1. Check out OCAU's review of the SpaceX Starlink satellite internet service!
    Dismiss Notice

[WIN8] Windows 8 Thread

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by Carbonfibre, Apr 13, 2011.

?

IS Windows 8 Hot or Not?

  1. Hot

    325 vote(s)
    31.0%
  2. Not

    520 vote(s)
    49.5%
  3. Candy.. sweeet sweet candy!!

    205 vote(s)
    19.5%
  1. Jayphen

    Jayphen Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Carlingford
    I have one earlier restore point, but it doesn't work (errors out with a suggestion to disable anti-virus. I tried this with no luck).

    How to you enable 'flight mode' during the boot process? Considering it doesn't ever actually boot in to Windows, I'm not sure how it would help anyway.
     
  2. Tenoq

    Tenoq Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,137
    Location:
    Melbourne

    Some devices have a hard switch for it. If it auto-downloads the new update you could just disable your internet to prevent it from doing updates again.

    That said, the fact you only have one other restore point raises alarm bells. Tested your RAM & HDD? Sounds like a HW issue could be involved.

    Do you have a backup? (If not, why not? ;-) )
     
  3. Jayphen

    Jayphen Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Carlingford
    The restore point is from after the latest patch had already downloaded, so it tries to install the patch immediately after restoring, before it boots in to Windows.

    I use the computer solely for gaming, and haven't installed or uninstalled anything in months, which is probably why there are no restore points. There's nothing valuable on the machine; it's just annoying to have to do a clean install.
     
  4. Tenoq

    Tenoq Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,137
    Location:
    Melbourne
    That's a pain. Well at least W8 installs quickly. Fresh install is not ideal though, I agree.
     
  5. Jayphen

    Jayphen Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Carlingford
    I'm going back to Windows 7 :upset:
     
  6. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    67,055
    Location:
    brisbane
    the only problem with W7?

    It could use an SP2.
     
  7. Will S

    Will S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,748
    Location:
    Coniston (Wollongong)
    I cant see the value in Win8 over Win7 but once you have spent the money I cant see the sense in going back. I am at ease with the layout of win 8.1 and at the moment there are only a couple if bugs that annoy me :

    1/ Sleep Mode works good most of the time ( I have the power switch set to sleep mode ) but every now and then when it comes back on I cant connect to the internet. A quick reboot solves this

    2/ A driver issue with graphics card (r9 290) . Had it before with older card and someone suggested upgrading drivers and it fixed the problem of when playing spider solitaire it would just sometimes go back to the desktop. Now its back again and I really dont want to try out the beta drivers

    Other then these it goes ok but really cannot see an advantage over win7 . You will get use to the layout pretty quick but finding a couple of things can be annoying. If I looked harder I would find shortcuts etc for things like calculator but it was so easy with the win7 menu
     
  8. Tenoq

    Tenoq Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,137
    Location:
    Melbourne

    Your network issue will be a bad network driver. Pretty common in 8. Disabling/re-enabling the adapter will also fix it if you can find a working driver.

    I think win8 has the advantage in speed & security. Hyper-V is useful too, if you use VMs.
     
  9. damn duck

    damn duck Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,563
    Location:
    duck pond
    Why the fuck did they remove the Backup and Restore functionality that worked so well in Windows 7?

    I used to set up clients to plug in an external hard drive once a week. In Windows 7, the Backup and Restore feature would save everything in the folders I selected and all would be sweet.

    This new "File History" is rubbish. You can't actually backup anything outside of your libraries (so any emails or files outside of these are lost) - but with some fiddling you can put these files into a library as a work around. Nasty.
     
  10. FLB

    FLB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,580
    Location:
    Adelaide
    The backup and restore is still there but hidden. In file history, bottom left corner it's hidden there called "System Image Backup"
     
  11. Tenoq

    Tenoq Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,137
    Location:
    Melbourne

    8.1 removed the option to schedule the image backup though, which is retarded.

    You can still use wbadmin & task scheduler though, IIRC. Not ideal, but good enough. Using command line adds some flexibility.
     
  12. FLB

    FLB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,580
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Yeah it's quite clear they intend to can it at some point entirely.
     
  13. damn duck

    damn duck Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,563
    Location:
    duck pond
  14. soulblade64

    soulblade64 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,571
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Plus one for Cobian, I installed it for my father in law 5+ years ago for his business backups (Now he uses Dropbox)... still uses Cobian to backup his Dropbox folder incase he needs to get at quickly and can't wait for the download.
     
  15. Tenoq

    Tenoq Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,137
    Location:
    Melbourne

    Cobian is great, but it's not an imaging solution. It's the same as File History: backs up files, not your system state. You'll need a separate program to capture a full system image.

    Cobian is a much better solution for file backups than the Windows one, though.
     
  16. niloch

    niloch Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Ballarat
    Question

    I have started to get BSOD which is causing problems with Window 8.1, it could be a driver, I do not know but I am thinking of resetting the SSD and reinstalling Win 8.1, what is the best way to do this? I have a Sandisk Extreme 120GB SSD. any help would be appreciated!!!
     
  17. RyoSaeba

    RyoSaeba Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2001
    Messages:
    13,306
    Location:
    Perth
    You can get a free copy of acronis from most HDD vendors if you want to do proper drive image backups. I know off hand Intel has it and so does WD. Not sure about other vendors.
     
  18. niloch

    niloch Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Ballarat
    Thank you

    Thank you Ryo-Saeba
     
  19. RyoSaeba

    RyoSaeba Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2001
    Messages:
    13,306
    Location:
    Perth
    Actually my reply wasn't directed at you sorry. Acronis is a backup restore software so it probably won't be much use for a corrupted drive doing a reinstall.

    My reply was more for the discussions regarding backup that is missing from windows 8.
     
  20. Tenoq

    Tenoq Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,137
    Location:
    Melbourne

    Unfortunately it is more oriented toward migration between drives - a single, full image. Last time I tried it you couldn't schedule; and the backup was forced to full each time. In that respect it's arguably less effective than the Windows one (which is at least block-level and is incremental).

    Useful in a pinch though.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: