[WIN10] Windows 10 Mega thread

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by MR CHILLED, Jan 15, 2014.

  1. Rezin

    Rezin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    9,488
  2. mareke

    mareke Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,338
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW
    I'm using an OEM version of Windows 7 I bought from PC Case Gear for $165. Is that classed as 'enterprise'?
     
  3. PhantomAU

    PhantomAU Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Location:
    Adelaide, 5052
    No enterprise agreements are for "enterprises". Businesses that need to roll out 1000's of PC's via image and not mess around with unique keys for each machine.

    Which is why they are excluded from the free upgrade, otherwise the entire planet could use the same key to upgrade to windows 10 for free.
     
  4. Tenoq

    Tenoq Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,134
    Location:
    Melbourne

    There's plenty of discussion about backdoors in BitLocker, but even there wasn't, consumer versions have key escrow to MS accounts (SkyDrive) which is known to be compromised.

    The point is Microsoft should shut the hell up about offering privacy to its consumers. They don't.
     
  5. Evasive

    Evasive Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Messages:
    330
    Location:
    Do ya come from a Land Down Under...
    My very first thought when I saw 'free upgrade to Win10' was "how many Alphabet Agency backdoors have they stuffed this with if they're so desperate for everyone to adopt it ASAP?"

    Once upon a time, that would have been tinfoil hat paranoia - you could dismiss it with Microsoft's usual 'Embrace, Extend, Monopolise' business model.

    Now it's just what is.

    I'll be an 10.1 upgrader, if I do, after better minds than mine have had a chance to figure out what it's really up to, and how to defend against it.
     
  6. xplod140

    xplod140 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,426
    Location:
    Melbun
    I think it's more of a jab at Apple and the fappening than anything.

    If the governments want your boring arse online life they will get it one way or another. Not to say I am for their methods and reasons for collection but until the people who created the black phone make an OS that everyone can use easily it's up to you to make your stuff private.
     
  7. chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    105,612
    Location:
    Tokyo
    I wait for W11, if I make it until then. :lol:
     
  8. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    9,358
    Location:
    Brisbane
    If you don't want to be backdoored don't use the NET.

    That is the sad fact in this world and it isn't going to change.

    For optimal protection:
    - Use a Linux Distro on a live box (volatile with no HDD - storage),
    - Use Tor Borwser, and or use,
    - The Paranoid Kit

    I hate being monitored but there is very little 98% of society can do about it!
     
  9. Paulie_AU

    Paulie_AU Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Messages:
    3,465
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I will be jumping on the free W10 for sure. Installed 8.1 a week ago on a drive and am having no problems with it. Will move to it fully in the next week or so (install all programs etc).

    Will have W7 still on another drive though but that is for benching.
     
  10. icepick

    icepick Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    541
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I tried the MSDN preview from last year and I like it - definately will upgrade this time from win 7. Only question is did they (or are they) going to include aero? (some of the new screenshots show transparency so I'm guessing yes?)
     
  11. thecondor

    thecondor Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    2,401
    From my understanding there is no aero.

    But yeah I agree, great os, ill definitely be running my stuff on it.
     
  12. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    9,358
    Location:
    Brisbane
    The January Technical Preview (Build 9926) is now available for those who have joined the Insider Program.
    More info: http://blogs.windows.com/bloggingwi...now-available-to-the-windows-insider-program/

    The paper clip has evolved........

    For those interested:
    Windows Update Settings>Preview Builds>Download Now (also you will see a dropdown for Slow/Fast)
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2015
  13. sir_bazz

    sir_bazz Team Papparazi

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,437
    Location:
    Mentone, Vic.
    Thanks for that.

    I update to 9926 earlier this morning, to play with Cortana, but couldn't work out how to get it started. :confused:
     
  14. chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    105,612
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Pity that a direct download is not available. Or is it?

    Edit: Just realize it is.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2015
  15. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,521
    Location:
    4109
    can/should i put w10 on a surface 3 ?
    asking for a mega pita ?
     
  16. xplod140

    xplod140 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,426
    Location:
    Melbun
    I'd wait a bit. See how it looks on regular machines first.

    Updating my laptop now.
     
  17. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,521
    Location:
    4109

    thanks , i'll try and wait... but w8.1 is a bit of a goof ball for an old timer like me :)
     
  18. chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    105,612
    Location:
    Tokyo
    • Cortana is funny, the bitch is talking to me. Gimmick!
    • Finally Mediaplayer is supporting .flac. :thumbup:
    • Continuum is not working at my touch enabled laptop. It should automatically switch from desktop mode to tablet mode when you touch the screen (or go back to desktop mode if you use mouse/keyboard). I can't make it work. Doesn't matter. I don't need this at all. Even when using the laptop as a tablet, I prefer desktop mode.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2015
  19. ~kraven

    ~kraven Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    Location:
    Scoresby, 3179
    All the demos showed it offer the option upon the disconnection of the keyboard...

    Maybe try disable to keyboard in devices, and see if it offers the choice. I suppose its hard to know when to make the change if you use touch and have a keyboard. And cant offer every time you use touch as would be intrusive. So i'm guessing the disconnection of the keyboard signals the change.

    That said, for those on tablets that have Bluetooth keyboards, could be annoying.
     
  20. chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    105,612
    Location:
    Tokyo
    OK, I did not know. Not much of use then for hybrid laptops and notebooks.

    They also integrated now a new switch under "system settings", for manually switching to "tablet mode." Anyway, it's just a minor (and irrelevant) point for me. I always stay in desktop mode, even I use the touch screen.

    Otherwise, the new build looks already quite polished. :thumbup:

    I clean installed the new build. The installation goes amazingly fast.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2015

Share This Page

Advertisement: