Windows 98SE 3DMark2001 challenge

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by atmo, Oct 14, 2016.

  1. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,872
    Location:
    Melbourne
    You can maybe clean them, would require a lot of elbow grease and careful use of corrosion removal/chemical cleaner to get the blocks back to its former condition.

    I did this to the danger den but since the main water block was copper there was no way removing the oxidation on the copper itself unless they were re-machined.

    The rubber seal is also another problem and most likely impossible to source.
     
  2. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,872
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I've used Loctite (can't remember the exact type number but it was designed for marine purposes so waterproof) for these sort of things.

    TIG welding could get messy. Is the water block copper or nickel of some sort?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    atmo

    atmo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,146
    Location:
    Geelong
    Not dead, I've just been super busy with work (changed jobs a couple of months ago) and some other projects.
     
  4. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,872
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Welcome back atmo:).
     
  5. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,872
    Location:
    Melbourne
    What you using for your watercooling?
     
  6. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,872
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Picked up a bronze Thermaltake 775watt XT psu today from an OCAU'er, going to be benching again soon.
     
  7. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,872
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Did some benchmarks. Killed some CPU's, GPU's and RAM. What I know, artefacting heavily 9800gx2, non-working properly gtx 260 216sp etc.

    XFX 5870, C2D E6600 Conroe @ 3.6ghz, 2 x 1gb Corsair XMS2 4-4-4-12
    [​IMG]

    XFX 5870, PDC E5300 Wolfdale @ 4.3ghz, 2 x 1gb Corsair XMS2 4-4-4-12
    [​IMG]

    Leadtek cutdown memory clock 7900GT, C2D E6600 @ 3.6ghz, 1 x 1gb Corsair Dominator 4-4-4-12, other stick faulty so no dual channel

    Leadtek 7800GTX, C2D E6600 @ 3.6ghz, 1 x 1gb Corsair Dominator 4-4-4-12, other stick faulty so no dual channel
    [​IMG]

    Leadtek cutdown memory clock 7900GT, C2D E6600 @ 3.2ghz, 1 x 1gb Corsair Dominator 4-4-4-12, other stick faulty so no dual channel[​IMG]

    Leadtek cutdown memory clock 7900GT, C2D E6600 @ 3.6ghz, 1 x 1gb Corsair Dominator 4-4-4-12, other stick faulty so no dual channel
    [​IMG]

    Leadtek cutdown memory clock 7900GT, C2D E6600 @ 3.0ghz, 1 x 1gb Corsair Dominator 4-4-4-12, other stick faulty so no dual channel
    [​IMG]

    Gigabyte X1950 Pro, C2D E6600 @ 3.6GHZ, Dual Channel XMS2 4-4-4-12
    [​IMG]

    Gainward GTX260 216SP, C2D E6600 @ 3.6GHZ, Single Dominator stick 4-4-4-12
    [​IMG]

    EVGA GTX295, C2D E6600 @ 3.6GHZ, Single Dominator stick 4-4-4-12
    [​IMG]

    Some observations made:

    I've hit a memory wall on my Asus P5B Deluxe, only premium PC2-8500 or 9200, 9600 DDR2 sticks will overcome the memory to high FSB ratio, otherwise will be restricted to using high multi cpu's to avoid the memory limitation because the Dominators and XMS2's I have don't like to be overclocked too high.

    The Wolfdale E5300 @ 4.3 is roughly on par with the older Conroe E6600 @ 3.6 possibly due to the Conroe's 4MB L2 vs Wolfdale 3M 3MB L2 cache, hard to tell whats going on here.

    The GTX260 and 295's are bottlenecked by the C2D's. I borrowed a QX9650 during the bench session, managed to clock it up to 4.6ghz and complete 2 runs of 3dmark01, scoring roughly 89000 for the gtx260 and 110,000 for the GTX295. Didn't get time to screen because I had to return the CPU.

    Turns out my Centurion case power and reset buttons shorted and killed my other Asus P5K Pro and Gigabyte AM2+ boards. Spewing....

    Will need to somehow get my other GTX260 216sp and 9800gx2 working again, some SMD soldering will need to be done.
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2017
  8. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,755
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Excellent post there Mathew :tongue: Happy to see you got stuck into it ...

    Where's Atmo " look above post man " :leet:
     
  9. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,872
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Yeah, need a few better chipset mobos. Shame my P35 Asus P5K Pro died due to a shorted case button in my Coolermaster Centurion case.

    Still need to bench an ATi 3870x2 card I received last week but difficult atm because it has the backplane extender so the card is over 15 inchs long and won't fit into the case. Will need to do an open air bench.

    Received my EVGA 7950gx2 this morning and just did a bench. Also had to dial down my E5300 from 4.3ghz to 4.22ghz as it wasn't stable this morning.

    7950gx2 scores rather lower than expected, considering my downclocked 7900gt scores roughly the same with a E6600 @ 3.6 though and the 7950gx2 is a dual 7900gt config sli'd as 1 GPU. But the 7950gx2 are finicky bastards with compatibility and performance issues on some mobos and benchmarks.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,755
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Good going there Matthew ... rather looking forward to 3D01 again
    I've lost touch here though on the speed :lol: damn benching other stuff Win7

    9800gx2 on the wish list again for the sli LoL's
     
  11. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,872
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Is it worthwhile to install chipset and smbus drivers? XP keeps prompting me to do so as this XP SP3 install was used with 2 other mobos.

    I feel like I'm getting lower scores than expected.

    The reference dual PCB 9800GX2 is a shit design and all of them are bound to fail, I've had 4 fail on me now, re-balling, baking etc doesn't help extend there longevity. I've had my Gigabyte artefact and blow a tantalum capacitor and now 1 GPU is dead.

    The later but rarer single PCB EVGA 9800gx2 (same as the single PCB GTX295's) fare better and are the ones to get, provided it hasn't been abused.
     
  12. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,755
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Would try to install needed drivers Matthew. But I've swapped the hdd around on different boards doing benches
    4-6 times even ... only time OS gets killed sometimes is outrageous bios setting

    Look them scores up on HWbot ... always do it & set targets :Pirate:
    Man I love dual pcb :weirdo: 9800gx2 ... feel a pic coming soon of that machine.
     
  13. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,872
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Yeh the board swaps killed my xp installation with drivers and its a pita to reinstall and setup xp and drivers again.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: