which osx

Discussion in 'Apple Desktop Hardware/Software' started by philquad, Jan 27, 2020.

  1. philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    nelson bay
    i just bought a 13" macbook for $50 ? anyway (2009)

    whats best os to run on it, i read sierra is about it, not mojave unless its 2012 or more
    its just for fun, probably end up in the pile with all the other toys
    maybe i'll like it.
     
  2. Hater

    Hater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,666
    Location:
    Canberra
    just whatevers the latest it supports. el capitan iirc.
     
    damo13579 likes this.
  3. aokman

    aokman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    13,216
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Most likely High Sierra will be its limit, anything newer requires metal. Providing its 64bit anyway.
     
  4. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,724
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    If it's a Core2Duo, then Hater is right, it'll run El Capitan.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    nelson bay
    its got sierra on it, i tried to run high sierra, but im doing something wrong
    also got a el capitan from apple, its a dmg, i read it should run quickest on a 2009 2gb ram, but do i need the dmg on a usb or so to install? im trying to run it from desk, its not playing
    i hav nfi
     
  6. Hater

    Hater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,666
    Location:
    Canberra
    just hold command - option - R on boot up, enter internet recovery mode and let it do its thing

    there are specific commands and disk formats needed to create boot USB's for macs, you can't just throw the DMG on a CD or USB and have it boot
     
  7. aokman

    aokman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    13,216
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Internet recovery is all that is needed however you may need to install all updates first which usually includes a firmware update to support High Sierra.
     
  8. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    40,459
    Location:
    Brisbane
    It'll likely be a firmware issue. Sadly updating Macbook firmware is a pain in the arse, as you have to go back to the latest OS that will run, and then incrementally upgrade in order to get firmware updates to come down and apply. (Loads of fun on a fleet of hundreds of machines, I can tell you now).
     
  9. OP
    OP
    philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    nelson bay
    yea i have to setup sierra when i got it, im just playing around, though el capitan might run faster on it?
    i have done it once before for a friend,
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: