Where are the retro bargains? List here!

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by Cannula, Jul 23, 2015.

  1. BuuBox

    BuuBox Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,524
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I struggled to find a 100% functional and stable Abit NF7-S 10 years ago. I can't imagine a decade has done much for reliability. :lol:
     
    FIREWIRE1394 likes this.
  2. Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,930
    Yep, all Vpro cards require the better PSU, the only let down with this system its not dual CPU. Id probably swap my dual 14k400 in there.. sadly though, there is fuck all to do with these now, no developments and no Linux that you can run on the Octane (o2 has a Linux port thx to Redhatter), but the Octane is shit out of luck. Pretty sad how that that ended up, wish they open sourced the OS.
     
  3. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    7,368
    Location:
    Dark City
    Yeh shame.. I hope HP one day does Open source it. But I suspect it will never happen.
     
  4. badmofo

    badmofo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,331
    Location:
    Australia
  5. Pierre32

    Pierre32 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Messages:
    820
    Location:
    Sydney
    Dig that Digital monitor!
     
  6. Pierre32

    Pierre32 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Messages:
    820
    Location:
    Sydney
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2019
  7. genxor

    genxor Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2003
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    Perth
    Pierre32 likes this.
  8. badmofo

    badmofo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,331
    Location:
    Australia
    I snagged one of these for $10 bucks (+18 bucks postage to Melbs):

    https://www.ebay.com.au/p/3018161675

    Not the most beautiful thing in the world but has some naughties charm about it, and I don't mind an Aopen product.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    adz, Pierre32, genxor and 1 other person like this.
  9. genxor

    genxor Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2003
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    Perth
    That reminds me of the case I used for years! $56 postage to Perth though :(
     
  10. bYrd

    bYrd Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    NE Melbourne
    Thanks for heads up, did they reduce postage costs for you at check out? (it's saying $32.50 to send for me, Melb).
     
  11. Pierre32

    Pierre32 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Messages:
    820
    Location:
    Sydney
  12. badmofo

    badmofo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,331
    Location:
    Australia
    There was no postage on it the other day so I enquired and got a reply of 18 bucks. Quick comms from them and although they requested me to pay via PayPal direct ("can't send invoice") it showed up in a couple of days via Couriers Please.

    I'd just ping them and ask for a postage quote.
     
  13. badmofo

    badmofo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,331
    Location:
    Australia
  14. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    7,368
    Location:
    Dark City
  15. badmofo

    badmofo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,331
    Location:
    Australia
    Flamin Joe, MUTMAN, Pierre32 and 3 others like this.
  16. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    7,368
    Location:
    Dark City
    I like that case, but for the price and the project I wanted to use it on the ever important Mhz display was important for me.
     
  17. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,561
    Location:
    4109
    whats the 'green' button do/for ??
    i dont remember seeing that on anything. but if it was just to save power then i'm not surprised I didnt take any notice of them back in the day
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2019
  18. badmofo

    badmofo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,331
    Location:
    Australia
    From memory the 'green' button just puts the PC into standby mode. And yes I'm a big fan of the Mhz display too but they're a bit pointless post the 486 era, which is where I spend most of my time these days.
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  19. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,561
    Location:
    4109
    arrr, remember when keyboards had that bloody sleep button
    and you hit it by accident mid game ... urgh, the horror of it all.
    labelled as rage quitting because of a sleep button :( it didnt matter what i said after that :lol:
     
  20. DonutKing

    DonutKing Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,408
    Location:
    Tweed/Gold Coast
    I felt the same way about the windows keys when I first got a keyboard with those on it... the default keys in Doom and most Apogee platformers were nearly unusable!
     
    MUTMAN likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: