1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Win 10 install - Old HP-DC7800

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by elcarter1, Aug 6, 2017.

  1. elcarter1

    elcarter1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    819
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Howdy,

    I'm out of idea's. Have 2 of these old core 2 duo machines and I can't seem to get the Hdd in a state that win 10 is happy to start an install.

    Error below.


    Click to view full size!


    I've tried a few Hdd's. Formatted under cmd prompt, cleaned, and tried as may bios settings with no change.

    I'm installing from EDIT (A usb 2 TB HDD Seagate booted from boot menu with Win 10 32 and 64 prepared via Microsoft media creation tool) a ms prepared bootable medium hdd. Tried both 64 and 32 bit win 10 home.

    I think is a bios setting that's protecting the hdd but I can't seem to find one that will change the fault.

    Model # is HP DC7800 - PT#AUD83705x5. Can't find any mb identifier info.
    Core 2 duo E6750

    Any idea where I should be looking?
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2017
  2. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,242
    Location:
    Adelaide
    try installing from a USB stick?
     
  3. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    9,579
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    I was taking OP to mean he was using a USB, and "bootable medium hdd" was a typo.

    I was going to say the opposite and suggest using a DVD. I've seen similar issues in old machines, which wouldn't install from USB but blamed the drive.

    Using a DVD in a USB drive fixed those.. go figure :confused:
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2017
  4. Evojnr

    Evojnr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    It might be because secure boot is not a feature on this board.
    Or the CPU is not a 64bit enabled processor. - EDIT: E6750 is 64bit enabled. I used to have one and had Vista 64bit on it.
    Not sure but can correct me if I'm wrong.
     
  5. myf360f1

    myf360f1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    618
    Location:
    Turn left at Siberia
    Make sure you clear the bios and set it up from default.

    Try another medium, as these units can be picky about how they load.

    Like the previous poster try a DVD or use another bootable usb.

    They will load but its a bit of trial and error. :thumbup:
     
  6. ideas_man69

    ideas_man69 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,403
    Location:
    Melb
    that's the same message i used to get on my dell t3600. wouldn't install windows 10 in BIOS mode no matter what - had to switch to UEFI mode. never figured it out
     
  7. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,766
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    You need to reinitialize the disk from diskpart before continuing.
    What it boils down to is that you need to be in either MBR or GPT depending on how your install media is created, and you're initialized in the wrong one.
     
  8. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,242
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I usually assume people actually type what they mean...
    if he's using a USB stick then he should say so..
    If it's some sort of USB HDD then he should say so (as he has)

    So if he can't even tell us what he's using properly, how can we help him?
     
  9. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    9,579
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    "I'm installing from a ms prepared bootable medium hdd. Tried both 64 and 32 bit win 10 home."

    Since its 'ms prepared', I can only take that to mean an original install medium. That makes it a DVD or a USB stick. Have you ever heard of ms supplying a windows install on a HDD?

    An educated guess would suggest he means a USB, because who refers to DVD as anything more than just discs these days?

    Its just a typo or brainfart, I doubt anyone else was confused or bothered by obvious typos. It would be handy if OP verifies that it is indeed a USB stick, and not a DVD, that he is referring to though, I suspect we are all operating on the assumption that he is using USB.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    elcarter1

    elcarter1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    819
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Wow this thread turned around.

    Thanks for those that have shared some advice. Preparing a 64 bit dvd iso to have a crack at that.

    For those few that seem to want be, lets say combative.

    Its a usb hdd. That is formated as a boot drive by Microsoft's media creation tool.

    The dvd iso ive prepared is white and circular.

    Hdd is a segate, black and was purchased with aud.
     
  11. Smokin Whale

    Smokin Whale Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,182
    Location:
    Pacific Ocean off SC
    For what it's worth, I've installed Windows 10 onto several DC7800s without issue. That said, I never install from USB or DVD, I have a special system of imaging that does that for me. If you continue to have no luck, try installing Windows 10 on another PC, let it run all updates, then move the drive into your DC7800. It'll probably work.
     
  12. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,242
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Like i said.... i assumed he said what he meant.. :)

    OP really should try a USB stick..
    Though DVD will probably work better..
     
  13. looktall

    looktall Working Class Doughnut

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    26,170
    that wouldn't happen to be the drive you're trying to install to would it?

    depending on the specification of the USB drive, the windows installer may be seeing it as a physical drive.
    this can cause all sorts of issues when it comes time to do the installation.

    if you want use removable media, should always make sure it is viewed as a removable disk.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    elcarter1

    elcarter1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    819
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Appears the dvd had done the trick on #1 machine.

    Thanks for the help. They are destined to a few lads still on P4's I'm sure they will be happy.
     
  15. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,766
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    Is your current PC UEFI? If so, the media creation tool would've made the USB for a UEFI enabled PC (The USB stick will be formatted in FAT32 if you want to check). That means it won't work on boards in CSM/BIOS mode.

    You can use Rufus instead and choose whether you want the installer USB to be UEFI or BIOS compatible.
     
  16. Smokin Whale

    Smokin Whale Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,182
    Location:
    Pacific Ocean off SC
    The DC7800's do not support UEFI...
     
  17. ShadowBurger

    ShadowBurger Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,985
    Location:
    Melbourne
    as has been said, if possible, run the install on another machine then after the initial copy and reboot, interrupt it and move the drive back

    Another thing you can try is doing a diskpart 'clean' on your USB HDD and formatting a 4GB partition as fat32 for your windows installer.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: