1. Win some Crucial goodies in OCAU's Christmas Treasure Hunt!
    Dismiss Notice

Why is it...

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by ibace, Nov 23, 2018.

  1. ibace

    ibace Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Bathurst NSW...
    that my Xeon X5650 shows up as only 6 core/6 thread when running in Cinebench [latest version]? Should it not show as 6 core/12 thread?
     
  2. im late

    im late Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,362
    Location:
    Canning Vale WA 6155
    Can you see all the logical processors in the "performance tab" of "task manager" (you have to change graph from overall utilization to logical processors)?

    Let's start seeing if Windows can see the threads, before we see if an app can see them..
     

    Attached Files:

  3. ae00711

    ae00711 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,249
    is HT (hyperthreading) enabled in BIOS?
     
  4. OP
    OP
    ibace

    ibace Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Bathurst NSW...
    Yes, hyperthreading is BIOS enabled...im late; followed your lead, couple of pics here; https://imgur.com/a/ruwXL7F

    Am flummoxed why there is no correct recognition of the CPU..it is a Xeon QE1X, reports vary from Genuine Intel (R) CPU @ 2200 GHz in Task Manager; Intel Xeon E5-2660 v2 in Corsair Link software, Intel Xeon 2200 in HWiNFO, AIDA 64 reports HexaCore Intel Xeon, 2200 MHz (22 x 100), Cinebench reports genuine Intel CPU 6 Cores/12threads, CPU-Z says the same as shown in my screenshot compared next to the CPU_World screenshot of the QE1X in the attached pictures...

    Just I'd really like to know what exact CPU it is, so that I can consider whether to upgrade...or not.
     
  5. ae00711

    ae00711 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,249

Share This Page