Windows Phone 7 Series

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones & Devices' started by Oppressa, Feb 16, 2010.

  1. theDarkHorse

    theDarkHorse Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,233
    Location:
    Sydney
    Zune update = prep for Mango, most likely, since 4.8 is required.

    I thought Mango was being released on the 15th as well, but looks like that's not happening (not even 15th in US time). We'll see.

    In other news, all the Australian carriers have approved Mango and are waiting for MS to announce it.
     
  2. dcyloo

    dcyloo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5,062
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Speculation was the 15th. Guess that's been missed.

    However this bodes well. Telstra have approved the update.
    http://www.telstra.com.au/mobile/phones/smartphones.html#
    ... just go to the Software Updates tab. The HTC 7 Mozart, HD7 and LG Optimus 7Q have all had their Mango update approved by Telstra.

    So whenever Microsoft decides to release Mango, anyone on Vodafone or Telstra will be able to get their Mango when they plug their phone into Zune.

    I hope it won't be too much longer. I'd like to also get the HTC Mozart ROM update.
     
  3. blued

    blued Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Melbourne
    thinking of getting a w7 based phone but to me, the fact that the tiles dont take up the whole screen is retarded and looks ridiculous. Can this be changed?
     
  4. miguel_sanchez

    miguel_sanchez Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Location:
    Brisbane
  5. esaitchkay

    esaitchkay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    518
    Location:
    NSW 2145
  6. blued

    blued Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Melbourne
  7. theDarkHorse

    theDarkHorse Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,233
    Location:
    Sydney
    I agree, but I still prefer the aesthetic as it is.
     
  8. G-PhresH

    G-PhresH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,462
    Location:
    Sydney NSW
    Maybe go use the phone first before you rage out?

    All phones have boarders around the screen where icons are, its just WP7 is alighted to the left...
     
  9. Silent Remorse

    Silent Remorse GAMING OVERLORD

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Messages:
    10,113
    Location:
    Brisbane
    If you don't like the UI, why would you bother getting a WP7 phone?
     
  10. dcyloo

    dcyloo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5,062
    Location:
    Brisbane
    This sort of response is a first rate stand-out. Don't buy the argument. Go do your own research and find out why the WP7 UI is designed as such and why you cannot change that UI's design element layout instead of asking questions here.
     
  11. [AOB]TommO

    [AOB]TommO Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,738
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  12. theDarkHorse

    theDarkHorse Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,233
    Location:
    Sydney
  13. dcyloo

    dcyloo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5,062
    Location:
    Brisbane
  14. dcyloo

    dcyloo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5,062
    Location:
    Brisbane
  15. theDarkHorse

    theDarkHorse Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,233
    Location:
    Sydney
    Question that comes to mind: is it possible to change my Windows Live ID country region? My main account that I use for Messenger and other stuff is United States, and it asks me for a US credit card whenever I want to buy any apps. This is causing me some trouble. :(
     
  16. dcyloo

    dcyloo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5,062
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Couldn't you just set up a new Aus based Windows Live ID, copy all your contacts into it and then change your Live ID on the phone to use the newly created one?
     
  17. theDarkHorse

    theDarkHorse Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,233
    Location:
    Sydney
    It's not that easy - it'd involve a hard reset of the phone. Which I clearly do not want to do without some sort of SMS backup application.
     
  18. dcyloo

    dcyloo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5,062
    Location:
    Brisbane
    You can't add a new Windows Live account? That function just adds the ability to let you connect to another account and not function through it?

    Mango time folks.
    http://www.wpcentral.com/it-s-here-microsoft-uk-windows-phone-site-touts-mango-release

    http://mango.microsoft.com/windowsphone/en-au/howto/wp7/new-features.aspx
     
  19. theDarkHorse

    theDarkHorse Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,233
    Location:
    Sydney
  20. johnspartan

    johnspartan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    801
    Location:
    Brisbane, Queensland
    I know its been posted previously but for those wanting the update before the carriers roll out Instructions are here my mate on vodafone just did it and as I type its updating my mozart on telstra
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: