1. Win some Team Group goodies in OCAU's latest contest!
    Dismiss Notice

When Will Telstra 100mbit start commencing?

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Intercept, Apr 3, 2009.

  1. OhFoRkMe

    OhFoRkMe Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,215
    Location:
    Joyner 4500
    [​IMG]

    Home ADSL2+

    Modem is sync'ing at 17mbit though.
     
  2. OP
    OP
    Intercept

    Intercept (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    339
    Location:
    Alphington Vic 3078
    haha its about the only thing we can do. Pings are great but download limits :(. :thumbdn:
     
  3. oztrailrider

    oztrailrider Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    65
    [​IMG]

    Telstra 17Mbps cable on the Gold Coast.
     
  4. mhgarage

    mhgarage Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,080
    Mine synchs at 16Mb down and 1.5 up w/node

    But serious question, what use is the fast speed?

    I can only download fast from internode's newsgroup server or internode's mirrors (Happily at 670KB/sec). It seems backhaul is so slow that 99.9% of content won't download faster than 125Kb/s anyway as it comes from the USA. Even Australian servers rarely download faster than 1Mb/s.Indeed I'd say about half my content is from O/S servers and is slower than 20Kb/s.

    So what use are these fast plans, even 16Mb, when none of the backhaul has wide enough bandwidth to serve the data we want at top speeds?
     
  5. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    143,969
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    I use FF + DTA with newsgroups to max out the cable connection at around 2.5meg/s. Having the fast speed is very useful to me.
     
  6. mshagg

    mshagg Politburo

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    23,089
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Not a problem here. Download from Astraweb @ 2.5meg/sec, any time of day, no dramas. Just pick which linux iso you want to play around with and it's ready to go in 6 minutes. How is that not handy :p
     
  7. NrGx

    NrGx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    153
    I would take a 10/10 connection over what most of you are getting. At home I get about 5.4/0.7 though (iPrimus 200GB ADSL2+) and at uni i get 40/40 :)

    It doesn't matter though...Australian connections are noob in general. My relative in Belgium gets 100/100 for about 54 euro...and they don't even know what a download cap is!
     
  8. PsyKo-Billy

    PsyKo-Billy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,712
    Location:
    Townsville
    Same. I'm a bit different to 'most users' since I'm playing with web and mail servers at home and do a bit of remote desktop etc. Hell I'd be happy with an Annex M link at home. Last time I had one it was 14/2mb which was quite OK by me.
     
  9. trevor68

    trevor68 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    4,283
    Location:
    Canberra
    Yeah Annexe M would be nice, does anybody do those yet?

    it must suck hard to be in Telstra Only service area I guess. The winback team call me regularly (always right on teatime) and I let them do the whole spiel right up to where they ask me my current Internet Usage. Once I say 60gig they thank me for my time and hangup.

    Guess even they know how bad their quotas are. :rolleyes:
     
  10. Onyx

    Onyx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    4,253
    Location:
    NSW
    [​IMG]
    Click to view full size!


    Unfortunately it takes quite some effort to switch between Liberty plans each month to exceed the 12 or 25GB limits...
     
  11. mshagg

    mshagg Politburo

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    23,089
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Bigpond's "Free day" + usenet = win. Although ive just switched to the 60GB plan to see what its like.
     
  12. MrSnuffy

    MrSnuffy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Hobart
    Internode does
     
  13. Gaz

    Gaz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    In the Rational
    lol tel$tra 100mbit? maybe at souls old house.

    and no i didnt read the whole thread just the title.
     
  14. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    143,969
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    It will happen eventually, that's progress my friend : )
     
  15. Tartarus

    Tartarus Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    Canbra
    You're all lucky.

    [​IMG]

    This is $80/month ADSL2+. It's been like this for two years. To me, this is how fast ADSL2+ goes.
    I've never seen a download go faster than 350kbps, not even off iiNet's servers.
     
  16. martino

    martino Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,225
    Yes - and possibly before anyone else too it seems.

    Nothing like the threat of competition to put the rocket up them.
     
  17. mexicanpete

    mexicanpete Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    townsville queensland
    [​IMG]

    yes well count yourselves all lucky i live in townsville, a 'remote' city with almost 200k people and thats the best i can get its fucked
    even thats 1+ even if i was on extended 2 it wont get much better
     
  18. Rusty X5

    Rusty X5 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,120
    Location:
    A Very Cold Place
    OMG DUDE..where in the ACT you live...i'm surprised how many of you guys who live in big ass towns...way bigger where i live are gettin crappier speeds..wtf :Paranoid:

    .....


    Sound like you two both on the same exchange maybe...you guys mite have to move to Mackay :p...not in the middle of town though..new suburbs like blacks beach and crap..that where my mate is pulling super fast speeds ;).
     
  19. Tartarus

    Tartarus Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    Canbra
    Chifley, right next to Woden, which is a big shopping plaza but not too much commercial/industrial.
    Still, it's definitely not the "outskirts". But I am on the border of my exchange. :sick: FTTN please.
     
  20. PsyKo-Billy

    PsyKo-Billy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,712
    Location:
    Townsville
    At the risk of taking this thread further off topic...
    aDSL and aDSL2+ speeds are very much limited to how far away from the exchange you are and the quality of the line. The size of the town has absolutely no bearing on it. I've known of guys in Tvl who've had aDSL2+ and got ~3mb sync speeds. That's what happens when you're a looong way away from the exchange. Same with guys who live in Brisneyland. If they're near the excahnge, Bonza, if not, stiff.

    Now. Back to Tel$tra bashing about 100mb cable...
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: