[WIN10] Windows 10 Mega thread

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by MR CHILLED, Jan 15, 2014.

  1. glenpinn

    glenpinn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6,285
    Location:
    Hobart
    I have never done backups of Chrome settings before, so i had no idea i could do this, and if i have ever had to do an upgrade to Win 10 for anyone who has Chrome i just tell them that they will have to set it up again when the upgrade has completed, so for me to get this done as quick as i can without any fuss, i am going to do it the lazy mans way and just do the in place upgrade, and i know it will be a massive improvement from the way her current Windows 7 was running.
     
  2. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    18,732
    All you need to do is sync the browser to a Gmail account. When you reinstall Windows [cough], you install Chrome and sign back into sync within Chrome using that same Gmail account.
     
  3. glenpinn

    glenpinn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6,285
    Location:
    Hobart
    Thanks for all the great info, might have learned something new today, but not enough to make me ever want to use Chrome myself.
     
  4. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    65,255
    Location:
    brisbane
    I can't believe in 2020 people still manually backup browser settings.
     
    flu!d likes this.
  5. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    18,732
    Even backing up browser settings manually doesn't work as well as online sync, be it Chrome or Firefox.
     
  6. Hotrod2go

    Hotrod2go Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    Tas
    MR CHILLED likes this.
  7. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    156,217
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Yep, skim read it the other day. Doesn't seem to be a lot that really directly effected me or to be concerned about.
     
    Hotrod2go likes this.
  8. Hotrod2go

    Hotrod2go Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    Tas
    Likewise, just wanted to be a nice OCAU member & share it. :leet: :lol:
     
    M1ck1 and MR CHILLED like this.
  9. Hotrod2go

    Hotrod2go Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    Tas
    Freaking unbelievable!
    Windows pops up a msg indicating it had done a virus scan whilst I'm in the midst of intense DRAM stress testing!
    Lucky no errors reported by stress test app when this occurred... :shock:
     
    MR CHILLED likes this.
  10. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    156,217
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    You would think it would be smart enough to know when you're heavily loaded and perform routine duties outside of these times.
     
    Hotrod2go likes this.
  11. Hotrod2go

    Hotrod2go Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    Tas
    It probably 'thought' - hey i can use the page file... :lol:
     
    MR CHILLED likes this.
  12. kogi

    kogi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,880
    Location:
    2031

    So I decided to reinstall over the weekend. Turns out enterprise keys are not saved to the microsoft cloud. If you reinstall you have to put in the key again. Makes me wonder if I can install on multiple computers/VM's with that key
     
  13. metamorphosis

    metamorphosis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2,054
    Moar fun:
    [​IMG]
     
    BurningFeetMan and sammy_b0i like this.
  14. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    156,217
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    I got this one a while back. Seems they do have a sense of humour :p

    Upgrade to Win10 haha.jpg
     
  15. metamorphosis

    metamorphosis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2,054
    Classic:
    [​IMG]

    "We haven't managed to screw this up for you yet, but god willing we'll try"
     
  16. Skydome

    Skydome Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    3,128
    is it worth updating to version 2004?
     
  17. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    156,217
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Quite honestly for what I use windows for I've not noticed any difference.
     
  18. kogi

    kogi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,880
    Location:
    2031
    My reason was wsl2.
     
    elvis likes this.
  19. mareke

    mareke Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,701
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW
    The first time I installed version 2004 I had issues with the update changing which programs opened files. An example is that Microsoft Edge became the default program for opening PDF files instead of Adobe Acrobat and I couldn't make Acrobat the default so I restored an Acronis image made before the 2004 update. Then after waiting a few weeks before installing version 2004 a second time it installed smoothly causing no issues at all. Microsoft must have ironed out a lot of the problems after receiving a multitude of complaints. If you don't install version 2004 you won't receive any more updates.
     
  20. pepsimax

    pepsimax Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,908
    Location:
    The Shire
    there is some weird issue with a recent update that I did and how it impacts a PCIe AX wifi card.

    Sometimes on restart/turning on the wifi card is never found but restart two or three times it comes up.

    What is going on? Should I just do a full Ryzen upgrade lols
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: