1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Whos staying with LGA775??

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Blade1000000, Jun 13, 2010.

  1. Mau1wurf1977

    Mau1wurf1977 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,706
    Location:
    Country WA
    German Computerbase still has some Core 2 Quads in their benchmarks.

    I had a look and it seems that a 3 GHz Core 2 Quad ~ AMD Phenom II X4 and beats the AMD Athlon II X4 which is pretty impressive.

    The Q6600 is ~ AMD Athlon II X3.

    So yea it looks like there is still some life left in this socket. Only trouble is that you can get a new Athlon II X4 for ~ 100 bucks while a Q9550 will likely cost you more?
     
  2. xiller09

    xiller09 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    I'm finding my (currently) stock speed E7300 just fine for most games. I'd rather lower my game quality slightly than fork out for a new socket. And yes, consoles... I should have upgraded by now :p
     
  3. memnoch

    memnoch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    518
    Location:
    Sydnet
    Pretty much same here, except I have mine running at stock speeds now.
    And moved from 5770 CF to a gtx460 1gb.
    My media PC and my cousin got "new" old video cards.

    I've got a dell t5500 high-end workstation at work and there isn't much different between it and my home pc (that I notice anyway 2cores vs 6 for desktop usage meh.. the highend quadro card is just sitting idle..).

    As I said to my brother in law, there is no game out at the moment my current PC can't run acceptably. Ill consider and upgrade when I need to turn down the detail to play a game with decent FPS.

    And it doesn't look like that will happen for another 2-3 months at least.
     
  4. HeXa

    HeXa Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    10,211
    Location:
    Canberra, ACT
    my current games PC is an oc'ed s775 system.... which will likely replace my s939 X2 home server

    thinking a 2500K for my birthday in 2 months... with mobo and ram to suit :)
     
  5. NNNG

    NNNG Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Would go to SB if I had the cash. Cash donations appreciated.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2011
  6. Raptor_Eye

    Raptor_Eye Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,565
    Location:
    Canberra ACT
    witcher 2 should push our systems, but mainly the video card side.

    Apparently it does have multi core optimizations.
     
  7. g3monster

    g3monster Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    732
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Almost 7 Months on from when I made my original post in this thread and still can't justify the cost of upgrading my Q6600.

    My Q6600 is perfectly capable of 3.8GHZ without breaking a sweat so hopefully it will last me until Intel goes to 22nm then this system will FINALLY be relegated to server duty.

    The only parts I will consider upgrading are parts that I can carry over to my new build, eg Ill be buying a new 1KW PSU soon and probably a new gfx card to replace the aging 9800GT (when the next gen cards get released which should fit my upgrade plans nicely), probably also a few 2TB HDDs sooner rather than later.

    But the core system is still more than adequate for my current needs.
     
  8. terroristone

    terroristone Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,190
    Location:
    Melb 3030
    i've been tempted to move to 1366 many times but find my system good enough or what i do, i'm going to hold off untill mid year and see what bullbozer brings as im an AMD guy at heart. If not it looks like i'll goto SB.
    Andrew
     
  9. money_killer

    money_killer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,717
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast, QLD
    my q9400 is still serving its purpose. which is internet,email,burning media, storage and stream media.

    as much as i would like the have the latest i think alls i will be getting is and ssd for the os and some 2TB harddrives
     
  10. Azz123

    Azz123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2001
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    Yes, the good 'ol 775....
    I've not been on even here for a zillion years as I havent really had a need to OC..

    I've had my current board (Asus P5KC) for some years now initially with an E6750 in it till about 12 months ago when I noticed Q9400's on special for $90 so I took the upgrade.

    Till recently the PC has been hardly pushed though with Christmas being pretty damp here I had a look at the games on Steam that were SUPER cheap and ended up with Dirt 2 & Grid.

    Well, the 8600GTS was only capable of about 26fps at 1920x1200 which is the native res of my monitor so it got the boot for GB GTX460 which made some improvement though I could still see the CPU was holding things back so time to play with an overclock. :D

    Cut a long story short, current system was going to get replaced as I couldnt get FSB to 400 with bloody vdroop. 1.32v was dropping to 1.18 acording to OCCT and PC Probe.

    Anyway, pencil mod performed and all is well :D Ive got a stable FSB of 425 now.

    Considering the Sockets are changing so quickly it makes you wonder if it's worth going to i7..

    I might just keep an eye out for QX9650 and get a final upgrade out of this board yet.....
     
  11. hellaflush

    hellaflush Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,151
    Location:
    Brisbane
    all you C2D lads obviously dont play BF:BC2
     
  12. memnoch

    memnoch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    518
    Location:
    Sydnet
    1920x1200 high or medium detail (looks good and loads quick enough for me)... works fine, no frame rate issues.
     
  13. Deliverancexx

    Deliverancexx (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,097
    Location:
    3121 VIC
    +1 on a stock Q6600 with a 5770, no issues at all, same for COD:BO
     
  14. hellaflush

    hellaflush Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,151
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Did you not see me say C2D?
     
  15. Luke212

    Luke212 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10,277
    Location:
    Sydney
    haha this is a common myth. people think nm latency affects snappiness. it goes back at least to athlon 64s

    is misattributation basically.
     
  16. Rubberband

    Rubberband Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,756
    Location:
    Doreen, 3754
    You obviously only saw misconfigured C2Ds. Mine runs at max settings on an 8400 @ 3.6 with a 6870 ;)
     
  17. hellaflush

    hellaflush Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,151
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Have a read around... Bc2 is coded for quad core and multi threaded CPUs... I got a good 60% increase in frames moving from my C2D
     
  18. Rubberband

    Rubberband Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,756
    Location:
    Doreen, 3754
    That doesn't mean a C2D can't do the job, which is what you implied :)

    60%??? Come on, you don't get that sort of increase doubling just the cores. Some of that would of been improved architecture, faster ram etc.
     
  19. hellaflush

    hellaflush Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,151
    Location:
    Brisbane
  20. Rubberband

    Rubberband Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,756
    Location:
    Doreen, 3754

Share This Page

Advertisement: