Who here has gone from AMD to Intel?

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by willz75, May 3, 2002.

  1. MrW

    MrW Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    519
    Location:
    Ipswich, Queensland
    I fully aware that the two CPU's can't be compared... but that's my AMD to Intel story.
     
  2. BitAddict

    BitAddict Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,855
    Location:
    Brisbane

    WHAT? You abandoned Cyrix??? How could you!!! :D
     
  3. CAESAR

    CAESAR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    Wallan
    couldnt decide so i got both
    Intel p4 1.8a and AMD 1800+
     
  4. wing

    wing Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    654
    Location:
    Sydney
    got both :)
    1.6A@2.6 for everyday use
    5 x XP boxen to fold:D
     
  5. Son Gokou

    Son Gokou Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    615
    Location:
    Melb
    I'm always a Intel Fan:D.....
     
  6. OP
    OP
    willz75

    willz75 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2001
    Messages:
    386
    Location:
    Darwin, Northern Territor
    It seems a popular move indeed! :D - Noise was a key factor in my decision to switch, the Northwood being an awesome overclocker was really icing on the cake.
     
  7. Shion

    Shion Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    809
    Location:
    Perth
    Whoa... I just clicked your "Folding Boxen Database" link... do you really own that many PC's? :eek:

    I know, I know... rest assured, I'm truly ashamed of what I did. ;)

    -Bon
     
  8. wing

    wing Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    654
    Location:
    Sydney
    yes, of coz I do..:D
     
  9. Gandalf

    Gandalf Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    Beaudesert, SE QLD
  10. wing

    wing Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    654
    Location:
    Sydney
    the only way an Intel can beat AMD in folding is get yourself a P3-S and clock them to over 1800+mhz
     
  11. Fodder

    Fodder (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    10,638
    Location:
    Sunny Melbourne
    Oh, I don't know, folding power seems roughly exponential (?) to MHz, so as a 2GHz P4 performs like a 1GHz Athlon, if you got the Japanese crazies folding, their 4GHz P4's, if stable, could have a crack at a top spot.
     
  12. Judicat0r

    Judicat0r Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Canberra
    Yep. AthlonXP 1600 to Celeron Tualatin 1000 at 1500. Cheaper, cooler, quieter and faster!!!
     
  13. Gandalf

    Gandalf Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    Beaudesert, SE QLD
    Don't tell me - show me!!
     
  14. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    18,467
    Love those Tualatins....:D
     
  15. elisiX

    elisiX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,585
    Location:
    Sydney
    Considering going to Intel for the next CPU/MOBO/RAM upgrade

    Not sure with the Hammer coming at the end of the year.
     
  16. HaZZaD

    HaZZaD Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Melb
    Went form a P3-700 rif last last year to a AMD 1700+ XP rig. The Amd system is hella noisy even with just a stock standard fan and i dont find it very stable compared to the P3 i had. I want to go back to Intel and go for a P4 2.0 Ghz but need to find a board that suits my needs..ie Raid, USB 2.0...we wait and see.

    HaZ
     
  17. SuperBeast

    SuperBeast Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I had a duron 800 and went to a P4 1.6A... and VERY happy with it and i think i will oc it some
     
  18. faTcaT

    faTcaT Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2001
    Messages:
    804
    Location:
    overclockers.com.au/mc
    I've done that.

    Had a Tbird 1000@1400, and now have a 1.6a@2.3


    I would NEVER buy AMD again until:

    They give all processors 3 years warranty.
    They have heat-protection that works.
    They get rid of their useless XP naming system.
    They work out how to build themselves a decent chipset.

    and they get some decent reliability out of their cores.
     
  19. Hughesey

    Hughesey Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I have a Tbird @ 1.4, and just bought a P4 1.6A for a second box. Needed SSE2 so really had no choice, but oh well :)
     
  20. tizeyboy

    tizeyboy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,359
    Location:
    Melbourne
    im thinking of converting to a tualatin celeron.. sick of the noise and heat this amd rig generates.

    my ambient temperatures soar when this thing runs all day. im sick of it. ARGH

    just need to find a s370 board that has what i need and im sold.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: