Widescreen LCD squashes graphics

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Joe 98, Feb 21, 2007.

  1. Joe 98

    Joe 98 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    495
    I asked on various forms about widesceren LCDs. My major fear is that everything would look squashed and stretched.

    "It won't happen".


    Every graphic is squashed and strectched. I should have bought a square shaped LCD monitor.

    What action should I take?

    -
     
  2. theicemagic

    theicemagic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    3,944
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    It depends if you're running an old video card that simply doesn't support it, or a newer one.
    Generally there shouldn't be a problem eitherway, with new drivers. Download the latest drivers. If that fails, you can build a custom display profile... I can't remember how, but they're out there.

    Note that some games don't work natively with wide screen, rather 16:10 format.
     
  3. neon_87

    neon_87 RIP

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,756
    Location:
    Melbourne
    you'll need to install the drivers that came with the screen, reboot, and then select the screens native resolution from the display panel.
     
  4. Wet Sandwich

    Wet Sandwich Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,571
    Location:
    Melbourne suburb near you
    What monitor?

    What graphics card?

    My widescreen is not stretched. There are some games which don't support widescreen, but 9/10 do.
     
  5. YoSiMeTe_SaM

    YoSiMeTe_SaM Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,038
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Go here mate and every thing you need to know is there.As for stretching and the likes now it does not do it.

    http://www.widescreengamer.com/articles/widescreen_gaming_how_to_set_up_your_video_card.html

    Cheers Sammy :thumbup:
     
  6. TOX

    TOX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    14,209
    Location:
    Xindian City, Taipei
    A square shaped LCD would look really wierd 1:1 monitor...hmmm
     
  7. YoSiMeTe_SaM

    YoSiMeTe_SaM Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,038
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    If they do not support it you just hack the shorcut and it works :)

    This is mine for BF2 playing & 1680 X 1050 :D

    "C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\Battlefield 2\BF2.exe" +menu 1 +Widescreen1 +szx 1680+szy 1050

    It works fine and i have all the eye candy turned up to full love it.Widescreen gaming is the only way to go. My monitor is a Samsung Syncmaster 225 BW

    Cheers Sammy :thumbup:
     
  8. TOX

    TOX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    14,209
    Location:
    Xindian City, Taipei
    I was

    There are no square monitors they are 4:3 so are technically a rectangal I spose
     
  9. DeNs

    DeNs Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Not just technically; If they were 1:1 then it wouldn't be 1280x1024 for 17"/19" LCDs.. it'd be 1280x1280. Could be interesting for some stuff, but yeah... don't know how people missed that :lol:

    ---dens
     
  10. sanjay

    sanjay Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    15,780
    Location:
    Maribyrnong, Melbourne
    try setting your monitor to the right resolution? :rolleyes:

    when i plugged in my CMV for the first time, the settings menu under display properties changed automatically to accomodate for the extra resolution setting.
     
  11. master phi

    master phi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,403
    does my system look like yours?
    http://img479.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dsc00147lu5.jpg

    bwhahahah :D
    nah I think you need to check your scaling
    use nvidia scaling if you are using nvidia
    if you don't like that try the fixed aspect scaling
    just don't use the monitor's scaling and you will be fine :D
     
  12. Bert

    Bert Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,456
    Location:
    Brisvegas
    Have you tried setting the correct resolution in windows for your monitor?
     
  13. TOX

    TOX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    14,209
    Location:
    Xindian City, Taipei
  14. YoSiMeTe_SaM

    YoSiMeTe_SaM Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,038
    Location:
    Gold Coast
  15. TOX

    TOX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    14,209
    Location:
    Xindian City, Taipei
    I know :) thats kinda where I was going with it *hands him tissue*
     
  16. OP
    OP
    Joe 98

    Joe 98 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    495
    The monitor is a Dell E228WFP

    In the options there is no option to amend the aspect ratio.

    As a result some software looks squashed and stretched.

    -
     
  17. neon_87

    neon_87 RIP

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,756
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Some software? Is the desktop stretched? If the desktop isnt stretched, then its software/game specific. Can you provide pics?
     
  18. Kaine[zof]

    Kaine[zof] Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,179
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Joe you're not giving enough information here. It honestly sounds like you've just plugged your new monitor in, done absolutely zero configuration, turned your brain off and come to bitch about your ignorance on a public forum. these are the things we need to know:

    What resolution are you running at? (What does it say under the slider on the last tab of your Display Properties?)

    What applications appear stretched? is it just games or is everything on the desktop stretched?

    Those flexing their e-wangs, go do it somewhere else. If you're not trying to help you're only making it harder for everyone else to.
     
  19. OP
    OP
    Joe 98

    Joe 98 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    495
    The resolution of the desktop is setr to the same as the native resolution of the monitor.


    Business software is just fine. Some games are squashed and stretched.

    Their namers are:

    Battles in Italy
    Battles in Normandy
    Battlefront.

    ON the developers web site they say it should word just fine. They can't help with this monitor. Thats why I came here.
     
  20. bigbud120

    bigbud120 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    371
    Location:
    SE QLD
    The aspect ratio of the "regular" LCDs is 5:4 (1280x1024).
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: