WOLFENSTEIN ll - The New Colossus

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by Darko, Jun 12, 2017.

  1. The MWNN

    The MWNN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    2,939
    Location:
    NSW
    I beat it the other day, i think its a great game but new Order was much better. Love the mounted laser weapon, best laser in a game to date.

    The difficulty was very spiky, i found the majority of the game very easy on "Bring it on" but then the Penthouse fight took me 10 goes or so to beat and the courthouse fight took 20+ goes and I raged several times but refused to turn the difficulty down becasue I'm stubborn.

    I ended up beating courthouse in a cheesy way by hiding in a little hole that stopped the enemies from swarming me so much. I hate it when a game forces me to play this way.

    I also found the checkpoints very hit and miss which necessitated lots of manual saving which is another thing i dislike in my linear fps games.
     
    vladtepes likes this.
  2. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,071
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    second chapter of the freedom chronicles is available :)
     
  3. vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,850
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    Is it worth paying $ for the freedom, chronicles?

    I ask because I seem to have pretty much finished the game, now just going back to various places from the sub and mopping up - trying to find a gold here or a toy there... which is pretty boring.
     
  4. vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,850
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    I'm shit, and happy to admit it, so I don't go for the super high difficulties - just average. But I enjoy it and that's what it's all about.
    Killing Nazis never really gets old. What I love about it is that its designed as a single player game. My internet speed is so shite that online gaming is all but impossible. (850kb - 1 megabit per second is usual).

    Yeah Fergus is WAY cooler than Wyatt
     
  5. purehybrid

    purehybrid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,549
    Location:
    Melbourne
    You don't need high download speed (bandwidth) for online gaming. Most online gaming uses very little data at all. What matters, is that you have a stable connection with a low ping. If you can speedtest yourself to Sydney with <80ms ping you should be fine for gaming. If you aren't, maybe log some long ping tests to text via cmd (something like "ping www.google.com -n 500 >> c:\pingtest.txt") to check for packet loss, because if you're getting packet loss you should be yelling at your ISP to fix it.
     
  6. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,071
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    It's streaming out to places like twitch is what takes up bandwidth.
     
  7. vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,850
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    @purehybrid ping 42 ms so in theory ought to be good, But some games very jumpy eg Verdun.
     
  8. vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,850
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    So - is the season pack the best option rather than buying the DLC separately. And is it a 'permanent' addition or does the season pack only go for 12 months or something stupid like that?
     
  9. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,071
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    like how siege does its passes? no, the dlc is 1 pass and that's it.
     
    vladtepes likes this.
  10. vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,850
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    Cool - off to go Steam shopping then... :)
     
  11. vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,850
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    OK I need some help please.

    How do I install the Freedom Chronicles.

    I have purchased the season pass so ep 1 and 2 currently are included in Steam the DLC list for Wolf2. But they show as "not installed'.
    If I go into the game to play them from Evas Hammer - it says please be patient these aren't installed yet.

    Steam does however show 'Season Pass' as installed.

    So... given that I've paid... how do I get the bloody things to "install" ???

    Ta.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2018
  12. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,071
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    should just start auto installing as soon as you bought the pass. Or go to the game page in steam app and see the list of DLC and make sure it's installed or not.
     
  13. vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,850
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
  14. vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,850
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    So, no luck - DLC shows as per screenshot above.
    I can't access it and know of no way to 'force' the install.

    Help... please !
     
  15. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,071
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    try unticking and ticking the check box in the "install" column.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2018
    vladtepes likes this.
  16. vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,850
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    Ok that made no difference but I noticed it is downloading some files - says 2 out of 3 downloaded so far....
    5.5/6.3Gb - I presume this is the DLC pack? Seems large, but is definitely associated with Wolf2.

    Download is taking forever - presumably it started when I purchased the Season Pass which was actually 8:46 pm yesterday.
    I see the download is happening at a blistering 268.7 kB/sec

    In theory only another hour or so should see it done. Time will tell....
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2018
  17. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,071
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    Yup, that's the DLC downloading. So it did work :D
     
  18. vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,850
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
    Well that sucks. I cam back to find that the download was 'paused' for some reason. I told it to recommence and it did ---- right at the beginning !?!?!?! Now estimates 5 hours to completion. aaarrgggghhhh!!!!!!!!
     
  19. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,071
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    very odd indeed.
     
  20. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,071
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    So far gunslinger Joe is good.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: