[WIN10] Windows 10 Mega thread

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by MR CHILLED, Jan 15, 2014.

  1. EvilGenius

    EvilGenius Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,531
    Location:
    elsewhere
    When windows activates it takes a look at the hardware you're on, generates a hash value that represents that combination of hardware and registers it against your license key. If the value changes too much, generally caused by swapping things like the motherboard, it is no longer considered to be the same computer, and microsoft will no longer automatically activate using that license key. But again that depends on what sort of key it is, retail, oem, something else entirely.. Even at that point you can sometimes call the microsoft activation line and talk them into activating it for you manually, but again, depends on the type of key and the circumstances.
     
  2. Skydome

    Skydome Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    2,290
    I believe mine is OEM so not sure if that'd cause issues with this idea.
     
  3. CAPT-Irrelevant

    CAPT-Irrelevant Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    6,973
    Location:
    Sydney
    Do it anyway. The worst that'll happen is MS will tell you otherwise and will just inform you to buy a new key.
     
    EvilGenius likes this.
  4. shirl

    shirl Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    sydney
    my laptop has a oem key and it upgraded to 10 from 7 no issues,,my pc was upgraded as well still got win10 no isues
     
  5. ae00711

    ae00711 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,557
    I know there's a few programs around that put a stop to some of the nosey shit in W10, but are there any that auto-start at login, as well as load and enable a saved default config?
    The last time I messed around with it, there was the issue of W10 installed updates and thus resetting the app settings etc

    or any other solution to put a permanent end to the 'spying' bs
     
  6. PureFire

    PureFire Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,409
    ae00711 likes this.
  7. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    9,856
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I have been running DoNotSpy10 after advice and some solid reviews;
    https://pxc-coding.com/donotspy10/
     
    ae00711 likes this.
  8. th3_hawk

    th3_hawk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,973
    Location:
    [VIC] Eastern Suburbs
    I did another machine over the weekend, Acer SFF machine from 2012-ish with Windows 7 Pro sticker on it. Clean Windows 10 Pro install, I don't enter the key during install but once it's up and running I go to the activate option and type it in. Once again, zero issues and the machine is very happily running Windows 10.

    This program has run for the better part of five years now and I can't see it stopping any time soon. If they were going to kill it, prior to the death of support for Windows 7 would have been the ideal time, but as has been said the more people on Windows 10 the better it is for Microsoft.

    I would hazard a guess that the vast majority of licences come from machines built by OEMs going to businesses and the retail channel selling new machines. White box sellers are also pretty likely to follow the rules... which leaves the unscrupulous people selling old Windows 7/8 keys as Windows 10 keys and the tech nerds recycling their keys as they upgrade but again I would guess they would be the minority.
     
  9. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    62,000
    Location:
    brisbane
    7 most likely will not install on your new PC.
     
  10. EvilGenius

    EvilGenius Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,531
    Location:
    elsewhere
    You can get it on, if you piss around slipping drivers into it.. I still don't know why you would, from a licensing activation viewpoint, it wouldn't achieve anything.
     
  11. ChinoPD

    ChinoPD Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    12,085
    Location:
    Canberra
    Too much effort for personal purpose. You'd have to 1. track every driver for every device and 2. make sure it's W7 compliant.
     
  12. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    10,202
    Just an FYI I got 7 working fine on a Z390 - even the IGPU.

    People managed to adapt all the drivers required.
     
  13. ae00711

    ae00711 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,557
  14. Skydome

    Skydome Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    2,290
    my reasoning for doing this is purely a money saving thing.

    If I can get win7 on the future new system (Whenever i get rich) than I can just take the anytime upgrade and save myself like 100 odd dollars that i can put towards a better CPU.
     
  15. EvilGenius

    EvilGenius Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,531
    Location:
    elsewhere
    As I tried to explain, if the system will activate with 7, it will activate with 10 instead. There are a few reasons why the key might not work, but you're not going to know for sure till you try.
     
  16. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    147,983
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    yeah I don't think they will close it for quite some time yet. They want everyone on Ten.
     
  17. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    147,983
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Oh oh.....:lol: Apple is now outpacing windows pc's.

    Apple’s malware problem is getting worse

    https://www.vox.com/recode/2020/2/12/21134681/mac-pc-virus-malware-malwarebytes

     
  18. glenpinn

    glenpinn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,796
    Location:
    Hobart
  19. flu!d

    flu!d KDE Neon 5.16

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    15,316
    Total clickbait bullshit.

    The only reason malware detection's seem to have increased is because Apple owners have woken up to the fact that malware is a problem under MacOS and are now actively scanning for it - Half that Malware has probably been on those systems for years.

    Anyone that honestly believes the Malware situation under MacOS is worse than the Malware situation under Windows is delusional. Furthermore, where Malware does infect a MacOS based device, it takes ~4 mins to remove as opposed to half an hour or more under Windows, with no damage to the updating system and networking stack as is so common under Windows due to the fact that UAC is useless as a method of privilege escalation.
     
  20. millsy

    millsy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,971
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Mostly because they've been lead to believe that Mac's don't get viruses :)
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: