Why am I only get 22.1MB/s transfer speed? (FreeNAS + HP Microserver)

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by -Sk3tChY-, Sep 7, 2011.

  1. Mudg3

    Mudg3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Well i've just bought a intel CT NIC which I was going to get anyway so I'll give that a go.
     
  2. draco76

    draco76 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    hi all.. sorry for this stupid questions but how do you test read/write speed over LAN between windown and ubuntu machine? is it just straight copy from win explorer or do you use any special command/software? thanks.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    -Sk3tChY-

    -Sk3tChY- Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,950
    Location:
    NSW, In a house.
    There's probably no doubt some utilities/programs you can use that may provide you with more verbose/accurate information, but in most cases a simple drop and drag and using Windows Explorer to monitor speed is accurate enough.

    When the files are transferring just click on more details and it will show you the speed everything is transferring at.
     
  4. aokman

    aokman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    12,619
    Location:
    Melbourne
    yes not more headaches until something goes wrong lol... i quiver every time i see windows looking after decent sized arrays.

    im betting its a combination of green drives with 4kb clusters and/or abysmal memory capacity. You should have 4gb at least for consistent performance in ZFS - 8GB is my choice. There is nothing wrong with freeNAS/ZFS itself more people who expect it to run on tiny servers with no resources and green hdd's.

    For comparison im running 4 boxes now 2 freenas 2 solaris 11 and both max their gigabit connections at 100-110mb/s with some zfs tweaks though solaris is usually a bit better daily. I did have issues with WD green drives but once they were ditched with Hitachis all was well.

    If you want to test true network speed use FTP only and if using gigabit try to set MTU 9000 if supported for Jumbo Packets. Intel CT 1000's definitely support it but switches need to also.

    If your using 8gb ram pm me for some ZFS tweak settings also :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2011
  5. Mudg3

    Mudg3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Just for a test because I will be selling my N36L shorly I threw in my new Intel CT NIC to see how it would operate. I get 80-100MBS when I go back to the realtech nic in Free nas its back down to 10-30MBS.

    Hope that helps anyone else later down the track.

    These are on Green Drives also.
     
  6. m0n4g3

    m0n4g3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3,640
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    With SAMBA shares i've found that if you edit your fstab folder, and put in noatime into your array's mount point it can help HEAPS.

    i was getting approx 50mb/s with SMB, put that option in and it shot up to 100-110.

    There are also some settings you can tweak within samba but i can't remember them off the top of my head.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    -Sk3tChY-

    -Sk3tChY- Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,950
    Location:
    NSW, In a house.
    Well Hyrax1 helped me set up the box and I vaguely remember him setting noatime on the array, where/what should I be looking for in the fstab folder to confirm?
     
  8. m0n4g3

    m0n4g3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3,640
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    try

    Code:
    sudo nano /etc/fstab
    use arrow keys to scroll down to the line that mounts the raid array and ensure noatime is somewhere in that line under the options section
     
  9. [KEi]SoVeReIgN

    [KEi]SoVeReIgN Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8,200
    Location:
    Sydney
    Pretty sure that's all freenas can muster with ZFS - Much harder to write to the raid than to read from it.
     
  10. aokman

    aokman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    12,619
    Location:
    Melbourne
    It can easily do over 100MB/s ive seen 300+ internally
     
  11. cacaw

    cacaw Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Australia
    To isolate any issues at the network stack, use iperf, a tool available in all OS;

    Does not matter which one is the server/client, since you are on a LAN.

    http://openmaniak.com/iperf.php
     
  12. OP
    OP
    -Sk3tChY-

    -Sk3tChY- Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,950
    Location:
    NSW, In a house.
    Code:
    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # Use 'blkid -o value -s UUID' to print the universally unique identifier
    # for a device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name
    # devices that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
    #
    # <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
    proc            /proc           proc    nodev,noexec,nosuid 0       0
    /dev/mapper/Array-Root /               ext4    noatime,errors=remount-ro 0     $
    /dev/mapper/Array-Home /home           ext4    noatime         0       2
    /dev/mapper/Array-Swap none            swap    sw              0       0
    That's how my fstab file looks.

    Not sure what error=remount-ro means, but it looks like there's noatime on both volumes.

    I recently transferred a substantial amount of data to the box via normal windows transfer (drop and drag) to a SAMBA share and the transfer speeds were pretty miserable at about 20-40MB/s. :thumbdn:

    When I first start the transfer it starts off at about 60-70MB/s or something, but then quickly slows down to about 30-40MB/s, from there it can get as low as 20MB/s depending on the type of files being transferred.

    I've heard people get great speeds with WHS 2011, but I really want a solid, reliable, flexible array and mdadm + linux is probably the best option.

    I'll give it a try and report back.
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2011
  13. aokman

    aokman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    12,619
    Location:
    Melbourne
    - Set network MTU to 9000 if supported
    - Optimize ZFS configuration
    - Update freeNAS version (they are up to build 7903 now)

    Here are my ZFS settings for a 8GB ram setup (DONT use them if you dont have 8GB or more ram...)

    vm.kmem_size="7168M"
    vfs.zfs.arc_min="3584M"
    vfs.zfs.arc_max="3584M"
    vfs.zfs.prefetch_disable="0"
    vfs.zfs.txg.timeout="5"
    vfs.zfs.vdev.max_pending="10"
    vfs.zfs.vdev.min_pending="4"

    No sure what you can do on the Samba front as i hate it completely...i use FTP for all my transfers and SMB or AFP only for viewing media.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: