What retro computer activity did you get up to today?

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by adz, Jan 28, 2014.

  1. FIREWIRE1394

    FIREWIRE1394 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,708
    Oh I've seen systems that people have owned and used daily in much worse condition. And once picked a dell up out of the edge of a creek that was in a hell of a shape that I still salvaged parts from. CPU, RAM, GPU.
    Yes, creek. Yes, salvaged. :lol:
     
    baronbaldric and adz like this.
  2. JSmithDTV

    JSmithDTV Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    9,146
    Location:
    Algol, Perseus
    You should have built one of these around it and done some interstellar travel;

    [​IMG]

    :)



    JSmith
     
    baronbaldric and adz like this.
  3. FIREWIRE1394

    FIREWIRE1394 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,708
    OK FIREWIRE, GET THE LEAD OUT!
    DSCF0011.JPG

    DSCF0013.JPG

    Not as good as the other one... If it was all clear, I'd love it even more!
     

    Attached Files:

    baronbaldric, mAJORD and MUTMAN like this.
  4. FIREWIRE1394

    FIREWIRE1394 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,708
    RAM, didn't really need cleaning.. Just a quick bush over.
    DSCF0022.JPG
    Gskill stuff isn't retro. MFG Sept 2011 (I didn't even think they still made DDR1 in 2011. Learn something every day.

    The Gskill will be paired with either some Corsair or Kingston to make a full 4GB. No shortage of DDR1 around these parts. The NCP stuff might end up in my Athlon 2200+ build.
     
    baronbaldric, adz and MUTMAN like this.
  5. FIREWIRE1394

    FIREWIRE1394 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,708
    Noticed taking the cooler off that the retention clip is broken (it was held on by the dried up thermal paste/cement) I can fix this with a trip to the shed, but it will take valuable time!

    Power scrub, and power dried the cooler (Turpentine soaked toothbrush, then water soaked toothbrush and a leafblower) Won't be able to use the leafblower for the next bits though. Neighbours have young kids, so no more leaf blower after 8..
    (For the record, the latest I've ever mowed a lawn was at 10:30 at night... Not my lawn, but it can be done)
    DSCF0048.JPG

    Next is digging for parts or cleaning the daughter board...
     
    baronbaldric, adz and MUTMAN like this.
  6. FIREWIRE1394

    FIREWIRE1394 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,708
    Daughter Board!
    EW:
    DSCF0044.JPG

    Some bulging caps on the bottom right, but if they're a problem, I'm pretty sure this is optional.
    DPS means Dual Power Supply, not Damage Per Second:
    DSCF0045.JPG
    Much better:
    DSCF0046.JPG

    Next is the CPU mount problem.
     
    baronbaldric, mAJORD and adz like this.
  7. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    45,360
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2020
    baronbaldric, mAJORD and MUTMAN like this.
  8. FIREWIRE1394

    FIREWIRE1394 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,708
    NEXT.
    The problem is a broken clip to hold the CPU cooler:
    1.JPG

    The solution is a donor board:
    2.JPG
    Old GA-K8N Pro-SLI, meet the new GA-K8NXP-SLI.

    It's the same board, but the old pro (on the left) is missing the DPS socket, 4 SATA ports, Dual Ethernet, a fan cooled chipset, and that's the only differences I think... So if this board doesn't work, it's not a big deal.. I take all the parts and use my existing board.

    And here we see in detail the broken new one, and my perfectly fine, albeit dirty old one:
    4.JPG
     
    baronbaldric and adz like this.
  9. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    12,148
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    my god, nice score all round!. I paid reasonable money for a couple of those cards , so yeah you got a bargain - they should work as others have said. Dirty corroded dusty hardware just looks like it won't.

    I have the same (or similar) mobo here. Was thinking of using it in the build for the 7800GTX , but I find it rather ugly haha. I think they're reasonable boards though. the extra VRM board is a nice addition. It's def' optional btw.
     
    baronbaldric and FIREWIRE1394 like this.
  10. OP
    OP
    adz

    adz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,764
    Location:
    ಠ-ಠ
    I was just about to offer a Socket 754 doner board.
     
    FIREWIRE1394 likes this.
  11. FIREWIRE1394

    FIREWIRE1394 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,708
    With the CPU sorted, it's on to the next problem:
    1.JPG

    2.JPG
    If the fan is broken, or screams insanely loud, I can also use the donor board for a decent passive heatsink.

    Either way:
    3.JPG

    Next I'll give the board a quick brush, and then get cracking on the PSU!
     
    baronbaldric and adz like this.
  12. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    12,148
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    given it spent a long time outside, i'm impressed at the lack of corrosion of plated parts.. they're cleaning up really well!

    Maybe it's a qld thing but anything nickle plated or the like that sits in the weather around here, especially with dust on it that traps moisture, turns into speckled mess of rust spots
     
    baronbaldric, MUTMAN and FIREWIRE1394 like this.
  13. FIREWIRE1394

    FIREWIRE1394 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,708
    It's definitely a Queensland thing! if it was any more humid up there you may as well be under water! :lol:

    Rear I/O hasn't come up as well as I was hoping. but at least the spiderwebs are out of the USB ports now:
    1a.JPG

    Starting on the PSU now.. Doesn't seem too bad TBH.
     
    adz likes this.
  14. Flamin Joe

    Flamin Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    5,255
    Location:
    4300
    I know you love your AliExpress but I wouldn't pay $85 for an ISA VGA card there when that's pretty much the price you can get them locally on eBay. Would rather support local sellers during these times.

    You can also get one at the moment a lot cheaper locally on eBay from a seller I've purchased from before. He always seems to have good stuff and his prices can be quite reasonable. :thumbup:
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2020
    baronbaldric, elvis and FIREWIRE1394 like this.
  15. FIREWIRE1394

    FIREWIRE1394 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,708
    Well PSU is done. And now I know the model, an XP550 NP 430W

    Never thought I'd find a PSU interesting. but HERE WE ARE...
    PSU seems to have a strange outlay.
    Only a single SATA connector on its own rail (opposed to the common 2 that this era had)
    The molex power goes into one, and then 2 more come out of that first plug (opposed to the common inline or daisy chaining)
    Looks like the factory has hacked off 2 molex to fit a 6 pin GPU connector.
    it has an 80 and 92MM fan?? not the 2 80's that were common before it, or a single 120 common after it.

    Either way.. It's a different PSU that I was interested to see and work on.
    Not too bad from outside:
    a1.JPG
    OOOOH.. A scary warranty sticker:
    a2.JPG
    OOOPS!:
    a3.JPG
    I think ThermalTake must have owned a glue factory.. THERE'S GLUE ON EVERYTHING, which made cleaning the fans annoying:
    a4.JPG
    I've seen worse, this is just normal use:
    a5.JPG
    A quick brush and they look ready to go.
    a6.JPG

    Well with that I'm gonna shut up and go to bed.

    Sorry adz for spamming the thread, more tomorrow!

    It's been a big retro day!
     
    baronbaldric, adz and MUTMAN like this.
  16. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    12,148
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    you should do a worklog :p

    Anyway, personally, I'd ditch the PSU - as I've said before, apart from the casing, I have no interest in 'period correct' PSU's - There were some well engineered switchmode's in the early days that still work well, and have charactistics you need but ATX supplies of that era - don't age well . So it's not worth it.. They're also not computing devices. They're just power supplies.

    That old thing is a probably a ripply mess and may give you you issues A $50 ~450-500 watt would do, or 2nd hand near new one . Peace of mind.

    just my 2c though.
     
    adz and MUTMAN like this.
  17. Reaper

    Reaper Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    12,159
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld, Australia
    Pull off the back sticker and if there's a plug remove it. Give it a drop of bearing oil and it's good to go. Put any plug back on or glue the sticker back on, or just put a bit of new tape over the hole. That's how I reco fans.
     
    FIREWIRE1394 and Phido like this.
  18. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    45,360
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Indeed, it was a bit exy. My next RAEOTM will be a more fun budget approach.
     
  19. jimbogimp

    jimbogimp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,060
    Location:
    funny comment
    Aw man, how good is Windows 98. Mouse and keyboard respond throughout the whole install process, no crashes, looking good!
    First screen of windows, no USB devices - need keyboard or mouse to get past the plugnplay monitor screen.
    Screw about in bios a bit and manage to disable USB completely lol. Now I'm stuck at a "no keyboard detected, press F1 to continue"
    I threw out my PS2 keyboard about a monmth ago too.
    ah well, $3 USB-PS2 adapter from ebay FTW... unfortunately that means a few days wait to get back into it. :)
     
  20. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    12,148
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    Pretty good until you start installing drivers and trying run actual software :lol:
     
    baronbaldric, jimbogimp, adz and 2 others like this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: