1. Check out OCAU's review of the SpaceX Starlink satellite internet service!
    Dismiss Notice

What streaming software do you use (if any)?

Discussion in 'Live Streaming & Content Creation' started by CAPT-Irrelevant, Mar 6, 2019.

?

What do you use?

  1. None (only use the platform's dashboard)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Streamlabs OBS

    43.5%
  3. OBS

    65.2%
  4. Other (please specify)

    4.3%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. CAPT-Irrelevant

    CAPT-Irrelevant Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,478
    Location:
    Sydney
    Partly opening this thread for the sake of activity for this forum :p

    I understand that the amount of software for use of supporting/customising streams is going to be fairly limited, but curious as to what you use to get a good idea of what's out there? I've created a poll, but don't have the option to allow addition of further options. I do also understand that such platforms might not have a console equivalent if you're not using a capture card.

    I'm using Streamlabs OBS. While I am aware that it far outperforms the opensource OBS, I'm kinda not happy with its functionality. Some features here n there don't make sense, and can be hard to find and/or work with them. So basically it does have a learning curve. I suppose they're drawbacks for it being in beta.
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2019
  2. SSJ4

    SSJ4 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,145
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I use OBS. Really simple and easy to navigate. However I am thinking about moving over to streamlabs as my stream setup and competency has grow.

    The nuts and bolts of streamlabs is the same as OBS right? So I could probably find my way around, transfer all my stuff then get to work on the advance functions?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    CAPT-Irrelevant

    CAPT-Irrelevant Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,478
    Location:
    Sydney
    I tried OBS first, but some things wouldn't work for me or I couldn't work something out... I honestly can't remember, but I immediately moved onto Streamlabs as recommended some streamer friends.
    My understanding is Streamlabs is largely more comprehensive feature-wise and level of integration with 3rd party services.

    One thing to recommend is to keep backup of your OBS data/profile(s). I've heard "horror" stories of Streamlabs crashing, or simply just releasing an update, which caused streamers to lose their OBS data or become corrupt to the point they had to remake everything.
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2019
    SSJ4 likes this.
  4. SSJ4

    SSJ4 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,145
    Location:
    Melbourne
    One thing I really need todo is get some macros going. I have a QMK completely programmable keyboard so I can do just about anything I like. I think if streamlabs had better macro integration that would be enough to make me wanna switch. I dont really want a stream deck either. Rather built a custom keypad so I can feed my mechanical keyboard obsession lol.
     
  5. Boneman

    Boneman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    6,736
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Not currently streaming, but have used the most current OBS with no problems over the years. I used Streamlabs for alerts etc, and another program called Kapps (related to iRacing) for chat on screen. Also being able to choose from my DAW vsts for mixing my microphone (SM58 into Focusrite or Shure X2u) really helped.
     
  6. AERO

    AERO Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    4,051
    Location:
    albury 2640 nsw
    i use streamlabs obs and chatbot, one thing i have is a double up of alerts, not sure why it does it. i shouold look into bcking my overlay up, might customise the hud again a little. maybe remove some. just have a latest follower and follower goal etc.. (cause i dont have any subscribers)
     
  7. Unframed

    Unframed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,271
    Location:
    Hella south west
    SLOBS, I like integrated chat too much. I once had twitch chat not refresh on a 40 person raid, lost a decent raid because of something so trivial.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    CAPT-Irrelevant

    CAPT-Irrelevant Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,478
    Location:
    Sydney
    Speaking of SLOBS, everyone should check their Twitch accounts to make sure you've enabled 2FA. Twitch have now since forced it, which means if you don't have it, you can't get your stream key from Twitch (it will just indicate that it can't load), and SLOBS can't go live.
     
  9. Unframed

    Unframed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,271
    Location:
    Hella south west
    Yeah friend had that issue the other day but like 2FA is a no-brainer if you're making revenue.
     
  10. breno

    breno Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,867
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I tried the other stream options twitch recommended and streamlabs was the only one that could pick up the viewport in the level editor so I've stuck with it for now. Only just started really and it's quite fun :)
     
  11. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,949
    Location:
    At a desk
    I use OBS at work for internal event streaming. Since these events usually contain confidential information and IT Security are too paranoid about using private YouTube channels, I also have a MistServer setup to serve the stream to employees, keeping everything 100% on the internal network. Those who are out of the office can watch via VPN.

    OBS encodes and sends a 2mbps 2K stream to MistServer whilst also simultaneously recording a 5mbps 2K version for archiving. MistServer then does the job of providing that stream to everyone (via a pretty webpage that people connect to with a nice simple URL which has an embedded video player from MistServer). Scales rather nicely too, even for the free version on modest hardware (or a VM in my case).
     
  12. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,075
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    SLOBS since it looks more user-friendly than normal OBS and yeah, the chat integration is great!
     
  13. Slug69

    Slug69 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    10,063
    Location:
    Sydney
    SLOBS, OBS, & GeForce Experience for 4K stuff. (2060 super)
     
  14. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    159,616
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Same. I've recently just purchased a device to recording a stream from a DVR and found the recommended software, OBS, to be excellent. So easy to use, and the results are very good. Having said that I'm not curious about SLOBS though, might give that a try soon.
     
  15. SSJ4

    SSJ4 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,145
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I've been trying out slobs. Not really liking it. It's got lots of integration but far less potential. Like of like if you build a website with square space vs wordpress.
     
  16. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,949
    Location:
    At a desk
    OBS with the VirtualCam plugin works pretty well for feeding a live stream into Microsoft Teams (or other VC software) too. Doesn't beat a proper streaming server, but allows you to at least add some production value to what is traditionally a boring live environment.
     
  17. renvilo

    renvilo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Berwick (3806)
    Hoping someone can give me some advice. I am using Streamlabs. I have a 5600x cpu and currently a 6700xt, 32gb ddr 3600, ssd etc. Gaming on a 49" but ratio is set to just ultrawide so I have some black borders on the sides (FOV is fine with this for me).

    I have tried several settings and manage to find that when I set the output resolution to 25xx X 1080, it looks best. But 90% of the time I'm getting stuttering when I go live. Surely my pc can handle playing a game and streaming? I tried using my cpu and also the gpu but no difference. I have installed win 11 so not sure if that can cause some issues as well.
     
  18. Unframed

    Unframed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,271
    Location:
    Hella south west
    Do you have issues if the output is 16:9?
     
  19. renvilo

    renvilo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Berwick (3806)
    I'll have to check but the display will loon bad. I see i manage to stream fine 5 days ago.. last night it was laggy and today i can't even get my game capture to work lol..
     
  20. Unframed

    Unframed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,271
    Location:
    Hella south west
    My thought with the q is that your canvas might be set in a different ratio and freaking out in 21:9, beyond that I'd bet Win11 aint helping. If you need reliability you really should bother with tech preview OS's
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: