[WIN8] Windows 8 Thread

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by Carbonfibre, Apr 13, 2011.

?

IS Windows 8 Hot or Not?

  1. Hot

    325 vote(s)
    31.0%
  2. Not

    520 vote(s)
    49.5%
  3. Candy.. sweeet sweet candy!!

    205 vote(s)
    19.5%
  1. kesawi

    kesawi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,629
    Location:
    Brisbane
    It depends on whether you purchased a pre-built PC from a system builder, in which case it is tied to the motherboard, but everything else can change (Source: http://www.microsoft.com/oem/en-gb/licensing/sblicensing/pages/licensing_faq.aspx#fbid=3rpl5oiOnqR):

    If you build the system yourself then the situation has changed from Windows 7 with Windows 8, as it falls under the new OEM System Builder licensed for personal use (Source: Windows 8 System Builder Product--Personal Use License)

     
  2. iinsom

    iinsom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,845
    Location:
    The Riff
    Well... To finish this debate about the whole OEM thing, i received my copy of 8.1 today from pccg...
     
  3. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    141,487
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Well I might be forced to go to 8.1 now......after installing the latest nvidia drivers on my main rig with an older GTX580 I'm getting blue screens on shutdown. But it's intermittent. Not sure what's going on and can't be stuffed trying to problem solve it. Easiest option might be to wipe and start a fresh with 8.1.
     
  4. iinsom

    iinsom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,845
    Location:
    The Riff
    LOL@Me

    Apparently the receiver wasnt available (has been someone home all day) and my parcel was dropped at the post office and now not available till tomorrow...

    Dafuq
     
  5. Tomee

    Tomee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,374
    Location:
    Melbourne
    so finally update gaming PC to win 8 but now it doesn have gadgets, how can i get a clock gadget to display on desktop?

    most of the ones in the store are for live tiles... ugggghh :sick:
     
  6. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    58,989
    Location:
    brisbane
    people don't use gadgets - no more gadgets for you! (oh and they were a security risk).

    Gadgets have been discontinued

    - HURRRRRRR
     
  7. Unframed

    Unframed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,082
    Location:
    Hella south west
    You used gadgets on a gaming PC?
     
  8. mazmorbid

    mazmorbid (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,566
    Location:
    Brisbane 4114
    You can get Windows 7 gadgets to work.
     
  9. Tomee

    Tomee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,374
    Location:
    Melbourne
    only used the clock gadget
    dont judge me! :p
     
  10. Apokalipse

    Apokalipse Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    4,250
    Location:
    Melbourne
    You can use an unofficial patch to make windows 7 gadgets work, or you can use rainmeter.
     
  11. iinsom

    iinsom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,845
    Location:
    The Riff
    Quick question. I have a microsoft account that i use for my xbox currently, but it wouldnt let me login to that with Windows 8.1? IS this common or do i have to create a new account to use my computer? (Ive already done this, but id rather have it tied with my xbox and xbox one when it is released for streaming and etc)
     
  12. armbarcrash

    armbarcrash Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    651
    If you create a new MS account DO NOT log into 'Games' with it. Doing so will automatically create a new gamertag that you have to wait 30 days to get rid of.

    I found this out the hard way, and now have to wait 3 weeks to remove the auto-created GT so I can move my existing XB tag to my MS account.
     
  13. Habanero

    Habanero Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Perth
    http://8gadgetpack.net/

    Gadgets and sidebar for win8/8.1 Has the clocks. Works well with no issues in win8.
     
  14. iinsom

    iinsom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,845
    Location:
    The Riff
    Im logged in now with my xbox account with my GT in it. So i guess i just got the password wrong when i initially set it up.
     
  15. iinsom

    iinsom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,845
    Location:
    The Riff
    Hey guys

    Is there a way to change what email i login to Skype with? I have my personal Skype i want to login with on my PC instead of the microsoft login they give me.
     
  16. auApex

    auApex Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Hi guys,

    This has probably been asked before but is there anyway to make an upgrade from Win 7 to Win 8.1 less painful in terms of transferring my documents, settings and apps? I'd prefer to go with a fresh install on a formatted drive so guessing I'll have to re-install everything but any time saving tips or even a guide would be very helpful.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  17. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    58,989
    Location:
    brisbane
    Windows Easy Transfer

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-AU/windows-8/transfer-files-settings-another-pc
     
  18. auApex

    auApex Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Nice. Will either (or both) of the following work:
    1. Install Win 8 on a different SSD to my Win 7 install without overwriting the old install and then run Easy Transfer from my new Win 8 install
    2. As above but keep the PC as a dual-boot and boot into Win 7 then point the Easy Transfer at my new Win 8 install?

    Easy Transfer looks to be a solution but seems more aimed at people who are changing from one computer to another rather than upgrading. Could just be that MS explain it that way so they don't confuse people...
     
  19. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    58,989
    Location:
    brisbane
    WET is aimed at wipe and load and new PC users.

    I recommend using Windows Backup to make a full backup first before doing anything to an external drive. Or simply copy all your data to an external drive.

    It is not aimed at dual boot scenarios, however the "old PC" could be your Win 7 install and the "new PC" could be your new Win 8 partition.

    So in summation yes you could do both 1 and 2 with WET.
     
  20. Tenoq

    Tenoq Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,134
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Just a warning: WET has been weakened in 8.1, and it is no longer capable of restoring WET files from XP/Vista (unlike 8.0). IIRC Windows 7 is still supported.

    So if you're coming from XP, it might be a two-step upgrade to use WET.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: