1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Windows 11 Mega thread

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by the_antipop, Jun 16, 2021.

  1. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    68,299
    Location:
    brisbane
    snipping tool is in W1, hit the windows key, type snip.
     
  2. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    6,094
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I think he's saying that he doesn't like th new one.
     
  3. breno

    breno Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,974
    Location:
    Melbourne
    W11 always opens up windows on my secondary monitor, it's so annoying and have no idea what's wrong to fix (yes I have made my primary monitor my main monitor)
    It does it even when I have a window aligned on the main monitor.

    Never had this issue in other versions of Windows.
     
  4. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    68,299
    Location:
    brisbane
    can't say i've had this issue, but in all honestly W11 is just something i put up with, although multi-monitor support is actually the best i've ever had - i love the way it detects my second screen being switched on.
     
  5. rg144

    rg144 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,306
    Location:
    Melbourne
    agree, multi-monitor support on Win11 far better than Win 10 and anything prior. Nice having all your previously opened windows & window locations remembered on each screen; rather than becoming a mess and all jumbled up on 1 screen; when turning a monitor on/off
     
    power likes this.
  6. breno

    breno Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,974
    Location:
    Melbourne
    What the hell? I'm getting the complete opposite experience here lol
     
  7. macktheknife

    macktheknife Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,359
    What happens when you go into the bios? When I rebuild my machine into a new case a years back I also updated the bios and it added an option to swap the monitor the bios would show on. Before that I had to tilt my head sideways because it would always show on my secondary vertical monitor. :lol:
     
    power likes this.
  8. cdtoaster

    cdtoaster Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,899
    Location:
    Tokara forest
  9. randomman

    randomman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5,278
    Did you read the entire article? It has a section on changing PrintScreen to launch the snipping tool...

    You literally asked for the "snipping tool", I gave you the snipping tool

    Why are you luddites even in the Win11 thread? Stick to the Win7 one then... :lol:
     
    power likes this.
  10. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    46,575
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Better yet, come join us in the retro forums. We have sweet, sweet WIndows 95 to XP talk. Come bask in the comfortable warmth of unchanging, unpatched OSes... mmm......
     
  11. breno

    breno Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,974
    Location:
    Melbourne
    It shows up on my primary monitor but I'll check that anyway.
     
    macktheknife likes this.
  12. cdtoaster

    cdtoaster Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,899
    Location:
    Tokara forest
    i am in the retro forums...
     
  13. randomman

    randomman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5,278
    Anyone who was getting the Ryzen micro-stutters should check with their MB manufacturer to see if there's a new UEFI with AGESA 1207. I just updated mine and it's greatly improved, still not completely gone though... Went from 1-2sec freezes to 0.1-0.5sec. Better than nothing...

    **Information Security has been alerted** oh shit, wait, we're not in Enterprise Computing...
     
  14. Will S

    Will S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    6,230
    Location:
    Coniston (Wollongong)
    wanted to reinstall windows and put it on a USB and it boots but after I dont enter my key and enter next the next screen says my PC doesnt meet requirements

    The thing is I installed it originally from the USB stick ....... oh what a pain
     
  15. nope

    nope Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    4,176
    Location:
    Tipshitswitchitin Queeersland
    kms vl all ;)
     
  16. Will S

    Will S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    6,230
    Location:
    Coniston (Wollongong)
    Well used the reset function and kept no files etc. Anyway, NZXT Cam is now working for my AIO.

    So much more to put on........but a lot more not to put back on
     
  17. Cap One

    Cap One Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2021
    Messages:
    249
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Did this end up getting fixed? I'm tempted to jump on Windows 11 22H2 but have a Ryzen CPU.
     
  18. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    6,094
    Location:
    Melbourne
    It’s also still shit on Intel. My 12900K rig runs waaaay better on Windows 10.
     
  19. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    46,575
    Location:
    Brisbane
    My Ryzen 7 4800H laptop tests fine with recent builds/drivers. No problems there.
     
  20. millsy

    millsy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,884
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Ditto with my Ryzen 4650 laptop.

    Two things I don't like about Windows 11 that I'm lazy googling:
    1 - I find the UI pixel inefficient vs Windows 10, I'd love to make the UI elements even smaller, especially the tray.
    2 - I disabled most of the animation stuff to make window transitions even faster, but it still feels 'slower' than 10. Which feels slower than prior releases, was hoping they'd help with that.

    Otherwise... the changes I barely notice because I use my computer to launch applications, not geeze at the OS all day. Local user account, we remain all good.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: