What retro computer activity did you get up to today?

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by adz, Jan 28, 2014.

  1. Pierre32

    Pierre32 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Messages:
    1,187
    Location:
    Sydney
    Keen to see what kind of sofware it does well with!
     
  2. rugger

    rugger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Wow, it worked:

    IMG_1218.JPG
    IMG_1217.JPG

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Jetway 630TCF - Sis 630 board.

    Was not showing ANY sign of life when I originally tried this motherboard ... post card showed only "--" on it.

    But recapping most of the capacitors did actually get it going again. So I am quite amazed that fixed it, I had wrote the board off for dead.
     
    Grant, mwd, Pierre32 and 4 others like this.
  3. mwd

    mwd Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Messages:
    338
    Location:
    Sydney
    Benchmarks and filming is done. Just need to do some voice over and edit the video. Hopefully I'll get it out tonight. I'm trying with DaVinci Resolve this time.
     
    Vanne, rugger, MUTMAN and 2 others like this.
  4. mwd

    mwd Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Messages:
    338
    Location:
    Sydney
    It's done.

     
    baronbaldric, Pierre32 and MUTMAN like this.
  5. Pierre32

    Pierre32 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Messages:
    1,187
    Location:
    Sydney
    Good stuff :thumbup: I didn't know jack about Winchips before this. Certainly an interesting slice of Socket 7 history.

    That's revived my curiosity in 3DNow and how I could best experience its offerings in my K6-2 Aptiva - specifically in software rendered games, as SFF+PCI all but rules out adding a useful video card.

    Googling for 3DNow optimised games reveals suprisingly little.
     
    rugger, MUTMAN and mwd like this.
  6. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,208
    Location:
    4109
    check out his vid on the "mini me"
    youre going to want one :) so maybe don't :D


     
    rugger, mwd and Pierre32 like this.
  7. Pierre32

    Pierre32 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Messages:
    1,187
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yep, watched that one and then tried to erase my memory of it :D
     
    rugger, mwd and MUTMAN like this.
  8. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,208
    Location:
    4109
    down the rabbit hole :D
     
    mwd likes this.
  9. mwd

    mwd Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Messages:
    338
    Location:
    Sydney
    Don't worry guys. I have an even more interesting video card on the way from the same guy. Probably a month or so off.
     
    rugger, Vanne, Pierre32 and 1 other person like this.
  10. Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,369
    Location:
    DXB.. mostly.
    SWEEETT!!!!!!
     
  11. Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,369
    Location:
    DXB.. mostly.
    IMG_20210510_200048.jpg

    So I took apart the Roland MT90s the other day, due to the fact that I could have sworn that the speaker was blown inside it.. pulled it apart and ordered a new speaker... Loosish wire on the speaker.. possibly... Dunno..

    While I was waiting for the speaker to show up, I can across the speakers from my Z4M that I removed heaps ago.. turns out they are also 4 ohms..

    Connected one up and sounds great.!! Cool!!!

    Then reconnected the original speaker after clamping down the connector with the speaker...


    Wtf!! Also sounds great now....

    IMG_20210510_200041.jpg

    IMG_20210510_200043.jpg

    That's weird!!! Awell.. .. will see what the new speaker sounds like when it arrives.. could it have been a wire that made a poor connection,???
     
    adz, rugger, Pierre32 and 2 others like this.
  12. Flamin Joe

    Flamin Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    5,104
    Location:
    4300
    Check the official support list, there's quite an extensive list not to mention support in DirectX since version 6.1 and OpenGL.

    https://web.archive.org/web/20000831182021/http://sinurge.amd.com/products/cpg/3dnow/optimized/

    I remember when 3DNow! support was added to WinDVD it was the final nail in the coffin for my hardware decoder (Creative Dxr2) on my K6-2 350. Before the performance wasn't quite there but the addition of 3DNow! did enough to get it over the line and finally make software decoding viable for me.
     
    Pierre32 and mwd like this.
  13. Pierre32

    Pierre32 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Messages:
    1,187
    Location:
    Sydney
  14. Pierre32

    Pierre32 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Messages:
    1,187
    Location:
    Sydney
    Couple of undertakings this evening, and not going completely smoothly.

    1. Finally test out the Sound Blaster 2.0 CT1350B I picked up a while back. This part was a success!
    2. Install the CMS/Gameblaster upgrade chips that arrived today.

    Unfortunately after installing the chips, the card has lost FM functionality. This is the problem described back in 2012 when people started doing this with DIY'd GAL chips, before the behaviour of the different card revisions was understood (and the GAL code finally fixed in 2019 by suntac): https://www.vcfed.org/forum/forum/t...041-problem-with-cms-upgrade-on-a-rev0-ct1350

    So it seems the seller I bought from is still using the old code: https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/333742638765

    Here's the known good version released by suntac, currently not available: https://www.ebay.ie/itm/283320542833

    Additionally, I'm seeing some missing notes in CMS playback which I haven't seen others complain about. This might be because I'm running in a Pentium system, although I've disabled caches. I'll have to confirm that in an older machine. [edit] ooh, missing note issue solved at least. There's a CMS enable jumper I hadn't changed. :D

    My card is the 049151 which you can see in the third pic here: https://nerdlypleasures.blogspot.com/2013/06/the-sound-blaster-20-and-cms-upgrade.html

    There are a couple of Vogons threads about this where I will take my tale of woe. I figure this will probably require buying a different GAL, or a programmer. Haha, money.

    [edit 2] Turns out switching the CMS jumper fixed everything! Oh well, I enjoyed that little R&D session and I hope you did too.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 12, 2021
    adz, baronbaldric, Vanne and 3 others like this.
  15. rugger

    rugger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Too bad you are not in Perth.

    I have a TL866 that might have been able to do the job.
     
    Pierre32 likes this.
  16. Sektor

    Sektor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I wanted to backup some 5.25" disks, so I setup the only motherboard that I still own that has a FDC. I don't have a case for this IBM 386SX motherboard, with all the connectors at the back, it wouldn't fit in a standard AT case.
    IMG_7326.jpg
     
    adz, Vanne, FIREWIRE1394 and 3 others like this.
  17. BuuBox

    BuuBox Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,560
    Location:
    Melbourne
    adz, rugger and Pierre32 like this.
  18. Pierre32

    Pierre32 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Messages:
    1,187
    Location:
    Sydney
    rugger and Sektor like this.
  19. Sektor

    Sektor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I gave away all my normal PS/2 keyboards, so I had no choice but to use that. It's not even PS/2 but it works fine with an AT to PS/2 adapter.
     
    adz, rugger and Pierre32 like this.
  20. rugger

    rugger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    That keyboard you are using is perfectly diabolical ... I love it, but would never use it :)
     
    adz likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: