[WIN10] Windows 10 Mega thread

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by MR CHILLED, Jan 15, 2014.

  1. Revenger

    Revenger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,223
    Location:
    Armadale / Perth
    Look through my thread in this forum for some things.
    It can use a update if someone is interesting helping to update the thread with new and changed info.

    As for windows just go through the settings in the UWP app as theirs a few hidden things in there like start suggestions and a couple others to turn off.
    Try out the latest stuff mixed reality viewer etc.

    As stated newer systems aren't supported on older os's obviously so good you went Win 10.

    You don't need a Microsoft account as such unless you want connectivity, you can have local and link apps to the account separately which is what I do.

    Also for those that upgraded do a disk cleanup if you want I saved 20GB each device doing so my 2 in 1 only had 9.8gb free after the update now about 20GB free etc.
     
  2. GoneFishin22

    GoneFishin22 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    0
    I'll try and help but let's await till we port to the new forum DB?
     
  3. Revenger

    Revenger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,223
    Location:
    Armadale / Perth
    For sure that's what I was thinking.

    Also a good tip is to leave your system idle after a update as windows will cache, compress etc various files and do HDD maintenance, defrag and optimisations that only occurs when the system is left idle.

    Some people hate leaving there systems idle then wonder why windows loads slow and is generally sluggish for a while after turning there PC on.
    I've redone peoples neighbours systems where I had to leave them for a couple hours or more to get this windows idle processing stuff out of the way as it starts as soon I turn their PC on before I start doing anything to their PC.
    Especially needed for atom, cheery or other lower powered systems two in ones etc.
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2017
  4. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    34,973
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    I think the FCU deleted the power saver and high performance power plans.
     
  5. ChinoPD

    ChinoPD Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    13,092
    Location:
    Canberra
    My high performance plans are there.
     
    ni9ht_5ta1k3r likes this.
  6. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    34,973
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    odd...probably because I'm on a laptop maybe? I've had to make a custom High Performance power plan and go into CMD to swap the GUIDs so windows defaults to HP as the "recommended" power plan.

    the silver lining is that I never use power saver so I don't know why it's getting removed. I might do a full OS reinstall between xmas and the new year.
     
  7. GoneFishin22

    GoneFishin22 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    0
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2017
    MR CHILLED likes this.
  8. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,504
    obscure Q - I shotgunned my settings with shutup10. Its great, except I seem to have lost the pretty auto-changing wallpapers on the login screen. Does anyone know which specific setting affects this?
     
  9. ChinoPD

    ChinoPD Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    13,092
    Location:
    Canberra
    You're probably after this setting:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  10. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,504
    interestingly, mine's now greyed out, and no I am not on a domain nor have group policy applied...

    EDIT ok found the setting, spotlight's back on, but its still greyed out LOL so I can't modify it to b background pic or whatever.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2017
  11. BuD

    BuD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,336
    Location:
    brisbane
    bloody hell HDR is still broken in this update.
     
  12. StreekG

    StreekG Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,826
    Location:
    Melbourne
    My Ducky mechanical keyboard always reset the numlock to ON whenever i switched my PC off. Since FCU, it always stays off, i don't get it.

    It's good because i hated turning it off each time i wanted to log in.
     
  13. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    34,973
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    OK, so I managed to fix the issue of windows prompting me for a password twice. I did this by:
    1. searching for an app called netplwiz
    2. click the checkbox to disable sign in
    3. restart PC
    4. open netplwiz again
    5. reinstate the password lock
    6. restart PC
    and now it's not nagging me twice.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    156,146
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Speaking of passwords, I'd like auto login but it seems to keep prompting me which login I would like to login with....to my knowledge I never set up two accounts and when I look in Users there is only one :confused:
     
  15. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    34,973
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    give what I did a try and see if that helps.
     
  16. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    156,146
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
  17. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    34,973
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
  18. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    156,146
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    What am I disabling though?? Auto sign in? I already have that disabled.....
     
  19. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    34,973
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    you're disabling it from asking you to login.
     
  20. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    156,146
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Yeah I already had that unticked so......I don't think this will work for me. I tried a few things last night, nothing worked.....*sigh*
     
    ni9ht_5ta1k3r likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: