[WIN10] Windows 10 Mega thread

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by MR CHILLED, Jan 15, 2014.

  1. millsy

    millsy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,967
    Location:
    Brisbane
    > 32bit win10

    Oh lord please no, lol
     
  2. CAPT-Irrelevant

    CAPT-Irrelevant Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    6,970
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yeah it does seem silly. 32bit should've been phased out at Windows 7. I heard Windows 7 was meant to be the last OS to come out with a 32bit release. Clearly that didn't happen...
     
  3. CAPT-Irrelevant

    CAPT-Irrelevant Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    6,970
    Location:
    Sydney
    So I've gone about installing updates KB4517389 and KB4515871.
    While 4512941 doesn't seem to be showing as available/needed for download anymore, one of these 2 newer patches is causing my September issues to happen again. I'm rolling them back 1 at a time to determine which is at fault.


    UPDATE (4:40pm): Uninstalled KB4517389, which is 2019-10 Cumulative Update. Functionality once again restored.

    So that's 2 cumulative updates in a row that are FUBAR.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2019
  4. Recharge

    Recharge Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    10,807
    Location:
    Brisbane
    yay microsoft...
     
  5. metamorphosis

    metamorphosis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,921
    A lot of low-spec machines run better with it (32-bit) and don't have drivers for 64-bit. But overall yes the move to 64-bit is positive, though I don't see a particular need to phase out 32.
     
  6. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    9,856
    Location:
    Brisbane
  7. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    40,295
    Location:
    Brisbane
  8. neopheX

    neopheX Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    757
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Anyone else jsut get the AutoPilot update? No idea what it is or if any normal user would even need AutoPilot white glove? lol

    upload_2019-10-25_9-21-21.png
     
  9. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    40,295
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Are you running Win 10 Pro?
     
  10. neopheX

    neopheX Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    757
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Yep. 1903 - (18362.449)
     
  11. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    61,967
    Location:
    brisbane
    do you have an enabled TPM?
     
  12. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    40,295
    Location:
    Brisbane
    There's your answer. Autopilot White Glove is for pre-deployment and pre-provisioning of professional rollouts (i.e.: the "Pro" part of "Win 10 Pro").

    *Very* useful tool in business, especially if you have remote users.
     
  13. CAPT-Irrelevant

    CAPT-Irrelevant Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    6,970
    Location:
    Sydney
    Will give KB4522355 a test.

    https://mspoweruser.com/microsoft-r...22355-for-windows-10-may-2019-update-devices/

    UPDATE 1:24PM: Nope. Still breaking the search bar. It doesn't acknowledge that I'm clicking into it.

    UPDATE 1:40PM: So based on this youtube video, which is about fixing search issues with KB4512941, I just may have needed to adjust regkey "BingSearchEnabled" from 1 to 0. I did that, and it's working.

    I'm going to reinstall these updates I've been having problems with and will see what happens.

    UPDATE 1:44PM: never mind, Windows is saying I'm fully up to date.

    So that was it... a bloody stupid regkey...
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2019
  14. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    9,856
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Here you go some of the detail;
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-au...date-for-autopilot-in-windows-10-version-1903

    That was discussed, fleshed out and resolved in this thread about a month ago?!?
     
  15. Recharge

    Recharge Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    10,807
    Location:
    Brisbane
    here's a good one... ~sigh~
    can not get videos in face book to work on IE, opera, FF, edge the only one so far is a version of chrome portable I decided to try for the hell of it.
    have spend hours going through forums and web pages for options, uninstalled and reinstalled browsers (and deleted data folders hiding shit)
    installed latest nvida drivers, everything is updated and nada. click on a video in facebook and it flashes and nothing. very frustrating.
     
  16. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    9,856
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Can you provide a source/link of a video that won't work?

    I can't view a large % of FB videos but that is because of security settings I am running using;
    https://www.privacytools.io/
    it even says with 1-2 of them this might break websites.

    Are videos at other sites (youtube, etc) working as expected?
     
  17. Recharge

    Recharge Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    10,807
    Location:
    Brisbane
    https://www.facebook.com/search/top/?q=video&epa=SEARCH_BOX

    none of these work in FF, opera, IE.

    works fine, 9gag, youtube

    does not imgur, facebook videos of any kind.

    sometimes I get a html5 error but "YOUR BROWSER SCORES 535 OUT OF 555 POINTS" on html5 test.
    so yea.. fucked if I know.
    same browsers on my win7 drive work... I don't know if it's a windows thing or what.
     
  18. CAPT-Irrelevant

    CAPT-Irrelevant Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    6,970
    Location:
    Sydney
    May have, but I wanted to see whether or not the updates would provide that fix. I was baffled as to why 1 of my PCs would work with no issue from the get-go, while the other wouldn't.
     
  19. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    9,856
    Location:
    Brisbane
    It was a real hit and miss patch that affected some PCs but not a lot of others. I was affected and did that Reg tweak and it resolved it for me and then others were indicating that the next patches did what you thought.........shit it's M$. Only the foolish have expectations?

    Anything on this page;
    https://www.facebook.com/tastemade/...jhXpHY6XZ2GLfhPh6VpOpVrV0aqunW4v97poU&fref=nf

    Is flash player installed? Not that I want to recommend that vulnerability.
     
  20. Recharge

    Recharge Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    10,807
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I installed it to try but nada, then uninstalled it.

    just tried it on a laptop that I have the same build on, same thing, so, going to dry a new fresh iso from MS and see how it goes.

    ok, after fresh OS reinstall all is good now. ~throws arms in air~ crap knows what it was.
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2019

Share This Page

Advertisement: