1. Check out OCAU's review of the SpaceX Starlink satellite internet service!
    Dismiss Notice

Will a Celeron 500mhz reach 1ghz OC?

Discussion in 'Newbie Lounge' started by BIOS, Mar 1, 2004.

  1. BIOS

    BIOS Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Good old Aussie!
    Hi guys
    I just wanted to know if my old celeron 500mhz could be overclocked to 1ghz. Its multiplyer is locked so the highest I can go by raising the multiplyer is 800mhz. Could it go any higher and should I bother to get extra cooling and how. (I am using the stock hsf and its is a socket 370 celeron)
    Cheers Andrew
     
  2. SLATYE

    SLATYE SLATYE, not SLAYTE

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    26,858
    Location:
    Canberra
    I think it'd be extremely unlikely for it to reach that overclock. The C533 and before were all based on the old PII core, which doesn't go too far - many reached about 550Mhz in the end.

    Since there's no way to unlock the multiplier, the only way to get it to 1Ghz would be to get a mainboard that supports a 133Mhz FSB. However, even then, I really don't think the chip would make it that far.
     
  3. looktall

    looktall Working Class Doughnut

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    26,643
    you'll be lucky to get it to 600mhz.
    the medocino core celerons stopped at 533mhz and didn't overclock much beyond that.
    as with all cpu's, some people had good luck and got reasonably good oc's out of them, but you shouldn't expect much.
     
  4. AlanC

    AlanC Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Whats you are asking is impossible. But with luck u might see the boot up screen.
     
  5. Brodieman

    Brodieman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,988
    Location:
    End-World
    BIOS, mate, if you're going to keep ramping up that celly speed then the only cooling deicide you'll want will be a CO2 based fire extinguisher ;)
     
  6. OP
    OP
    BIOS

    BIOS Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Good old Aussie!
    Thanx guys for that info I don't think i will bother now
     
  7. ShaneHm2

    ShaneHm2 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,619
    this person managed to get theirs to 583 on stock cooling :D and voltage 2.0v (if thats the correct voltage for dat cpu)
     
  8. FNQer

    FNQer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,124
    Location:
    Sydney
    I assume that it is a Mendico-core Celery 500 which has a locked internal multiplier 7.5, running at 66 MHz Front Side Bus.

    If the FSB setting can be adjusted to 100 MHz then you would get 750 MHz processing power. As an earlier post stated, to get to the 1 GHz mark, you would have to raise the FSB to 133 MHz.

    The Mendico-core Celery 500 haven't got much of a overclocking reputation. The Coppermine-core Celery 566 would (most likely) be able to do 850 MHz quite easily and may be able to get to that 1 GHz mark.

    Yep. Don't bother.
     
  9. fester2001

    fester2001 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,439
    Location:
    Tasmania. Fences:62
    well if you change your mind make sure you have a video camea close by cause i have alwasy wanted to see a cpu melting:lol:
     
  10. jasonung

    jasonung (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,864
    Location:
    Mounties
    well if you want to know approx your cpu can o/c to, search in the pcdb and see if there if a pattern/trend in the overclocks...

    will my celeron 500mhz reach 1ghz?
    search showed
    Intel Celeron Single CPU Socket 370 (PPGA) 500 583
    500mhz o/c to 583...so yeah it would help alot if you search...you wouldn't have need to ask this question..hehe...

    :thumbup:
     
  11. looktall

    looktall Working Class Doughnut

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    26,643
    with the exception of the 300A. :D
    that is an overclocking legend.
    a 50% overclock was virtually unheard of back then and still quite a feat today.
     
  12. SLATYE

    SLATYE SLATYE, not SLAYTE

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    26,858
    Location:
    Canberra
    Are there any CPUs today that can manage that sort of overclock without (at the very least) some huge air-cooling?

    The XP2500+ (AMD's top overclocker) would have to reach 2750Mhz (250Mhz FSB), and the P4 2.8 would need 4.2Ghz (300Mhz FSB). As far as I know, both of those are well out of the range of any current CPU (except the Mobile-Athlons).
     
  13. fo3

    fo3 (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,968
    My 466 ran fine at 581mhz (83fsb, stock volts). Would not post at 100fsb, posted but crashed at 90fsb, not matter how much cooling and voltage I gave it)
    Any of the 533A and above cele's work fine at 100fsb giving a huge decent o/c straight at of the box at stock volts and a half decent hsf. Even then you'd need a at least 600 or higher to get to 1ghz
     
  14. xplod140

    xplod140 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,662
    Location:
    Melbun
    My old cele 500 would max out at 563Mhz. Went for about 18months no probs at all, but try to get any faster and it would just crash lots, was running an abit ZM6.
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2004
  15. Brodieman

    Brodieman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,988
    Location:
    End-World
    My beautiful XP 1700+ can hit 2100MHz or there abouts from it's stock 1433Mhz. It's only about a 40% increase, but it's a nice increase to have. Air cooled by a Volcano 7+.
     
  16. ACodingFettish

    ACodingFettish Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    6,652
    Location:
    Brisbane
    i hvae a 1700xp and i tried overclocking it, but as soon as I overclocked it past 1500 windows wouldnt load...

    whats up with that?
     
  17. SLATYE

    SLATYE SLATYE, not SLAYTE

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    26,858
    Location:
    Canberra
    There are three possibilities:
    (1) Mainboard - if the mainboard was only deigned for a 133Mhz FSB, and you're overclocking with the FSB, it might have just reached it's limits. You may also have reached the limits of the PCI bus if it's not locked.

    (2) RAM - as with the mainboard, if it wasn't designed for anything over a 133Mhz FSB (DDR266/PC2100) then it may be causing problems.

    (3) CPU - if it's an old Palomino, then you won't have much luck with overclocking. It may also need a bit more voltage or better cooling to go higher.
     
  18. ACodingFettish

    ACodingFettish Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    6,652
    Location:
    Brisbane
    haha just checked it out, and its all 3 of those. I have a 133mb fsb mobo, ddr 266 ram, and a palomino 1700xp lol

    it has something called red storm overclocking in the bios, but when i run it it gets to 153mhz and it freezes.
     
  19. fo3

    fo3 (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,968
    I have a palo 1700+, old asus a7v133 and old generic sdram and it gets to 1650 (pretty much xp2000+ speed) easy, I seriously havent bothered trying its max due to it being hot all the time in here (4 PC's running), and I dont like to overclock my pci bus too much and lose any data on the hdd. Guess they dont build them how they used to :p
    Seriously, I have a msi via 266 board, with an xp2000+ palo and 2100 crucial ram and it doesnt get over a 100fsb overclock either. Some boards and cpus are better than others at overclocking, also you have to raise the voltage a bit, (which the asus 133 has to be just to run the xp chip)

    late edit: a xp1700+ at 150fsb would be 1650 not 1500mhz. Thats what I have mine at, how could you only get 1500mhz when your running near 150mhz?
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2004
  20. Brodieman

    Brodieman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,988
    Location:
    End-World
    Thoroughbred 1700+ XP core, Volcano 7+ aircooling and probably most importantly an Asus A7V333 - a brilliant overclocking motherboard.

    Core voltage is at 1.75 i think (don't want to restart and see where it's at just now).

    My RAM is generic PC 2100 (266) but it actually can sit stable at higher speeds (333/ pc 2700) no problems.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: