What Retro Console Activity did you get up to today

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by Daft_Munt, Oct 19, 2014.

  1. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    60,535
    Location:
    brisbane
    i went on a bit of a wii spree and bought a few motion plus controllers. i now have mario, luigi, toad (i think it was toad), black and the gold zelda one (in the skyward sword bundle). i bought a nice bundle from here which had an it a black wii which i then had modded with a wiidual (this bundle is what kickstarted me getting back into the wii). i also have a nice powered sensor bar (thanks to WuZMoT's tip for that because i was moving it back and forth between the wii u and the wii like an idiot. also have a few physical discs because i dunno reasons as the console itself is softmodded and has a hdd hanging off it. i really do like the wii but have never been super happy with the output. also have a couple pro controllers which i don't hate (black and gold).

    oh yeah, so i recommend getting a wii while they are crazy cheap you will have so many games to try out it's not funny plus access to the gamecube library once softmodded. i went a little nuts here and have some of those wii u gc aftermarket controllers (which have a great C Stick) and a couple of the last round of brand new Smash controllers.
     
    Vanne likes this.
  2. bolex17

    bolex17 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,177
    Location:
    Adelaide, 5010
    Have been on a real NES binge lately.

    Decided to install a red LED into my AV Famicom
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Also picked up a Everdrive N8, another game I can finally play without having to take out a mortgage :p
    [​IMG]
     
    MrMaestro, Daft_Munt, elvis and 5 others like this.
  3. OP
    OP
    Daft_Munt

    Daft_Munt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,091
    Location:
    Hobart, The Federal Group
    Found an old storage box, 2 busted PAL Saturns (PSU and CD ROM) and a (boxed, badly) PAL Dreamcast with NTSC-J PSU, along with old PC shite. Thankfully I tagged most of it.
     
    FIREWIRE1394, Vanne and qwertylesh like this.
  4. genxor

    genxor Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2003
    Messages:
    411
    Location:
    Perth
    Always good to find a box of treasures! Especially saturns. Picopsu time?

    That AV famicom looks SO good
     
  5. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    38,757
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Unsure if I can be stuffed putting a NES-RGB into my AV Famicom. These days I spend more time playing via MiSTer than real hardware.
     
  6. Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    975
    Cool, but how do you /find/ a storage box? Misplaced it a while back? Or is it like that TV show where they bust open storage lockers ..?
     
  7. qwertylesh

    qwertylesh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,660
    I got some c64 accessories somewhere in storage.. no point finding it with no c64 to use it on
     
  8. FIREWIRE1394

    FIREWIRE1394 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,032
    You have much to learn about the art of hoarding junk!!!
    It's possible he misplaced a box a while back IN a storage locker.

    I have 3 sheds, you think I can remember all the crap in each one? and then when other people start storing their piles, it all gets mixed up.
    So then you go to sort the crap, and find stuff you forgot about a long time ago in a place you'd never put it!
    and once the crap is sorted, and there's a space, someone else dumps more crap in the cleared space, so you can never find anything.

    Related to digging of storage stuff.. I have to move 5 billion tonnes of shit to get to my Dreamcast ATM.
    So just gonna play Shenmue (and 2) on PS4 to save me all the effort, and only playing crazy taxi once it's dug out anyway!
     
    Vanne likes this.
  9. OP
    OP
    Daft_Munt

    Daft_Munt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,091
    Location:
    Hobart, The Federal Group
    It was stashed in a cupboard. I knew it was there, just not exactly what was in there, 2 mobo, CPU, and RAM combos I did forget about. So I now have 3 stuffed Saturns, so I should look at the Pico PSU.
     
  10. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    38,757
    Location:
    Brisbane
    genxor likes this.
  11. genxor

    genxor Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2003
    Messages:
    411
    Location:
    Perth
    Woah! Sold out already haha
     
  12. shredder

    shredder Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    12,218
    Location:
    New Zealand
    "insta carpal tunnel" as one commenter put it :lol:
     
    elvis likes this.
  13. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    38,757
    Location:
    Brisbane
    So I'm going through hundreds of SNES floppy drive backups from my Super Wild Card days. Anything where the game has a bad checksum is loaded up in Higan and checked. Slow and painful.

    And what do I find? Obnoxious 90s intros galore. Ever wonder why "No-Intro" ROM sets are called that?

     
    breech likes this.
  14. qwertylesh

    qwertylesh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,660
    not today but yesterday i gave my big ol games room another rearrange and cleanup. still need to dig up my C64 monitor, FDD and tape decks from deep storage and add them to a section of the games room but at least for now theres a lot more space and its nice and neat :)

    [​IMG]
     
    genxor, Phido, bolex17 and 2 others like this.
  15. breech

    breech Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,867
    Location:
    GalaxyWorld
    I was recently gifted a Super UFO 7 so i'm planning on using it for some of the decent intros and demos that i remember seeing back in the day.


    And stuff like this one which will probably only work on the real hardware

    Emulated Sid tunes on a SNES floppy imager being run on an fpga :Paranoid:
     
    elvis likes this.
  16. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    60,535
    Location:
    brisbane
    Some 32 bit action

    15745754839147386195468884445903.jpg
     
    FIREWIRE1394, genxor, WuZMoT and 3 others like this.
  17. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    38,757
    Location:
    Brisbane
    What are you using to control that game?
     
  18. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    60,535
    Location:
    brisbane
    mouse, as confusing as the photo might be the CD32 is setup in front of the CDTV and CD32 natively supports mouse input. The CD32 is definitely the best machine i have (Amiga) for playing games like this as it has WHDLoad which means no disk swapping!
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2019
    elvis likes this.
  19. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    38,757
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I've got a CD32 and barely use it. I keep meaning to dive more into Amiga stuff - even grabbed a few ISO images packed full of disk games people had "ported" to CD32 (mostly just removed the need to swap disks and mapped up to a dedicated jump button for a tonne of games).

    I suspected it supported a mouse. Would love to have a bash at a few SCUMM games and things like Cannon Fodder.
     
  20. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    60,535
    Location:
    brisbane
    port 2 is for the mouse (standard Amiga mouse - these are available online brand new - the one I have is i have been told period which i tend to beleive as the left mouse has some wear and I have the same mouse in white new and it feels better), everything was configured by the previous owner on mine. recommended CD32 upgrade is the TF330 and riser you can see pictured (in my other post) which also gives you an 030 50MHz accelerator, RAM expansion, IDE (for the CF), RGB out and a PS2 keyboard port. The accelerator is pretty much required for WHDLoad, and greatly enhances 3D graphics).

    Amiga games really are products of their times and may not hold a lot of value for those who didn't grow up with them (like me).

    Also CD32's - notorious for requiring a full recap. If you ever decide you want to move it along i'm sure someone woudl give it a good home.... ;)

    See RMC Trash to treasure part two here for recapping adventures.

    this is also the defnitive source for Amiga SW ftp://grandis.nu/

     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2019
    elvis likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: