bad price really either.
     
  3. sonorous

    sonorous Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Ill be starting my resto on this 720 today.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  4. breech

    breech Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,000
    Location:
    GalaxyWorld
    Nice, 720 is a brilliant cab. It would be perfect for jukebox duties with the ghetto blaster up top. Keeping it original or customising?
    The controls always did my head in on the arcade version but C64 played well enough.
     
  5. sonorous

    sonorous Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Thanks.
    I've done a few restorations.
    Keeping it original.
    There is no other way to play this game but on the arcade using the 360 joystick..

    Once you get the hand of it its easy.

    "Skate or die"
     
  6. philscomputerlab

    philscomputerlab Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,843
    Thanks for all the help!

    Yesterday I benchmarked an Acer OEM board with a Pentium III-S 1.4 GHz. Turns out the board is faster than my other Tualatin boards from Gigabyte and AOpen LOL
     
  7. mookie3three

    mookie3three Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Melbourne
    This is a pretty cool retro computer lot Sega SC3000.

    Anyone ever used one of these?
     
  8. gdjacobs

    gdjacobs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,687
    Location:
    MB, Canada
    Looking at that HP machine, I'm struggling to recall what model HP first introduced a convertible case with, able to switch from desktop to tower modes by rotating the drive bays. It's a very useful feature which they still feature on recent models.
     
  9. partybear

    partybear Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    900
    Location:
    Ballarat, Victoria
    Doesn't an athlon xp cpu draw its power from the 12v rail anyway? My socket A motherboard has got the 4 pin 12v cpu connector which makes me think it does use 12v for the cpu. If that's the case you could just get any brand new power supply from pccasegear or something and it would be just fine.
     
  10. philscomputerlab

    philscomputerlab Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,843
    It depends on the motherboard. Yours must be a fairly late model. Older ones don't have the 4 pin connector.

    All my boards are the older type without the 4 pin connector.
     
  11. sonorous

    sonorous Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Yep bought one when it was launched in Australia from billy guyatts..
    The equivalent to Harvey norman today back then.

    Had the soft key version and my mate bought the hard key version.
    Was great at the time.

    Prefer the Sega SC1000 now.
     
  12. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,920
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Tried to connect my SNES tot he TV today through the RF connector, but i didn't get very far..
    Just got a fuzzy image that you could barely make out if it was some sort of pattern...

    So.. where do i get one of the multi out cables from?
     
  13. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    12,024
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    after another weekend of mucking around.. Win! (see bottom line)

    [​IMG]

    So I had a bit of a revelation when probing around trying to see if I could enable Write back on this ASUS board.. Turns out (logically when you think about it) you don't need to tie the Writeback pin to VCC (as documented everywhere) on these 3.3+V CPU's .You can tie it to 5V also, as they tolerate both 3.3 to 5v signalling.

    http://datasheets.chipdb.org/AMD/486_5x86/19197D.pdf

    After realising this, I found 5V right next to the pin B13 comes through to.. Bingo!

    Some more testing to do, as there's more to it than just enabling it at the CPU, but fingers crossed it's OK. Floppy drive seems to be fine , which is one major symptom of a poorly configured Writeback
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2015
  14. philscomputerlab

    philscomputerlab Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,843
  15. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    12,024
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    Couldn't let it go Phil :p Even if it is only 10-15% performance penalty on avg

    Sysinfo goes nuts with it enabled though.. from 198 to 288
     
  16. philscomputerlab

    philscomputerlab Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,843
    I know the feeling :)

    Well you got a top of the hill 486 now. Doom should run very well on it. What's your next project?
     
  17. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    12,024
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    Win95/socket 7 :thumbup:
     
  18. gdjacobs

    gdjacobs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,687
    Location:
    MB, Canada
    What will you be looking for as far as graphics? S3? Matrox?
     
  19. philscomputerlab

    philscomputerlab Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,843
    Nice!

    One tip, even though Windows 98 SE will "feel" a bit slower on a Pentium, I recommend skipping Windows 95. I've got it setup on my Pentium 100 and quite happy with it. The working USB storage makes things really simple.
     
  20. Cannula

    Cannula Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,753
    Location:
    Lisarow 2250
    I agree with Phil about USB especially if you using a period CD-ROM drive which usually didn't like burnt CDs.
    If you have onboard USB you may need a backplane connector with separate connectors for each pin as everyone had a different way of aligning the pins back then on the motherboard.
    What I'm hoping to see is a 233MMX @ 266MHz with a 16MB Banshee, and a Yamaha midi device for Doom etc. :leet:
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: