When is consumer 10GbE going to happen?

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Smokin Whale, Sep 21, 2014.

  1. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    13,088
    Location:
    Canberra
    With MS yeah.
     
  2. Renza

    Renza Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,666
    Location:
    Melbourne
    at the OS level, yes. bt if your NICs support it at the driver level, then it will work on desktop OSes as well
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Smokin Whale

    Smokin Whale Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,180
    Location:
    Pacific Ocean off SC
    Derp, didn't see the 10g copper ports. The trendnet switch is still several hundred dollars cheaper though, although I've never used a managed trendnet switch before...

    The answer to the second is "sort of". SMB multichannel seems to be a bit of a hit and miss for some, depending on NICs, drivers, switches and OS versions. It's one of those things that should just work, and it does for the most part, but it's useless in certain situations. One thing I keep seeing is that it doesn't seem to load balance automatically for some, and MS are still fiddling around with the implementation of it. I honestly haven't played with it much, but I know that my current fileserver can make use of it if I have multiple concurrent transfer streams from it. Dual Intel NICs on an Intel S1200BTL motherboard
     
  4. Luke212

    Luke212 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,773
    Location:
    Sydney
    why dont you run the desktops in RDP or similar, instead of spending huge amounts on networking? or better, put the ssds in the Workstations and just manage them as workstations? your software is specific... scientific modelling. you might be making pain for yourself in the future if you don't just do the standard high perf workstation storage for them.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2016
  5. OP
    OP
    Smokin Whale

    Smokin Whale Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,180
    Location:
    Pacific Ocean off SC
    What? We run a repair shop. Sometimes we have 5 customer SSDs/HDDs backing up to our server at once, and 3-4 SSDs imaging at the same time, and then we have to restore customer data after the image is complete. Things usually aren't that hectic, but sometimes it happens, and LAN performance becomes an issue. Driver updates and what-not are also done by the server. Currently we have large SSDs in the workstation and image locally, but I'd rather just make things simple and just have a stupid fast fileserver.
     
  6. TehCamel

    TehCamel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,183
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Because he images devices and runs a small break-fix shop?
     
  7. Luke212

    Luke212 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,773
    Location:
    Sydney
    i thought you were that science guy asking about single thread perf in another thread :o yes, make sense to have a good/fast backup server when doing your sort of work.
     
  8. scottath

    scottath Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,575
    Location:
    Sydney
  9. Hive

    Hive Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Location:
    Some place far away
    Knowing ubiquiti, it will be fairly affordable. :thumbup:
     
  10. NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    17,865
    Location:
    Canberra
    doubt it will be under Netgear.

    And honestly SFP's are canceer.
     
  11. Hive

    Hive Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Location:
    Some place far away
    SFP Direct attach is alright, otherwise modules are expensive. RRP looks to be around 599 AUD.
     
  12. Aetherone

    Aetherone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    8,723
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
  13. Sphinx2000

    Sphinx2000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Messages:
    8,685
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Pricing is STILL nuts... no take-up = high price = no take-up. :thumbdn:
     
  14. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    13,088
    Location:
    Canberra
    this still not a thing.

    here's me deploying 100GE 'storage*' network, with mutli 40GE server links

    seriously for consumer/home level the place to be is second hand market


    *it's really more network attach RAM. 56GB/s (that's a big B). microsecond latency.
     
  15. Aetherone

    Aetherone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    8,723
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    Cheap(ish), large, hot and noisy as hell. Maybe its not. :thumbdn:

    Sexy. Got photos? :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2016
  16. Hive

    Hive Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Location:
    Some place far away
    What needs to die is 2.5/5 GB ethernet tech. Biggest waste of anything ever. NO MIDDLEGROUNDS, UP ALL THE RATES.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2016
  17. Aetherone

    Aetherone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    8,723
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    I think that depends on where its going to settle in at what price-point.
    New tech has always been stupid expensive but 10g really hasn't dropped like previous. If it had followed the same timeline, we'd be getting >$200 desktop boards with rubbish RTL 10G chipsets soldered on about now :D :sick:
     
  18. Hive

    Hive Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Location:
    Some place far away
    just imagine the CPU usage...:thumbup:
     
  19. fad

    fad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,365
    Location:
    City, Canberra, Australia
  20. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    40,394
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Speak for yourself. We're rolling out 10GbE to the desktop in the absence of anything between 1GbE and 10.

    Considering a 1GbE PHY is $3, and a 10GbE NIC + cable + SFP connectors puts us at about $200-300 per desktop, there's a lot of room in the middle.

    Realistic draw for our workstations is around the 2-3Gbit/s per person mark. 1GbE is too slow, LACP is a pain in the balls, and 10GbE means extra cost for overhead we don't need.

    2.5/5Gbit/s would be *perfect* for us right now.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: