[WIN8] Windows 8 Thread

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by Carbonfibre, Apr 13, 2011.

?

IS Windows 8 Hot or Not?

  1. Hot

    325 vote(s)
    31.0%
  2. Not

    520 vote(s)
    49.5%
  3. Candy.. sweeet sweet candy!!

    205 vote(s)
    19.5%
  1. Catweazle

    Catweazle Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,867
    Location:
    Sale, Vic.
    niloch, you need to start over with a fresh install. Drive imaging would only replicate the problems.
     
  2. OldnBold

    OldnBold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    4,261
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    Another vote for Windows 7 I guess.
     
  3. Sphinx

    Sphinx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,963
    Location:
    Brisbane
    All business laptops/PC's from HP, Lenovo, etc STILL come pre-loaded with Win7 pro + a Win 8 key/media, even today.

    Think that pretty much speaks for itself.

    Bring on Windows 9..
     
  4. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    67,322
    Location:
    brisbane
    it really does, I bought a business laptop last week - pre-loaded with 7 Pro.
     
  5. Tenoq

    Tenoq Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,137
    Location:
    Melbourne

    ?

    Acronis for WD functions the same in 7 & 8...


    Yeah, all the people saying they don't have the option aren't looking hard enough.
     
  6. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    67,322
    Location:
    brisbane
    even if they didn't I'd just order one with 8 Pro and perform a downgrade.
     
  7. Tenoq

    Tenoq Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,137
    Location:
    Melbourne

    Still need a working 7 key to do so, don't you?
     
  8. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    67,322
    Location:
    brisbane
    plenty of them lying round the office, lol
     
  9. NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    18,427
    Location:
    Brisbane
    which funnily enough, is MS's actual answer on the topic.
     
  10. munchkin1

    munchkin1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,624
    Dad's work laptop was upgraded to win8 a few weeks ago. He works at a public school, I was pretty surprised to see that they've already upgraded.
     
  11. AthlonMan

    AthlonMan (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    11,416
    Location:
    QLD.
    Yeah, they tend to occur every 3-4 years. This time is just so happens to have occurred shortly after Win 8.1s release.
     
  12. Mr Henry

    Mr Henry (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    540
    Location:
    In a bucket
    Just had to buy a new laptop for work with W8 on it...8.1 now...with Start is Back and booting to desktop...it's basically Windows 7 so I have nothing against it.
     
  13. Akimbo

    Akimbo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    Perth W.A.
    Exactly. You don't need to see the metro part.

    And it's a good OS when regarding the operating system (not GUI).
     
  14. AthlonMan

    AthlonMan (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    11,416
    Location:
    QLD.
    It's not really back though is it? You still go to the whole metro screen when you press the start button.
     
  15. GetSmart

    GetSmart Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,704
    Location:
    Brisbane
    http://startisback.com/
     
  16. mtw

    mtw Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,020
    Location:
    Sydney
    Where is the cheapest place to get Windows 8.1 nowadays? I can probably find a student to get 8.1 Pro for $69.99 direct from MS, is that the cheapest?
     
  17. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,079
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    i wish i could get a pro licence for $70 :D

    but anyways, i installed the non-pro 8.1 and so far it hasn't really annoyed me once i installed classic shell.
     
  18. Mr Henry

    Mr Henry (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    540
    Location:
    In a bucket
    I got 8.1 pro on my personal laptop through work. Thanks work...got Office too ;)
     
  19. cobretti1818

    cobretti1818 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    182
    Running W8.1 with an Asrock Z68 Exreme 4 Gen 3 (or something like that) motherboard and I used to get constant network dropouts. Some searching found that it was a rather common occurrence caused by 8.1 and the network driver used. Tried many suggested solutions but nothing fixed it.

    In the end I purchased a network card, and while it no longer drops out, it does occasionally drop from 1.0gbps to 100mbps speeds. Disabling/enabling fixes it, but still annoying.

    Not sure why I posted this, anyone have anything similar?
     
  20. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,079
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    i'd remove the windows installed driver to see if it might have been a conflict issue or something.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: