1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

What retro computer activity did you get up to today?

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by adz, Jan 28, 2014.

  1. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7,422
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Will do :thumbup:
    A flash utility & bios file is what I need. Just doing XP on the good board atm.
    Hunt a good floppy drive & do that dos boot disc.

    Link me up...... is there a place to download what I need for this?

    EditStuff any use here?
    http://forums.extremeoverclocking.com/showthread.php?t=96227
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2017
  2. pfrcom

    pfrcom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    483
    Location:
    3114, Melbourne
    Are you sure about model number ? - from quick Google, closest I could find was LANParty NFII Ultra or Ultra B
     
  3. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7,422
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Yes matey the first one LANParty NFII Ultra
    Version A

    Frustration left me unsatisfied with a result last night.
    The website with the file has some partnership with another company.

    Have to jump through friKKen hoops for the bios file.
    A. Sign up B. DL their software C. Be a member signed in I guess :tired:

    https://www.wimsbios.com/biosupdates/dfi/6A61BD49

    ^ There it is bloody attached at the hip with it's twin Bios Agent :mad:
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2017
  4. pfrcom

    pfrcom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    483
    Location:
    3114, Melbourne
    I have AN810107.ZIP which contains AN81D107.BIN & AWDFLASH.EXE

    If you think it's what you need, PM your email address and I'll send it off
     
  5. miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7,694
    Location:
    Mount Cotton, QLD
    Saw a Cruis'n'USA Arcade cabinet on the side of the road on the way to work. Reckon I should pick it up on the way home? I'll post up some pics and you guys can tell me if it's legit or not lol
     
  6. bYrd

    bYrd Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,475
    Location:
    NE Melbourne
    If you don't get it there and then, it'll be gone when you go back. First rule of hard rubbish :D
     
  7. miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7,694
    Location:
    Mount Cotton, QLD
    Rule stands true lol
     
  8. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7,422
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Any P3 die hards still alive in here :confused:

    Fascinating reading the old OCAU threads on Intel BX boards & the go fastmods they did back then.
    So you had a slot 1 board & you were limited to a choice of processor up to 1ghz......boy did they suck to OC.

    Enter 370 & processors up to 1.5ghz. Time to share that experience :)
     
  9. Matcat

    Matcat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    265
    Location:
    Adelaide
    you gan get 3ghz oc with some boards and processors :)
     
  10. flu!d

    flu!d Motoring and Intel forum admin

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    21,057
    Erm, not a chance!

    As a diehard Pentium 3 overclocker in the day, most S370 Coppermine CPU's were limited to ~1Ghz absolute max with the exception of the occasional cherry, and even then the overall stability of the overclock was questionable.

    Pentium 3 Tualatins were a bit better, they'd hit ~1.5 - 1.6 and at that speed they were faster than the Pentium 4's of the day.

    I've still got two slot 1 P3 1Ghz processors and a pair of 1.2Ghz S370 Tualatins, all I need is a motherboard.
     
  11. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3,147
    The Tualatin 1.5's can hit 2.4 with the right board and memory. I was ranked 3rd in the world back when I set a world overclock with an Abit board 2x128MB samsung ic based ram and a 1.5 Tualatin P3. The key to pushing the P3's was ensuring your motherboard locked agp and pci speeds to there native.

    I then rebroke my previous record by 20 or so mhz with a TUSL atx board 2 years later. My record was broken by some guy in Portugal. Cpu was pin volt modded up to 2.3v under DICE which wasn't stable enough but did eventually safely boot into XP under LN2.
     
  12. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7,422
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    It's feels dirty like I'm cheating :leet: Sure is fun. The pentium / celeron coppermine here post @ 1180-1200mhz,
    that's the best ones though for some benches

    Modding the slot converter was fun, then the bx had 1mhz fsb steps.
    But this 1300 celeron ran out of crank. Figure that voltage protection kicked in.

    [​IMG]

    Bust out them fancy rams Matt..........time to race :tongue:
     
  13. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3,147
    You need to do some pin volt mods.
     
  14. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7,422
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Still have the L plates on Matthew.....but keen to learn :lol:

    You all link me up them juicy mods for p3.
    Only processor atm 1.3ghz Celeron & 1.4 pentium S iirc
     
  15. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7,422
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Guys......bought a big box of parts in Brissie iirc a month ago. :wired:

    Regular forum member " who could have picked up " not on forum x1 month.
    _____________

    Brisbane 4078............. I need some help here :D Seller even willing to meet up
     
  16. DonutKing

    DonutKing Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    Tweed/Gold Coast
    I'll be in Brissie CBD next week during business hours, can try to work something out for you, but forest lake/inala is a bit out of my way.
     
  17. callan

    callan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    5,182
    Location:
    melbourne
    I missed that - sorry!.
    I've NOS RAM for that if you still need it:).

    Good board, though needs a mod to get digitized sound working. The only pain with that one is the extended PLA. The finer pinout pitch makes it tricky to unsolder, and the colour RAM is integrated. Fortunately they don't seem to fail often. Looks nice and clean, too (aside from one socketed RAM chip)

    GL getting it going! Be really wary of the power supply - most time RAM failures are due to overvoltage: RAM seems to be the first to go.

    Callan


    Callan
     
  18. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7,422
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Thanks man..........I am fairly patient waiting :tired: I gave away my only working 8800gtx, as I figured these replacement ones would have been here now.
     
  19. baronbaldric

    baronbaldric Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    Sydney
    So I have this AT case here I bought in January thanks to shane41's link in the Bargains section. Thanks shane41!

    The case came with Pentium stuff inside, but I'm replacing it with 486 VLB, because the case has Turbo button and an AT PSU. Had a bunch of problems. Looks like this case was dropped a bunch of times, because the chassis was bent and some plastic parts fell off, nothing critical, everything fixable.

    The journey so far:
    1. Cleaned the whole thing with home cleaning stuff and alcohol where appropriate, dried it thoroughly.
    2. Ordered some heavy-duty springs on eBay and added them to the reset button (previous owner managed to lose button springs), replaced old weak springs for turbo and power button. Filed down standoffs on the back side of the front panel and screwed it tightly to the case with helical ridge screws because the original clips were too weak or broken and the panel was rattling and didn't hold well.
    3. Applied WD40 where appropriate to displace minor signs of rust.
    4. Bought matching backplates on eBay because OCD.
    5. Washed and dried PSU thoroughly (including PCB), greased the PSU cooler with machine oil and added some rubber between cooler and PSU case to reduce rattle. The PSU sound improved from "abysmal" to "way above average". Happy, despite the fact this is a very shitty PSU.
    6. Replaced regular screws with new thumbscrews for the sheath and the PSU because the journey continues..

    This case is nothing special and I would rate it 3 out of 10, but it's what I have and it was fun to improve it. If it were a little better looking or at least had CPU Hz display I would consider recoating metal parts, but for now I think I'll settle with just retrobrighting the plastic front panel as the next step and maybe will sandpaper and coat small rust spots with something.

    [​IMG]
     
  20. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7,422
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Keep @ it man. Good to see the old beasty machine get the luv it deserves.
    Need a Retro Army of enthusiasts like you :thumbup:
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: