White balance - best time-saving gadgets?

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by kini_mini, Jun 11, 2007.

?

What white balance tool do you use/prefer?

1. Auto white balance and fiddle it later

49 vote(s)
    48.0%
  2. Auto white balance and it's fine by me

13 vote(s)
    12.7%
  3. Expodisc

8 vote(s)
    7.8%
  4. Generic gray card + custom white balance

13 vote(s)
    12.7%
  5. Lastolite disc or other proprietary

5 vote(s)
    4.9%
  6. Pick closest setting (daylight/shade/incandescent etc)

14 vote(s)
    13.7%
  1. kini_mini

kini_mini Member

Please post any more information, recommendations etc. I have no idea if other brands/cameras have this problem but my 30D's auto WB is pretty horrible in anything other than bright daylight.

I used to use the while balance card that came with Scott Kelby's CS2 book, but I lost it some time ago. Since I'm not a pro shooter and I rarely take more than 100 shots at a time, I've survived by shooting auto WB (on 30D) and correcting as necessary in processing. That can work eventually but lately I've realised that I just don't have the time for that any more...hence this poll :)

2. sir_bazz

sir_bazz Team Papparazi

Anything auto is prone to be tricked under the right conditions. I still do the AWB thing with RAW and fix in post and also use a preset in ACR for the studio lights to make things easy. While this works well for controlled lighting, lately I've been thinking about getting a WhiBal.

Looking forward to reading others replies.

bazz.

3. 0oBelialo0

0oBelialo0 Member

AWB, then sort it out in RSE. RSE's auto gets it right for me about 90% of the time.

Ben

4. stenchlord

stenchlord Member

I normally just AWB then fix in PP. I mean if it's something that i have time to recompose and do the shot over then I will but for most shots I tend to just fix them in PP.

5. Alessiman

Alessiman Member

I am sold on the WhiBal. Anything that makes it easier for me to set white balance has my vote