1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

When is consumer 10GbE going to happen?

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Smokin Whale, Sep 21, 2014.

  1. Urbansprawl

    Urbansprawl Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    585
    Yeah it will change eventually. That said, you could make the same volume/demand argument about 8k holographic theatre :)
     
  2. OP
    OP
    Smokin Whale

    Smokin Whale Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,182
    Location:
    Pacific Ocean off SC
    Link? Staticice suggests otherwise.

    PCIe 2.0 4x would be more than sufficient. Even PCIe 1.0 can push 1GB/s if needed. 10g ethernet tops out around 1.25GB/s.
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2014
  3. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    13,865
    Location:
    Newcastle

    Static ice isn't the all end for pricing. You can get them from dell for 254 delivered otherwise all bids or graysonline. I've posted links before.
     
  4. HeXa

    HeXa Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    10,216
    Location:
    Canberra, ACT
    from an account manager maybe.... but public Dell pricing is $299

    http://accessories.ap.dell.com/sna/productdetail.aspx?c=au&l=en&s=bsd&cs=aubsd1&sku=540-11353

    EDIT: but you are right about other places being cheaper.... ~$200 at a few places like -> http://www.warehouse1.com.au/epages.../Shops/warehouse1/Products/000000000001401536 EDIT: just the optics module, not the whole card :( thanks for the correction cvidler

    The x540 will cost you twice that (and $450 @ Dell)
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2014
  5. OP
    OP
    Smokin Whale

    Smokin Whale Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,182
    Location:
    Pacific Ocean off SC
    Both those cards are SFP+ either way, which is something you wouldn't be able to pair with the budget Netgear switch. Plus, for the sake of compatibility with existing wiring, ethernet is where it's at.
     
  6. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    13,865
    Location:
    Newcastle
    If you want Ethernet dell xr997
     
  7. nav

    nav Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2001
    Messages:
    3,863
    Location:
    melbourne
    This is a great thread :thumbup:
    Loads of useful info, I've been wondering the same question as the OP.

    -nav.
     
  8. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    13,332
    Location:
    Canberra
    That warehouse1.com.au link is NOT a nic, just a SFP+ module.
    picture is deceptive, but the part number and PDF download tell the story.

    --just in case someone's thinking about buying.
     
  9. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    13,865
    Location:
    Newcastle
    TBH there is a few factors to consider before going 10gb.

    First and foremost, i havent come across any dedicated 10g switch that is considered quiet at all, which is to be expected since its business grade equipment.

    Second. How much data you are going to transfer on a regular basis, ive got around 110tb backed up over 2.5 machines and after the initial transfer im lucky to move 3tb a month.

    Unless your planning to move crazy amounts of data constantly going for a dedicated 10gb switch is an inefficent use of money.

    However, something like the Dell 5524/48 (gives you 2 SFP+ uplink ports) or the Dell 6224/48 (no native 10gb ports however you can fit 2 upgrade modules for SFP+/ethernet/cx-4)

    They can be had for 200-500 on ebay and are solid reliable units.

    Cables wise, you can get dell premade cables (7m) for 40 clams for SFP+, otherwise SFP+ modules will run you around the 50-100 mark and 10 bucks onwards for a LC-LC cable (depending on your length)

    As ive said before, Ebay/Grays/allbids are your friends, you can pick up crazy good priced gear there.

    Its where i got my modules from (18 bucks each for SFP+) + switch and 3 of my Nics.


    AKA

    http://www.graysonline.com/search.aspx?q=10gb

    There is a couple of 7048's (they will go for around 600-700 each) the 8132 will go for 1500 or so (but is a full blown 24 port 10gb switch) and stacks of FTL modules
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2014
  10. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    13,865
    Location:
    Newcastle
  11. HeXa

    HeXa Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    10,216
    Location:
    Canberra, ACT
    oh - thanks~ explains the cheapness then :thumbup:

    oh sweet - thought that was an home only thing
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2014
  12. mtma

    mtma Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,346
    But in saying that, we may finally see a 'multimedia interface' gain traction similar to HDMI-HEC to serve the needs of multimedia bandwidth for consumer wired networking in the future, should the central need of the bandwidth stem from such.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Smokin Whale

    Smokin Whale Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,182
    Location:
    Pacific Ocean off SC
    Never heard of it.

    The reason why I was mainly interested in mainly in ethernet is that there is currently an ethernet link (around 30m or so) which is joining two buildings. Pretty hard to replace this infrastructure with fibre or whatever.

    Realistically though, I don't need THAT much bandwidth right now, but it certainly would be nice. Link aggregation will do me for the next few years.
     
  14. FiShy

    FiShy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    9,682
    Ethernet link? You mean you have UTP/STP between the building...
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Smokin Whale

    Smokin Whale Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,182
    Location:
    Pacific Ocean off SC
    Twisted pair copper, Ethernet, UTP/STP, whatever you want to call it. Yes.

    Edit: Looked up QDR/FDR, you could have said Infiniband :tired:
     
  16. evilasdeath

    evilasdeath Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,918
    Ethernet = the protocol that runs on the physical.

    UTP is what it runs on. There is a difference.

    you could run ethernet between 2 buildings via wifi/UTP/optical/microwave/2 cans and some string/carrier pigeon/

    anyway since you have UTP between the buildings already the conduit is built? just pull through fibre and your done.
     
  17. Rezin

    Rezin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    9,490
  18. FiShy

    FiShy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    9,682
  19. bubblegoose

    bubblegoose Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4,508
    Location:
    Molesworth - Tasmania
  20. McRutch

    McRutch Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Melbourne
    how about you just search ethernet and not 'ethernet cable' and post back with the result :thumbup:
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: