When Will Telstra 100mbit start commencing?

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Intercept, Apr 3, 2009.

  1. Rusty X5

    Rusty X5 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,120
    Location:
    A Very Cold Place
    Yer..i agree, however in my case..i think it line quality..1600 metre from exchange..i reckon my speed is crap. As for my mate..he would have to be 2.5-3km away atleast yet he getting near double d/l and max u/l speed. BUt that the beauty of living in a new/newish estate with good lines and with less traffic (people) to fight for bandwidth with.
     
  2. Craigleberry

    Craigleberry Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Under_YoUr_nose
    It will be good to see them speeds I am sick of my speeds atm.
    [​IMG]
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Intercept

    Intercept (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    339
    Location:
    Alphington Vic 3078
    Are those speeds from 1.5mbit or adsl 2+?
     
  4. Gaz

    Gaz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    In the Rational
  5. Coldplayer

    Coldplayer Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,864
    Location:
    Carlingford
  6. mordy

    mordy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    5,100
    Location:
    melb
    yeh, sorry but its never gonna happen.

    Theres no way telstra is gonna pour billions into upgrading their hfc after the government has just announced a ftth network, theres no point.
     
  7. chopsticks

    chopsticks (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Soon to be Melbourne
    [​IMG]

    not bad for 8mbps/384kbps ADSL1.
     
  8. FiShy

    FiShy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    9,682
    Billions?

    lol, the hard part is done, just need to make minor changes to the HFC Network, upgraded CMTS's.
     
  9. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    10,017
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    whne so many people like myself in modern suburbia are stuck on waiting lists for ANY Adsl, I find it amazing this stuff is getting rolled out, not to mention the govt's super duper broadband plan..

    [​IMG]

    Get everyone off this wireless bullshit you see above that costs $120 a month for 10Gb

    Telstra - the fastest wireless broadband in the world! (but nobody gives a shit).

    I know it's not telstra's fault, but someone should step in and spend the money tidying up the mess left behind by no requirment to cater for ADSL/Cable in new estates for the last 10-20yrs (thankfully the newest and upcoming developments are ensuring and advertising the fact they're catering for all lots) BEFORE injecting anything into super fast broadband IMO.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2009
  10. mordy

    mordy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    5,100
    Location:
    melb
    Sorry, I misread the article, I thought it said it would cost $300 million to upgrade just melbourne, but its $300 million all up. I'll take back my previous comment.
     
  11. BuuBox

    BuuBox Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,318
    Location:
    Melbourne
    The issue with estates and no ADSL is more to do with tight arse developers trying to get the maximum return on their crummy estates more than anything else.

    Two options:

    1. Call Telstra: "come and do what is required by the USO please"
    2. Call Optus/Telstra/Any: "I need internet access for residents of our lovely new estate"

    #1 will get you on a RIM with limited ports (at best)
    #2 will get you FTTH, albeit in a monopoly fashion, but better than the above - the Optus options are quite reasonably priced.
     
  12. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    144,482
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    I guess at least you have something.....some have absolutely nothing available.
     
  13. B4TM4N

    B4TM4N Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    427
    Location:
    3128; Vic
    [​IMG]
    Telstra 18mb cable i thunk
    Not bad. Not bad

    Now this new 100mbit interwibbles is cable. Correct me please
    Knowing telstra they will charge for uploading then/
    If i have this great speeds, how am i suppose to upload a lot :upset:
     
  14. BuuBox

    BuuBox Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,318
    Location:
    Melbourne
    You're on the 8Mb Telstra Cable plan (in reality 10Mb/128Kb).
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Intercept

    Intercept (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    339
    Location:
    Alphington Vic 3078
    yeah thats def the 8mbit cable plan. I think its stupid how telstra limit this connection so hard. I guess its just to make everyone pay the extra 10 dollars a month so they can have proper cable speed.
     
  16. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,496
    Location:
    Melbourne
    probably because bandwidth costs money. neither router nor backhaul capacity are delivered by fairies overnight.
     
  17. FiShy

    FiShy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    9,682
    yea, we move our routers with pixies, they can carrier heavier gear.
     
  18. B4TM4N

    B4TM4N Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    427
    Location:
    3128; Vic
    Ah 8Mbit thanks guys
    I should be getting adsl2 soon, yay for fast speeds
     
  19. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    10,017
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    yep, well them too.

    I shouldn't have singled out subrubia so much, it's just you'd expect that to be the last place one would have broadband availabilty issues.. something that was looking like "mainstream" 5-6yrs ago is STILL a drama in populated areas.

    Buubox, I do blame the dev's, it's shocking. But people NOT ranting enough (like I am now) is why it's taken this long for them to finally look at ADSL availablity as a must, like sewerage, water, and of course phone.
     
  20. BuuBox

    BuuBox Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,318
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Depending on your line, ADSL2 speeds could be less than what you get now.

    Since you're in Melbourne, 30Mb cable is avaliable.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: