Windows XP - GMT.exe

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by g0bbles, Aug 15, 2002.

  1. g0bbles

    g0bbles Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,133
    Location:
    Lane Cove, Sydney
    What the fuck in GMT.exe
    it uses 68mb of my ram
    and does nothing and it says that it is a process i am running
     
  2. HumbleBum

    HumbleBum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    16,771
    Location:
    United States
  3. looktall

    looktall Working Class Doughnut

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    26,600
    it's part of the gator family.

    adaware will not remove it completely.

    run a scan and take not of where all the files and registry entries are. then navigate to them and delete them manually. especially any reg entries.
    miss those and it will reinstall itself after a reboot.

    speaking of rebooting, after you've deleted them, reboot and run the scan again.
     
  4. GooSE

    GooSE New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    6,679
    Location:
    Sydney
    Gator is the biggest bitch in the world. I work at a school and it is on just about all staff computers - because they are n00bs with unrestricted access. :rolleyes:

    <Off-Topic>
    MissSatine: Just read your PCDB. Athlon XP 1800+ runs at 1530MHz, not 1800MHz ;)
     
  5. OP
    OP
    g0bbles

    g0bbles Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,133
    Location:
    Lane Cove, Sydney
    1.75 i think
    thats default
     
  6. ProphecyKnthrak

    ProphecyKnthrak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    Kellyville, NSW
    I had no idea while ago GMT.exe was. At first I thought it was a profile exe used in 2000 since gmt are the initials of my family.

    ANyway... tracked down the gtm.exe and it lead to Gator. DAMN IT! U can't uninstall that bitch without harming other programs.. so u delete the file and Gator DIR manuel. Windows will ignore it from then on :p
     
  7. Frewy

    Frewy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    638
    Location:
    \Sydney\NthBeaches\House
    Trust Gigabyte to name "Gigabyte Monitoring Tools" GMT.exe!!!
    Thanks now I know why it will stuff up some times.
     
  8. pavlos

    pavlos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    433
    Location:
    Melbourne
    goddam divx 5.02 pro comes with gain as well :mad:

    *cough* connects to direct connect to get a real version *cough* ;)

    btw, if u wanna stop GAIN from running everytime u boot, WITHOUT uninstalling it, so that all GAIN progs still work, just do this:

    start -> run -> regedit,
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\CMESys.exe <-- DELETE THIS ENTRY

    CMESys.exe is the program that executes GMT.exe everytime your computer boots :eek:
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2002

Share This Page

Advertisement: