wmc ripping and playing BD

Discussion in 'HTPC' started by southernduckie, May 18, 2013.

1. southernduckie

southernduckie Member

Hi I'll admit im a noob,
    I have just finished building a HTPC running win 7 and wmc i have also got AnyDVDHD what i want to know is how do i set it up to rip my DVD and BD collection to HDD and play it back though my Video library? i've still not figured out AnyDVD yet:(
    I use this to watch live TV so i use WMC as its easy to use but cannot figure out the whole video content thing yet help please

2. kesawi

kesawi Member

Not sure how to use AnyDVD as I haven't played around with it. If you rip it as an ISO you'll still need a third party player.

My personal recommendation is to use MakeMKV to rip the discs to BluRay, it's free software. It strips all of the extra fluff and just gives you the main movie in an mkv file.

You could the use Handbrake to compress the files down in size as well if you wanted to.

Grab the Shark007 codec and install them for native playback in WMC.

I'd recommend grabbing Media Browser and using that as the front end for your library in WMC.

The above combination is pretty good when used together with WMC.

3. OP
    OP
    southernduckie

southernduckie Member

thanks

thank you kesawi i have gone with Shark 007 and make mkv.

make mkv seems to work very well heaps easy to use.
    Still cant get shark 007 to work the mkv files don't show up on my library on wmc or play in wmc? seems to play fine through media player. looked on the shark 007 help page but they seem to talk a strange language way above my level just need help setting up on a 32 bit operating system.
    thanks heaps for the advice so far :):thumbup:

4. power

power Member

WMC will be much happier if you change the file extension to .avi

5. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

anydvd hd should have an icon in the taskbar just right click it and there's an option to rip to the HDD as a straight copy or as an ISO.