[WIN8] Windows 8 Thread

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by Carbonfibre, Apr 13, 2011.

?

IS Windows 8 Hot or Not?

  1. Hot

    325 vote(s)
    31.0%
  2. Not

    520 vote(s)
    49.5%
  3. Candy.. sweeet sweet candy!!

    205 vote(s)
    19.5%
  1. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    67,145
    Location:
    brisbane
    Windows 7, hahaha
     
  2. BuuBox

    BuuBox Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,586
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Yeah good point, I should probably try and stick it out for a bit longer.

    Haha, the thought did cross my mind, but I don't think I can boot from a M.2 PCIe SSD with Windows 7.

    Edit: Looks like I'm wrong on the PCIe boot drive front, so Windows 7 may be an option.
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2014
  3. Apokalipse

    Apokalipse Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    4,250
    Location:
    Melbourne
    StartIsBack
    Unlike most start menu replacements, it is not a program that puts an overlay on top of the taskbar. It's a dll that integrates into explorer (but it doesn't modify any system files).

    Whenever I install Windows 8/8.1 or Server 2012/R2, I always use:
    StartIsBack
    OldNewExplorer
    UXStyle
    Aero Glass by bigmuscle
    Some themes, such as Aero RP/CP theme, Snowy8

    *note bigmuscle's Aero Glass can use a custom theme atlas png which replaces the current theme's one. But it tends to conflict with a lot of custom themes. So you'll want to disable the theme atlas in Aero Glass if you want to use custom themes.
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2014
  4. R3IGN

    R3IGN (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    186
    I have had nothing but problems with windows 8.1 this past week after a few months using it

    Reformatted pc> installed windows> install drivers the installation hangs

    Drivers are from asus site,

    Smartscreen popup i cant stand, click run anyway it still wont run

    Rebuiling pc this week so downloading a W7 Pro iso
     
  5. RyoSaeba

    RyoSaeba Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2001
    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    Perth
    Are your hardware a bit older or latest hardware? I'm wondering if it's due to older hardware not playing nice with win8.
     
  6. R3IGN

    R3IGN (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    186

    Hardware was only 6 months old.

    CPU 4690k>Mobo asus maximus ranger

    But i have sold all that and got the Maximus HERO 4790k and 780ti

    Was time for a change of gear anyway
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2014

Share This Page

Advertisement: