Why are AMD FX CPU's holding value?

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Gonadman2, Feb 23, 2018.

  1. Gonadman2

    Gonadman2 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,246
    Location:
    Perth
    I generally use gear that is a couple of generations old in my HTPC as that's all it deserves. Since Ryzen was released I was really hoping that the AM3+ CPU's (8350, 8120, 6100 etc) would have fallen in price to well below base Ryzen pricing, but this doesn't appear to have happened. Looking at CPU comparison websites, even a 2200G wipes the floor with an FX-8350, yet they're around 1.5-2x the price second hand.

    Am I missing something? Starting to consider turfing all of my AM3 gear as Ryzen appears to be much better value compared to second hand last gen.
     
  2. Commie_Mike

    Commie_Mike Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    4,058
    Location:
    SA
    I guess people see '8-core' and assume it must be good, plus DDR3 costs peanuts compared to DDR4 at the moment. I'd still just drop the extra $ for current gen, better performance and save money in the long run with the CPU drawing half the amount of power.
     
    Gonadman2 likes this.
  3. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,723
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
  4. Imitation

    Imitation Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,863
    I was looking at an ugprade for my AM3+. Can't justify an 8320/8350 or a high end Phenom II X6. I'd expect to pay $20-30 for a 8-9 year old CPU but they're charging $100+

    Like you said a 2200G is faster than a 8350.. even Ryzen 3 1200 is faster than an overclocked 8350. Even if I maxed out my AM3+ I still wouldn't be happy so time for a full upgrade.

    Cooler and less power hungry and I don't have to worry about buying a 125w CPU and then the motherboard dying a month later.
     
  5. ipv6ready

    ipv6ready Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,763
    Location:
    North Sydney
    with popular old generation sometimes a period develop where prices don’t make sense for cpu, new or secondhand.

    For example people who already have am3+ board and ram but needing a cpu boost they will pay premium.
    Much like someone with ivy / haswell motherboard, ddr3 and a i3 would pay a premium i7 ivy/haswell chip.
    And if they have spare ram slots and they can buy cheap 2 x4gb ddr3.

    Much cheaper than CPU, Motherboard, RAM and potentially an OS upgrade as well.
     
  6. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,219
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
    They are too unpopular so there aren't that many second hand. Honestly I would get away from am3 asap, just a terrible CPU all round.
     
    Gonadman2 and ipv6ready like this.
  7. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    16,472
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Especially with current ram prices. I'm still on my 965 with 16gb of ram. Started looking on ebay for a 6 core as some of the games I play likes 6 threads apparently.
     
  8. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,219
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
    If you need cores get x58.
     
  9. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    16,472
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I have no wish to switch platforms at current ram prices. This is just a gaming boxen @1080p. AM3+ is fine for the games that I am running atm (fortnite, frostpunk soonish).
     
  10. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,219
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
    X58 uses your current ram
     
  11. OP
    OP
    Gonadman2

    Gonadman2 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,246
    Location:
    Perth
    I decided to turf it all and get a Mecool M8S Pro Android TV box instead. As others alluded, AM3 just isn't worth the money. I did build an Ubuntu server from the spare parts and a little Athlon II CPU I had lying around. Chuggs along very nicely serving files and and TV streams at 65W TDP.
     
  12. mixsetup

    mixsetup Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,924
    Location:
    Cairns,QLD
    Same as a decent 990FX board. I still use my FX9590 thought the boards would drop in price but they haven't
     
  13. Hotrod2go

    Hotrod2go Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    Tas
    FX-6200 "out of stock" at MSY today... $179!
    Link
    FX-6300 - $109
    Link
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: