1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Windows Updates Thread - August 2019 - Patch Yo Shizzle

Discussion in 'Business & Enterprise Computing' started by PabloEscobar, Dec 11, 2014.

  1. OP
    OP
    PabloEscobar

    PabloEscobar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,677
    Not every patch note, but this was well enough advertised in the usual places (including this very thread) that most people who don't just blindly auto-approve should have been aware of it.

    In better news.

    Microsoft has released an Update Rollup for Win 7 (finally)

    https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com...17/simplifying-updates-for-windows-7-and-8-1/

    It's not a "Service Pack" though, because if it was a Service Pack, then the EOL would increase, and MS won't do that because of what happened with XP and EOL (And the push to Win10 probably factors in pretty highly as well)

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/3020369 is a pre-req for it.

    and it will overwrite some other patches you may have installed (depending on the issues you've seen in your environment.

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/3125574

    It will be nice if I can baseline this, and then expire all < April patches from my WSUS server.
     
  2. tin

    tin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    6,421
    Location:
    Narrabri NSW
    Finally!!! Downloading now... Oh wait. No I'm not because apparently it requires IE to download. I feel like I just fell into 1995.
     
  3. KDog

    KDog Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    ACT
    Yep, I can't get it to work with my version of IE either. Can't browse where to store the download, button does nothing...
     
  4. freaky_beeky

    freaky_beeky Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,172
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Are you logged in with an administrator account. You need to install an ActiveX plugin which you need to be elevated to do... It's a great setup.
     
  5. KDog

    KDog Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    ACT
    You're fking kidding me, it won't work with runas?
     
  6. freaky_beeky

    freaky_beeky Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,172
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I assumed you've tried this. You need to get the whole browser to be running "as administrator" aka in elevated mode. Depending on what policies are in place, you may not be able to do that without logging in with that account.

    How did you go?
     
  7. KDog

    KDog Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    ACT
    I already tried runas, doesn't work.

    Machine can't login as admin, function disabled. Will have to do it from a non-domain machine and transfer via usb.

    Good job MS you pack of retards.
     
  8. bcann

    bcann Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,165
    Location:
    NSW
    And it breaks VMWare Nics on Win7/Server 2k8

    http://www.theregister.co.uk/2016/06/01/vmware_says_windows_7_update_breaks_networking_tool/
     
  9. looktall

    looktall Working Class Doughnut

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    26,877
  10. scrantic

    scrantic Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,780
    Location:
    3350
    How's june looking for everyone?
     
  11. OP
    OP
    PabloEscobar

    PabloEscobar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,677
  12. tin

    tin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    6,421
    Location:
    Narrabri NSW
    We picked 2 boxes up from a customer site last night that boot up, log in and then go spastic shortly after the desktop appears... Were working fine during the day before the updates installed, broke after booting with the latest updates.

    Haven't done any investigation yet...
     
  13. looktall

    looktall Working Class Doughnut

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    26,877
  14. OP
    OP
    PabloEscobar

    PabloEscobar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,677
  15. tin

    tin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    6,421
    Location:
    Narrabri NSW
    Why is there no facepalm icon here? I'll have to go with this one instead: :shock:

    Why don't they just simplify life by removing the concept of users and passwords altogether?
     
  16. Daemon

    Daemon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    5,474
    Location:
    qld.au
    So they've fitted a deadbolt to the back door to replace the standard lock.... but left the front door open after they left. Nice work :)
     
  17. OP
    OP
    PabloEscobar

    PabloEscobar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,677
    They've left the plans and locations for most of the other doors on the table, for anyone to look at.

    I've got another week before patch window to see if anything further comes from it, as IMHO changing a behavior as part of a patch, and not giving advance notice is a dick move.
     
  18. tin

    tin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    6,421
    Location:
    Narrabri NSW
    OK, so it turned out both these boxes had remnants of an old antivirus, along with their current one. Not sure why but they ran OK for about 2 weeks like this, and spazzed out after patch Tuesday.
    Uninstalled the old AV bits, and they both work fine now. Probably not a Windows Update issue.... Probably.
     
  19. Gunna

    Gunna Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    Messages:
    7,945
    Location:
    Brisbane
    This caused me to waste 3 hours today until I found the cause. G'damn it MS
     
  20. OP
    OP
    PabloEscobar

    PabloEscobar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,677
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2016

Share This Page

Advertisement: