Which Windows OS are you using for your main gaming PC?

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by Utetopia, Sep 4, 2008.

?

Which Windows OS are you using for your main gaming PC?

  1. Windows XP Home/Pro 32-bit

    293 vote(s)
    42.6%
  2. Windows Vista HP/Business/Ultimate 32-bit

    110 vote(s)
    16.0%
  3. Windows Vista HP/Business/Ultimate 64-bit

    248 vote(s)
    36.0%
  4. A combo of Vista & XP or Vista 32 & 64 or all 3

    32 vote(s)
    4.7%
  5. Older OS eg Windows 2003, 2000

    5 vote(s)
    0.7%
  1. Utetopia

    Utetopia Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,647
    Location:
    BNE/TWMBA
    Just want to keep the thread simple & find out how many of us have moved to Vista.

    Please no ranting about how much you hate one over the other etc etc.

    If you are using a combo (dual-boot) or other Windows OS for gaming, let us know why!
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2008
  2. Arch-Angel

    Arch-Angel Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    6,869
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Vista HP 32 bit - never had any issues :thumbup:
     
  3. NismoR31

    NismoR31 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,045
    Location:
    Sydney
    vista ultimate 64

    i even play ancient games on it (like carmageddon 2)
     
  4. rubba-chikin

    rubba-chikin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,946
    Location:
    Vancouver
    v64 mainly to make use of my 4 gig of RAM

    Installed vista when it first came out as I was working as a tech and I wanted to have the knowledge of everything. Liked it enough to keep it.

    Since SP1 can't say I've had any dramas
     
  5. DivHunter

    DivHunter Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,053
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Vista Ultimate x64 recently reloaded and removed all but the real administrator account and just use that. Runs much smoother and far less irritation and annoying restriction while having DX10.1 sexyness.
     
  6. TrennaHowar

    TrennaHowar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,499
    Location:
    Perth
    XP 32bit all the way! Tried and tested :) Untill i move to OSX that is :p then i will dual boot with XP for gaming and OSX for everything else.
     
  7. Rezin

    Rezin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    9,488
    You need to add Windows Server 2008. It could come under Vista, but it isn't so choosing that would skew the stats.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Utetopia

    Utetopia Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,647
    Location:
    BNE/TWMBA
    I don't know how to adjust the poll. Not many people would be using 2008 server for gaming so I guess it'd be best put in 64-bit Vista?

    Just sent off a PM to a mod to have it added. :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2008
  9. neotheo

    neotheo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    ~
    I used 2008 for gaming, was superb. Except couldnt play NFS ProStreet...

    and i had the urge to play it...

    so now i got Vista 32bit ultimate, no problem since sp1
     
  10. DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Vista Home Premium and Business (on another PC), both 64bit :D as i made that switch recently (from 32bit).
     
  11. Nitephyre

    Nitephyre Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,453
    Location:
    springbrook@gc.qld.au
    v64 Ultimate, few issues at the start but all good now really :)
     
  12. Etherate

    Etherate Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    921
    Location:
    SA
    vista 64 bit at the moment, quite impressed after switching from xp pro a couple of weeks ago
     
  13. Formage

    Formage (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    Sydney Brahh!
    weres the xp x64 option? :thumbdn::thumbdn:
     
  14. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    136,354
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    WIndows XP (32bit) for gaming and swapping to Vista (64bit) if I have any problems in XP which I have had at lans.
     
  15. saba

    saba Evil Vizier

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,711
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Windows Server 2008.

    All the stuff you want, like DX10, improved kernel and memory management, etc.

    None of the stuff you don't want, like DRM, 1gb of memory usage on boot, daggy UI (but you can have it there if you decide you need it), etc.
     
  16. FLB

    FLB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,580
    Location:
    Adelaide
    64bit Vista SP1 Ultimate. XP via VMWare 6.5 if I need something 16bit.
     
  17. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    33,047
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    vista 32-bit atm but will go 64-bit in 2 months.
     
  18. AthlonMan

    AthlonMan (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    11,416
    Location:
    QLD.
    Vista 64bit. Something like a 15-16months install, still fast and reliable. Never any issues at all.
     
  19. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    33,047
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    Do you need drivers for XP when in VMWare?
     
  20. FLB

    FLB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,580
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Yep, but VMware tools that comes with VMWare covers those needs. Some USB devices will need drivers as well.
     

Share This Page