[OTHER] What size should I print a QR code?

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by broccoli, May 13, 2019.

  1. broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    19,995
    Location:
    Perth
    I've got a booking that has a QR code to be used for entry. Huge drama trying to save the email it came in (end result, can't). I've finally managed to save it as a .jpg. The computer now thinks it's a photo and is offering me various options to print photos. Is there a size this thing has to be?
     
  2. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    57,744
    Location:
    brisbane
    just use your phone, scanners are more than capable of scanning off your phone screen.

    to answer your actual question, it can be pretty small think maybe 20x20mm easy.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    19,995
    Location:
    Perth
    getting it onto the phone is even more problematic and I really don't want to stick my phone out the window where I could drop it on concrete.....

    Thanks, I'll just print it out small and hope for the best.
     
  4. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    57,744
    Location:
    brisbane
    just make sure it's dark and if you do print it, i'd go 2*2 inches.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    19,995
    Location:
    Perth
    Thanks. printed at 2"x3" (didn't have any square options). Looks a bit fuzzy to me, hopefully the scanner can read it.....
     
  6. kombiman

    kombiman Dis-Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    11,666
    Location:
    viva brisvegas
    try it with your phone first
     
  7. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    57,744
    Location:
    brisbane
    good call, try a qr code scanner on your phone.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    19,995
    Location:
    Perth
    I don't android and I don't apple.... finding a "qr code scanner" and figuring out how to get it on my phone (assuming there even is one) is not something I want to do.

    EDIT:I should add that it's not a huge drama if the QR thingie won't work, they have a 24/7 person there you can buzz. The auto would be easier, if it works, but I won't be high and dry if there's anything wrong with the printout.
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2019
    power likes this.
  9. theSeekerr

    theSeekerr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,850
    Location:
    Prospect SA
    QR codes are very resilient - they're designed to be scanned out of focus, the wrong way up, with a crappy phone camera from 2006.

    So long as you can reasonably clearly make out the every dark and light box, it'll scan. Too big is better than too small - too big and somewhat fuzzy is basically the same as smaller and out of focus.
     
  10. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    57,744
    Location:
    brisbane
    yeah, they are quite often found on things like business cards.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    19,995
    Location:
    Perth
    Thanks, hopefully it'll be ok, my printer is quite decent (for an inkjet). I think the size that power recommended is a good size to be "seen" by the machine. Wish me luck!
     

Share This Page