1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Windows New OS - Vista discussion (MARK II) [Updates for Tips/Tweaks in first post]

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by MR CHILLED, Feb 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. slobber

    slobber Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,207
    Location:
    Mandurah!
    Depends which XP your talking about, my tweaked version installs in 7 minutes :D

    XP with all the bloat takes ages, cant remember the exact time as I only ever used it once :thumbdn:
     
  2. Darko

    Darko Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4,639
    Location:
    Adelaide 5015
    But you stated that Vista took 40 mins. to install which is an unusually long time, should take around 20 min. untweaked.
     
  3. slobber

    slobber Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,207
    Location:
    Mandurah!
    It must be my old age as I dont recall ever saying that, even Vista fully tweaked with nearly everything (DRM :rolleyes: ) taken out (350MB iso) still takes 15min
     
  4. 303-Acid

    303-Acid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,996
    Location:
    Grantville, Vic
    Vista itself can do it. If I remember correctly it's in disk management somewhere. I did it when I had Beta 2 installed and needed a FAT32 partition to upgrade my bios.
     
  5. DavoRulz

    DavoRulz (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,961
    Location:
    Your House
    I've got shocking video performance atm. Running the 100.65 forceware. Think <15fps in the middle of Shattrath in WoW. Rebooting to xp fixes this.

    Also, Ntune for video overclocking sucks. I get a stable 600/800 on my 7950gt using coolbits in XP, Ntune is telling me my card isn't stable at stock under Vista :S
     
  6. Darko

    Darko Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4,639
    Location:
    Adelaide 5015
    Sorry, I was refering to jlccarv's quote, but when you answered my initial post I thought it was him.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    162,460
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Who wants to use Vista for up to at least a year without activating? A little bit better than the previous 3 month fix...

    (I've confirmed with Agg this is fine to post)

     
  8. Darko

    Darko Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4,639
    Location:
    Adelaide 5015
    Thanks for that MR CHILLED.
    Opened up regedit and had a bit of a look, SkipRearm can be found here in the Registry.........

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/Software/Microsoft/WindowsNT/SL

    In the right hand window you'll see the SkipRearm value
    0 = still in 30 day trial period
    1 = Windows has been activated
     
  9. FLB

    FLB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,580
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Well if we are going to post about the unending use of skiprearm etc, we may as well post the original source!

    http://windowssecrets.com/comp/070315/#story1

    Something interesting -

    So it seems like only Ulitmate, Business, & Enterprise benefit from this (and older releases of Vista Home, Premium etc). Tho most ppl seem to have ultimate anyway... :lol:
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2007
  10. Foliage

    Foliage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    32,058
    Location:
    Sleepwithyourdadelaide
    There are plenty of other more full proof cracks available, MS has plenty to worry about.
     
  11. FLB

    FLB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,580
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Yes, but this isn't a crack.

    I'd say there would be plenty of ppl out there happy to reinstall Vista every 12 months without activating it.
     
  12. Foliage

    Foliage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    32,058
    Location:
    Sleepwithyourdadelaide
    Exactly, it may as well be a crack.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    162,460
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    The difference being that this is a legal use of the operating system without using illegal bypass methods such as cracks. It is the difference between legal and illegal. How the end user chooses to use this method is up to them.
     
  14. Abercrombi3

    Abercrombi3 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    dass
    i still don't get it, is the only thing u need to do, change the value to 1??
     
  15. Foliage

    Foliage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    32,058
    Location:
    Sleepwithyourdadelaide
    and both result in a user not buying windows, I don't think it really matters to ms.
     
  16. FLB

    FLB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,580
    Location:
    Adelaide
    If people are going to pirate software, MS have already stated they would prefer it to be their software over a competitors.
     
  17. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    162,460
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    The difference is with this method they don't have a leg to stand on and there is nothing they can do about it if people want to use it in this way, as it is a documented feature/technique on the MS website itself. They will no doubt be hoping it does not achieve widespread publicity. But they aren't stupid and probably knew it would be "discovered".
     
  18. Bert

    Bert Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,467
    Location:
    Brisvegas
    Which I guess would leave the question of legality of the disc that you're installing it from..... You do need an original disc still, otherwise you're using a copied disc, which is illegal.
     
  19. OP
    OP
    MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    162,460
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Well that is true, I'm sure no one will share their cd at all :Paranoid:
     
  20. garry

    garry Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,501
    Location:
    Port Kennedy 6172 WA
    Anyone know ho to get the full defrag program from vista,the one i am getting in visa doesn't even have the graph to show how much percent it has defraged like the one in windows xp,it's just a real basic looking thing,or maybe there is a better 3rd part defrag program that is compatable with vista.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Advertisement: