What Retro Console Activity did you get up to today

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by Daft_Munt, Oct 19, 2014.

  1. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    58,076
    Location:
    brisbane
    woohoo, been waiting for this to break out of the Japanese eshop.
     
    Vanne likes this.
  2. badmofo

    badmofo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    980
    Location:
    Australia
    I got another infuriating "your unit will be sent next Monday" response (then jira ticket closed) - at least they're responding I guess.
     
  3. greencamel65

    greencamel65 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    Asgard
    Still waiting on mine to arrive. No con note was supplied so it will be interested to see the actual postage date.

    I must admit i was annoyed that they ran out of switch boards adding another delay....Pre-Order 2 ended ages ago so they would have known how many they needed vs how many they had in stock
     
  4. Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    673
    Bought a few Xeno mod chips for my GameCubes.. Now BIG question.. Whats the best way to get the best video out on these? the HD component cables are 300 bucks plus WTF!!!
     
  5. Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    673
    Lol just cruizin eBay, picked up this puppy, only really picked it up for Rez evil zero and dead to rights, but the console looks like a bonus as is the original controller.
    [​IMG]
     
  6. Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    673
    Lol and just won this...

    Not bad for 15 bucks Inc shipping. As has the GameCube connection on it.

    [​IMG]

    Atplay 5Y01053MW
     
    FIREWIRE1394 likes this.
  7. greencamel65

    greencamel65 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    Asgard
    PAL units will output RGB via the multiout. DOL-001 pal and ntsc units can use EON GCHD and the like based on open source GC Video-DVI
     
    Vanne likes this.
  8. Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    673
    Yup, I know about the EON MK2, or the other opensouce units. but I am wondering if I use the Play component cables running through to the RetroTink and then HDMI out on that puppy? would that be the same?

    edit://///
    Fuck it, just bought the OS GCHD video adaptor. the Carby Mk2.. lol 75 bucks, thats an easy decision.
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2019
  9. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    36,407
    Location:
    Brisbane
  10. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    58,076
    Location:
    brisbane
    makes me sad this appears to be full digital
     
  11. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    36,407
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Kind of ironic, given what it's trying to capture.
     
  12. bolex17

    bolex17 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,137
    Location:
    Adelaide, 5010
    Was lucky enough to get on the waiting list for the last Phoebe order.
    Took about a month to arrive but finally got it all installed and running today!
    I can finally play Panzer Dragoon Saga without taking out a mortgage :p

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Now I just need to get one of those PSIO and I can finally ditch my CD burner.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2019
  13. FIREWIRE1394

    FIREWIRE1394 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    747
    Don’t even worry about a mortgage! I got saga INSTEAD of getting a house!

    I figure if I hold onto it for another 20 years I’ll be able to buy a small island somewhere. It’s practically worth Tasmania right now, so a little Patience and In 30 years I’ll be buying half of Australia with the one copy of the game!

    It shot up in value when they announced that 1 and 2 were being remade but not saga.

    Even in a million years when it’s turned to a pile of dust, I’ll be able to sell that dust for a lot of money... Legit Panzer dragoon saga dust... one hundred billion dollars!!!!
     
    Vanne and bolex17 like this.
  14. badmofo

    badmofo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    980
    Location:
    Australia
    I picked up an official dual shock Sony PS1 controller the other day for cheap - decent condition but needed a good clean, so I pulled it apart today and found that the cross shaped bracket that hold the D-pad in place was missing a "leg". I was convinced that I'd be able to jump online and buy a replacement but I can't find anything much in the way of replacement parts for the PS1 controller, do you guys have any thoughts? I supposed I could just go down to Cash Converters and snag another one but a) it might be busted too and b) it seems a shame to trash a whole other controller for such a minor part.
     
  15. WuZMoT

    WuZMoT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,819
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I've cleaned up a bunch of PS1/2 controllers and find that's broken on maybe 50% of units, didn't matter if it was an original digital pad or dual shock.
    I don't think it effects the controller that much but I haven't played anything that requires a high amount of dpad accuracy.
    I certainly wouldn't trash it over that if 3 of the legs are there.

    On the subject, PS2 controllers piss me off because they moved to a thin membrane for the buttons.
    The original PS1 had solid PCB - even for the shoulder buttons.

    I've gotten PS2 controllers that look brand new, barely used and they simply are stuffed because of the membrane being so weak.

    EDIT: If you use freemcboot/ulaunchelf this is good homebrew for testing pads, I always do this before I even bother disassembling them for cleaning: https://www.psx-place.com/resources/ps2-controller-tester.670/
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2019
    Vanne likes this.
  16. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    36,407
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Believe it or not, on PS3 controllers these only have 3 legs as standard!
     
  17. badmofo

    badmofo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    980
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks guys I'll try it as-is. Funny story I just found a nasty looking non-dual shock controller in my shed of treasures, cracked it open to harvest that part from it - also missing a leg!
     
    Vanne likes this.
  18. greencamel65

    greencamel65 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    Asgard
    Mine was sitting on my desk at work today. Yours can't be too far off now!

    Looks like i have a project for the weekend :)
     
  19. badmofo

    badmofo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    980
    Location:
    Australia
    Excellent, let us know how you get on with it. Are you doing the switch mod yourself?

    It's been a long wait and the communication has been bizarre but I'm really looking forward to this thing :cool:
     
  20. greencamel65

    greencamel65 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    Asgard
    sure am doing the switch mod myself. Doesn't look too complicated, If i bottle it i'll just drive around the corner to cashies and get another.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: