[WIN10] Windows 10 Mega thread

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by MR CHILLED, Jan 15, 2014.

  1. CAPT-Irrelevant

    CAPT-Irrelevant Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    6,921
    Location:
    Sydney
    Which one?
     
  2. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    146,883
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    I've always disabled fast boot for years now
     
    coolroy likes this.
  3. Skydome

    Skydome Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    2,073
    deleted my music folder in my secondary hard drive lmao.

    I have no idea how, or why..
     
  4. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    146,883
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Upgraded to 1909 a few nights ago, no issues thus far and surprisingly MS has reset my security settings, that I know of :Paranoid:
     
    coolroy likes this.
  5. spit051261

    spit051261 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2019
    Messages:
    893
    Location:
    Perth
    I fooking hate hate windows , hate Mac more and can't be arsed with Linux although I do have it and have used it on my triple boot Alienware laptop ( Win 7 , XP and linux) just to see if I could do it and I could :)
    I used virtual systems in case you were wondering .
    XP was the best until they stopped support.
     
  6. BurningFeetMan

    BurningFeetMan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    8,452
    Location:
    Veg City
    That’s slightly terrifying. *checks his drives* :Paranoid:
     
  7. metamorphosis

    metamorphosis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,915
    Most likely failed write to hard drive, screwed up some aspect of the partition, run chkdsk /f /r, then run hddscan and check for smart errors.
     
  8. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    39,779
    Location:
    Brisbane
    3/3 for me on release day. Zero issues with the kids gaming over the weekend.
     
  9. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    9,856
    Location:
    Brisbane
    The only one yet to be done is the wife and she has one of those horror shows of a PC to work with - icons literally from one side of the desktop to the other (dual screens) and you have to search to find a blank spot to click on, her physical desk is like that as well.........
     
    BurningFeetMan likes this.
  10. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    39,779
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Computers don't fix our individual quirks, merely amplify them.

    Efficient people become more efficient. Disorganised people on the other hand...

    :)
     
    BurningFeetMan and Bold Eagle like this.
  11. BurningFeetMan

    BurningFeetMan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    8,452
    Location:
    Veg City
    Fences, by Stardock. ;)
     
  12. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    146,883
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
  13. walker_2003

    walker_2003 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    11,828
    Location:
    Canberra
    Yeh been doing it for ages and hasnt changed. Can also do fresh installs using 7 and 8 keys. 10 makes them more money so the more on it the merrier.
     
  14. Skydome

    Skydome Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    2,073
    actually I'm curious if i get a new pc and don't include an OS so it's blank would I be able to reformat the old pc and install win 7 to the new one and just use the anytime upgrade for win10?

    or this pushing things a bit?
     
  15. EvilGenius

    EvilGenius Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,468
    Location:
    Rocky
    Just install 10 using the key for 7.
     
  16. Skydome

    Skydome Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    2,073
    that's what i was thinking. but i'm not sure if you can re-use the same win 7 key over multiple computers. wouldn't I have to reformat my old one so Microsoft can't trace the key back to an active system?
     
  17. EvilGenius

    EvilGenius Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,468
    Location:
    Rocky
    If it was going to get blocked, the same thing that would block you from using the key to install 10 on the new system would block you from installing 7 on the new system as well. So you might as well cut out the middle man and just put 10 directly on the new machine, it'll either work or it won't.
     
  18. Skydome

    Skydome Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    2,073
    I haven't even tried it yet since I don't have the new system.

    I'm just asking if it's possible.

    It'd be a good way of cutting out potentially 100 bucks or so from the build so i can put that extra 100 towards the CPU or something lol.
     
  19. EvilGenius

    EvilGenius Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,468
    Location:
    Rocky
    Unfortunately there are still a few variables, the type of key you have now, how many uses it's had, whether it's bound to hardware or not etc etc. Until you try you're not really going to know.
     
  20. Skydome

    Skydome Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    2,073
    I would have only taken the anytime upgrade once by the time i get the new system (Unless I need to reformat for some reason).

    How would it be bound to hardware?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: