1. Check out OCAU's review of the SpaceX Starlink satellite internet service!
    Dismiss Notice

[WIN10] Windows 10 Mega thread

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by MR CHILLED, Jan 15, 2014.

  1. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    159,615
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Would love to be able to get that working. I have a dual boot and I think somehow it got confused with multiple logins or something.....and now I have to choose each time I login. Tried everything to get rid of it, no luck. I'm sure next time I do a refresh without dual boot it will be fine.
     
  2. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,074
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    hmmm...i checked the event viewer after it happened and the GPU driver kept crashing and recovering until i pressed the power button to do a hard shut down...very odd any annoying. now that my laptop is exclusively running on the dedicated GPU (GTX 980M) I shouldn't have issues with the intel GPU getting in my way.
     
  3. pantner

    pantner Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2,249
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    i don't think so.

    i don't have a home version to check to confirm.

    this page is very helpful

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_10_editions
     
  4. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    67,055
    Location:
    brisbane
    You'd hope not, 7 Home Premium had Windows Backup in it.
     
  5. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,074
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    gonna give macrium reflect a try and do a back up of my 8.1 install before trying win 10.
     
  6. glenpinn

    glenpinn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6,588
    EaseUS Todo is also a great free imaging/backup tool as well, been using it to create System Images to pbd file for over 1 year, after using Macrium for several prior.

    I just prefer how EaseUS does it over Macrium, to me its easier to use.

    Cheers
     
  7. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,723
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    if you like easus you will also like aoomie backuper
    it seems to use the *same* engine as easus just quicker and more features for free.
    even has pxe boot for up to 2 devices...very handy little feature :)
     
  8. philscomputerlab

    philscomputerlab Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,843
    I must have missed the memo, but one of my Windows 10 machines is doing a massive updater. It feels like it's re-installing Windows :confused:

    Any ideas?
     
  9. pantner

    pantner Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2,249
    Location:
    Perth, WA
  10. philscomputerlab

    philscomputerlab Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,843
  11. glenpinn

    glenpinn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6,588
  12. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,074
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    Oh good, so if I like it I can just punch in my win 7 key.
     
  13. FLB

    FLB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,580
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Yes. What you downloaded through the media creation tool is TH2, same build.

    Although with cumulative updates we are now up to build 10586.17
     
  14. GDavid

    GDavid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,582
    Location:
    ADL
    The new music app is pretty clunk. :thumbdn:
     
  15. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,074
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    what the fuck? why is the local account set as the main account when i have an MS account? i am trying to set up as task but i want to change the task author.
     
  16. Sankari

    Sankari Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    31,671
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    Installed the big update today. I now have Cortana!

    Not sure if it's useful yet.

    :Paranoid:
     
  17. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    67,055
    Location:
    brisbane
    Sure it is!

     
  18. dcyloo

    dcyloo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5,062
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Was receiving a bunch of DPC_Watchdog_Violation errors coming into the PC.

    Got tired of waiting for the update to happen so downloaded the ISO and kicked it off last night.

    Winver shows me that I'm now at release 1511. This is Threshold 2's version? What do you do to detail of that build number 10586.17?
     
  19. FLB

    FLB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,580
    Location:
    Adelaide
    At a run dialog box type winver

    Version 1511 is th2 (10586).
     
  20. Will S

    Will S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,748
    Location:
    Coniston (Wollongong)
    Iasked for sex and she said no so definitely not useful...smart, but useful
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: