Windows 2000 SP-3 Released

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by MrW, Jul 31, 2002.

  1. Freak

    Freak Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    Melb, Australia
    thanks for the links :)

    can I intergrate Direct x8.1 in there as well ?
    Regards
    Scott
     
  2. brother_shufti

    brother_shufti Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    brisbane
    anyone else installed this and had problems? there was something on the inquirer about people getting blue screens here http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=4729 my personal experience with installing it was bad. after installation i connected to the internet and found that i could no longer send and receive data, no email, no web pages, no anything. I would be interested to see who has and who has not had problems, could be we need a service pack for the service pack.

    john!
     
  3. driver

    driver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,583
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Installed SP3 on my Win2k Professional box and no problems so far.

    Haven't done my Win2k Server yet. Will have to put it back together first :)
     
  4. Mr_PudS

    Mr_PudS Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Messages:
    242
    can i just ask, what do u ppl mean by 'slipstreamed' service packs???
     
  5. Sm00thY

    Sm00thY Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    453
    Location:
    hills.perth.wa.au
    I had problems - LOTS :(
    Install of SP3 on a fairly new 2k (SP2 included) setup, install went fine, rebooted and got as far as " press ctrl alt del to login" and as I did the machine restarted. After many reboots and killing everything off the moment it started, I eventually got it up and running. ZoneAlarm saw a new network and had lost all previous settings. It was left running for a few hours, but the first reboot saw the same restart problem happen.
    I could enter safe-mode without any problems, but would not run in 'normal mode'. SP3 was removed in safe-mode and all is back to my 'original' setup.
    As long as you do the archive on install, you can go right back to where you started. I want to try SP3 on a clean install and make sure that I haven't done something stupid, and look at slipstreaming SP3 for a new install as well.
     
  6. Chazza

    Chazza Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Sydney
    No problems here. Installed and rebooted like a dream. Haven't noticed any differences except for the loopback issue I posted above.
     
  7. dreamcaster

    dreamcaster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    847
    Location:
    Victoria
    i've got it on my win2k pro no problems, its good, it seems to manage ram a bit better too :)
     
  8. OP
    OP
    MrW

    MrW Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    519
    Location:
    Ipswich, Queensland
    I, just this minute recieved this e-mail from Microsoft

    Its been offically released now :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2002
  9. splinter

    splinter Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Messages:
    484
    Location:
    Western Melb
    y not just go XP
     
  10. OP
    OP
    MrW

    MrW Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    519
    Location:
    Ipswich, Queensland
    XP is good... but I'm the only one who has it at my work. We are still a Windows 2000 school. But as of yesterday we have the licenses for Windows & Office XP... dam new bulk licenseing stuff :p
     
  11. xx!boing!xx

    xx!boing!xx Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Some people still arent sold by it. Its amazing how many people have been dazzled into forgetting how much Microsoft now has over your computer. My W2k box is staying as it is for a while yet.
    Anyway.... the $$$ for XP could be better spent on an Athlon XP ;]
     
  12. slick

    slick Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Messages:
    3,155
    Location:
    Sydney AUS
    alright! I've finally finished the download (damn 56k connection)

    I'm gonna back up before i try anything...
     
  13. Kaliban

    Kaliban Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,837
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Did anyone read the new updated licence agreement?

    http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/en/about.asp?
     
  14. Fred

    Fred Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    993
    Location:
    NSW
    Some new services :)

    Automatic Updates
    Background Intelligent Transfer Service
     
  15. unix

    unix Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,890
    Location:
    Perth WA
    Does it affect anything if you disable those services? :)
     
  16. OP
    OP
    MrW

    MrW Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    519
    Location:
    Ipswich, Queensland
    If you disable Automatic Updates via 'Automatic Updates' in 'Control Panel' it doesn't effect any other system service.
     
  17. slick

    slick Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Messages:
    3,155
    Location:
    Sydney AUS
    "You acknowledge and agree that Microsoft may automatically check the version of the OS Product and/or its components that you are utilizing and may provide upgrades or fixes to the OS Product that will be automatically downloaded to your computer..."

    Microsoft EULA asks for root rights - again :-- The Register

    Is this for real ? am I imagining things ?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: