1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

[WIN8] Windows 8 Thread

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by Carbonfibre, Apr 13, 2011.

?

IS Windows 8 Hot or Not?

  1. Hot

    325 vote(s)
    31.0%
  2. Not

    520 vote(s)
    49.5%
  3. Candy.. sweeet sweet candy!!

    205 vote(s)
    19.5%
  1. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    150,074
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Thanks, posting from it now.

    It's ok, quite a bit different than I was expecting. I thought it would be much of the same as 7, and I guess in the usual ways it is. Not sure if I like all the flicking around screens to get to things, but as usual you get used to it I guess.
     
  2. chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    110,012
    Location:
    Tokyo
  3. Tetsuma

    Tetsuma Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Can anyone tell me how to disable the left side of the screen's psuedo-metro alt tab? Really pisses me off when i'm playing LoL.
     
  4. chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    110,012
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Interesting procedure:

    http://windows8beta.com/2012/01/rumored-windows-8-beta-road-map-leaked

    So, it will take another 4 weeks until we get the first beta version
     
  5. k1ll3r

    k1ll3r Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,387
    Location:
    Geraldton, WA
    Wow, how have I missed out on Windows 8. I haven't even read anything about it and its in beta?

    Anyone used it? Whats it like?
     
  6. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,717
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    different...metro no likie

    other than that i like a lot of the little features they have added but it is basically windows 7 sent off to pimp my OS
     
  7. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,805
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    RC1 is out guys. Someone find out what's new. :thumbup:'

    Edit: Maybe not...

    "You'll notice that it's called "DEVELOPER PREVIEW" but go online using the WINDOWS UPDATER and run an update, and then the updated system will become a RELEASE CANDIDATE. "
     
  8. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    150,074
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Looks like a fake. Release date scheduled for March?
     
  9. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,805
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    Doing some research, it seems you are correct! Ah well, It'll be interesting to see whether or not it will be worth the upgrade from 7 -> 8.
     
  10. Diode

    Diode Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,736
    Location:
    Melbourne
    We all know about Windows 8 desktop...

    Windows 8 server is also on the cards and it too has a metro UI. :Paranoid: http://www.neowin.net/news/windows-8-server-screenshots--what039s-new

    In other news MS says they are pushing for more installations to be Windows server core as the default, which means no GUI (or IE) is loaded thus reducing server security patches 50-70%. You will still administer the server via GUI by remote admin tools on your desktop (which you can already do these days which is nothing new). However unlike 2008 server if you need to change the role of the server and it needs a GUI you can change its role between full a server + GUI or a windows core install.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2012
  11. LostBenji

    LostBenji Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    6,084
    Location:
    Up a tower somewhere....
    I got stung with this as well, DLed the claimed RC1 but then after it was down, someone mentioned the hash was same as the developer preview. Ah well, what's a few GB between people...

    The server edition would be nice to see how it pans as a workstation OS. 2008R2 is bloody fast for workstation duties but still lacks the bits needed to be a full workstation as there are still things missing compared to the desktop variants like normal win7. Yes, I still want to play some games....

    The nice part of 2008R2 Vs. Winblows 7 is the better use of all the system CPU cores. Win 7 is ok but 2008R2 was better. 3.5 second boot times were good too off a single SSD on an old ICH7R (ESB2, 2x quad-core E5345's, 4GB FB-DIMM), can't complain there.
     
  12. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    150,074
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
  13. Matt_NZ

    Matt_NZ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3,308
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    iPad's and iPhone's I'd agree with but I wouldn't say they're eating away at Windows machines in the business area although it will depend on the role they're being used in. Everyone in my company that has an iDevice also has a Windows 7 laptop/desktop that they use the majority of the time - taking the place that was normally held by paper diaries, note pads, newspapers, etc.

    It will be hard for them to get into the big corporations with their laptops and desktops due to the usual case of the bigger the business the more instances there are of "crucial" custom software that will only work on x OS platform, y web browser or a suite of other software packages that makes up the rest of the alphabet.

    Ignoring the fiddly bits of business apps, do any of the major finance apps even work on Mac currently? From what I understand, there's no native Mac client for SAP, nor is there anything for Dynamics AX. Apple's going to need to get these sort of packages working on their OS before Microsoft will need to start worrying about Windows starting to dissapear from businesses...
     
  14. wizball

    wizball Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Location:
    Sydney
  15. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    150,074
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    I can only speak from my workplace but I see apple becoming stronger as I see iphones and ipads becoming more and more prevalent. As for macs.....we have one, amongst a sea of windows pc's.
     
  16. wizball

    wizball Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Location:
    Sydney
    But are they actually productive tools (the iphones and ipads, not the workers)?

    Most people I know who want to use Apple products can rarely provide detailed or technical reasons why and just want to use them because all the cool kids do.
     
  17. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    150,074
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Well lets look at the items: (1) iphone - I think it has its uses but any phone these days will do everything an iphone does, so no, I don't think an iphone is really necessary as such, (2) ipad - well this is a luxury and I think it does certainly have some benefits - scribing meeting notes (no fixed pc necessary), ability to "office on the run" (of course mobiles can do all of this as well, but size does matter to a lot of people). At the end of the day these things are not really necessary but do provide easy ways to accomplish duties.

    Getting back to windows 8, we confirmed for a March RC release?
     
  18. mrmas

    mrmas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    368
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    AFAIK SAPs strategy for it's GUI seems to be that it's migrating everything to be web based, with a lot of the new modules released with FPM, and the majority of BI content already reported via the portal. Eventually I think the GUI will fall away leaving only the web based content which is OS independant.

    That said, most clients I have worked at use windows as their prefered server OS.
     
  19. Omnomnom

    Omnomnom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Sydney
    Has anyone else encountered issues whilst installing the preview? My USB keyboard and mouse become unresponsive once the install screen is ready, I've tried different USB ports and PS2 devices with no luck. Legacy is enabled in the BIOS as well.
     
  20. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    150,074
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Nope no probs here with any usb devices. USB KBoard and mouse are fine.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: