[WIN10] Windows 10 Free Upgrade: Will you or wont you?

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by CSI Guy, Jul 2, 2015.

  1. the scotsman

    the scotsman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,411
    Location:
    NSW South Coast
    I'm using MediaPortal (1) for my HTPC to replace WMC and Emby.
     
  2. BurningFeetMan

    BurningFeetMan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,293
    Location:
    Veg City
    WMC is great for digital TV playback, recording & saving. Apart from the initial channel tune, it works out of the box. Other 3rd party solutions... well, that's 1-2 hours reading up and learning what's out there, another couple of hours trying and comparing a couple of the popular solutions... Some people simply can't be bothered. I tried Kodi, got it half working in the time I played with it, but I couldn't get it to fully work thus I went back to Windows Media Center.
     
  3. Grom Hellscream

    Grom Hellscream Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,389
    Location:
    Up in the boonies
    Pretty much this. I tried Media Portal, spent a couple of hours fiddling with it, didn't work as well out of the box as Media Center, I decided it was too much effort and went back to MC.
     
  4. Shepete

    Shepete Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,222
    Location:
    Bendigo
    So I am not the only one!:shock:
    Why is it so hard to come up with a program like MC? And why the hell did MS drop it?
     
  5. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,723
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    oh no I love media centre for tv
    nothing else but tv it is soooo easy and works well.

    I'm in the process of setting up media portal now, it has found the dual card and scanning channels and we will see how that goes.
     
  6. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,455
    Its good for live TV like everyone says, but the lack of any ability to scan a media library of rips or integration into other services = DOA aside from a few plugins. I ran mediabrowser for a few years before XBMC/kodi, it worked but it crashed like all buggery.

    I'm just a bit confused as who would bother running a media PC for live TV :)
    Esp. as most TVs now have basic 'smart' functions covered - my 3 year old unit will merrily record/timeshift live TV to a USB stick, for example.
     
  7. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,723
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    yeah but my 10 year old conia doesn't :)

    and media portal was a bit of a wash got it find the tuner set it up and scan all the channels then it would play them so pfffffft to that I'm looking for a way of bring media centre back.

    or I,ll leave old faithful the way it is
     
  8. Kow

    Kow Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2001
    Messages:
    4,790
    Location:
    Redlands, Bris QLD
    Apparently for the "something happened" error you can change your region back to the USA and it works OR try to get the media creation tool and make an iso. Both times i just get to progress 0%. Then it just does nothing.
     
  9. grrrr

    grrrr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,067
    Location:
    Cornubia
    did u change the registry key that allows the osupgrade ?
     
  10. grrrr

    grrrr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,067
    Location:
    Cornubia
  11. OP
    OP
    CSI Guy

    CSI Guy Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Adelaide
    OK, so this is strange...:Paranoid:

    From the 29th to today just now, I have had 1 Blue Screen of DeathTM every day, soon after I boot up my Win7 Desktop.

    Nothing wrong before the 29th though.

    As Arsenio Hall would say:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2015
  12. Silenius

    Silenius Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    823
    The amount of data microsoft collects from users seems too sketchy. There's a reason why they can give away the OS for free. I'm not upgrading until I do more research, possibly not upgrading at all and just switching to Linux or OSX once 8.1 goes EOL
     
  13. ipv6ready

    ipv6ready Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,739
    Location:
    North Sydney
    Hi I already downloaded the media and made a usb stick.

    I was wondering how long does take to upgrade, from hitting setup to complete?
     
  14. the scotsman

    the scotsman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,411
    Location:
    NSW South Coast
    This post suits your avatar :)
     
  15. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,723
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    they all do it
    install android app want access to your spleen
    look at an iPhone it steals your soul
    facebook...hell don't know where to start

    don't want people looking pick up a book and a carrier Pidgeon.

    plus the majority of it I turn off anyway so ...yeah...

    next
     
  16. grrrr

    grrrr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,067
    Location:
    Cornubia
    I did the upgrade on an SSD and it took about 30mins maybe less. I wasn't timing it but I sat and watched it so it must have been pretty quick.
     
  17. Silenius

    Silenius Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    823
    There are ways around it w phone apps. At worst, not installing them in the first place, lol. Less so with a desktop OS. Going to be difficult or impossible to plug all the leaks. The ones that MS doesn't let you disable will need registry tweaks and even then, you're not sure if you're grabbing your ankles or not.

    MS have made w10 free and done a Google - namely, switched the product up from being their OS, to being the users of the OS and their data, to sell to advertisers.
     
  18. chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    112,346
    Location:
    Tokyo_Munich
    Same here, definitely not longer than 30 minutes. But I think it's not faster installing than W8.
     
  19. grrrr

    grrrr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,067
    Location:
    Cornubia
    At the other end of the spectrum... One of the guys from work has an older computer (Windows 8.? with 2gig of ram), and he didn't have enough HDD space to do the upgrade so it asked him to plug in an external USB HDD (USB2)

    It took 10hrs.

    LOL

    I said "WOW! Bugger - should have copied all your stuff off the HDD and made enough room first. Might have only taken 3.5hrs then."


    SSD FTW
     
  20. PabloEscobar

    PabloEscobar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,307
    Do you have a smart phone?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: