Worklog: Massively (Update #65, 29th Nov – Final Pics + Aussie copper pipe fittings!)

Discussion in 'Modding Worklogs' started by Saate, Mar 29, 2012.

  1. OP
    OP
    Saate

    Saate Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    398
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    If you look closely I left a small lip on the rear side of the cut/case. Wasn't obvious at the time but when I went to attach the radiator I saw it and realised it wouldn't quite be level if I left it. Had to go back and cut it off but worked out in the end :)

    There was a really good post on Martins liquid lab (link) a few months back exploring galvanic corrosion in depth. Shed a lot of light on the topic for me, and to drive it home there are pics of corroded blocks. Worth a read if you're curious :)

    Starting to plan a small PCCG order as the build progresses, any ram aficionados about? Based on my board and reading up so far I've been thinking of grabbing the*Corsair Dominator 32GB (4x8GB) DDR3 sticks. Prod code is*CMP32GX3M4X1600C10 if the name is unclear. 32GB is a little overkill, granted, but will provide scalability for future anyway. Any thoughts? Any strong reasons against?
     
  2. callum14

    callum14 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    395
    Location:
    C: Drive
    Woah, impressive so far, I'm keen to see how this one turns out :D Subbed.
     
  3. rainwulf

    rainwulf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,213
    Location:
    bris.qld.aus
    with ram so cheap, go lots!
    Turn of swap file, and you are good to go.

    I am running 2008 R2 converted to workstation, only 16 gig of ram, i barely break the 8 gig mark.
     
  4. h2oxide

    h2oxide Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,739
    Location:
    Perth
    Bring on the copper pipes
     
  5. davros123

    davros123 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,916
    32gb is more than a little overkill, it's insane! but so is this build.

    personally, I suggest you just get 16....even that is overkill...heck, my esxi server runs 6 vm's (incl 3 window's 7's and 8gb for solaris) with 16gb....but I know some specialist app's like photoshop love memory...but 16 will be heaps IMHO.
     
  6. Mickatroid

    Mickatroid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,570
    Location:
    Canberra
    I would agree with the lord of the Daleks (123).

    In my experience it gets increasingly hard to get RAM behaving properly at higher clocks/lower latencies using more densely packed DIMMs /all slots filled.

    Unless you can figure out a particular application I cannot see much gain in going beyond 8 gig to be honest. That said I would definitely go 16 on an OTT build just for the fun of it with prices the way they are.

    On the other hand if you are a Lightroom nut and want ultra fast image caching beyond what an SSD can provide (for example), or you just want to do it, go for it :)
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Saate

    Saate Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    398
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Soon :) I'm bending and shining the 12.7mm stuff I've already got to test how the loops look and get practice, that way I'll waste less of the 12.0mm stuff when I finally find and receive it! Will do a copper pipe update after the rest of the 480mm rad is done.

    Thanks for the input guys! I'll have a look at compatible 16gb options and see what the price points look like. Good feedback on the stability point though, and I guess if I go with the 4 x 8GB sticks I can always remove two to take it back to 16GB if it proves unstable.

    I noticed that ARC computers seems to have the 32GB ram I'm looking at for $290 which is a clear $50 cheaper than PCCG or anywhere else. Trying to figure out how that can be and initially thought they must have been differently spec'd or something but appears not. Might give ARC a call tomorrow to suss it out a bit more - any ideas why such a big difference?
     
  8. BigDave

    BigDave Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    3,701
    Location:
    ADELAIDE/5018
    Saate, any more news on the 12mm copper tube?
     
  9. OP
    OP
    Saate

    Saate Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    398
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Yep! Via a link someone supplied I've been in contact with a UK eBay seller who can source it for me. We're in the process of figuring out the maximum length UK Royal Mail (Small Parcels) allows, looks like packages in a roll shape can be larger than normal and we may be able to do a length in 10 x 60cm cuts which will be fine for the build.

    Also had a fantastic customer service experience calling Crane Copper's head office. I knew they didnt sell direct to the public but called in the hope they might be able to point me in the right direction. After calling so many places (Actrol, Airefrig, Blackwood, HVAC, Kembla, Reece Industrial, Swagelok, Tradelink) I was used to people having no idea about the EN 1057 standard stuff. Imagine my surprise when the young girl, Lauren, who answered the phone knew everything! She clarified that they don't actually make 12mm at all (Tradelink told me they do, but dont sell it in Aus) - that makes a lot more sense! While she wasnt able to get me the product she gave me a few suggestions on things I could try.

    I ended the call feeling pretty impressed so fired off a compliment email to their main sales address detailing everything I've been through and how impressed I was with Lauren. Her manager called me this morning to say thanks and is going to visit the mill there and see if they might have samples around, otherwise she said they have overseas contacts we can look at using. Pretty happy!
     
  10. BigDave

    BigDave Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    3,701
    Location:
    ADELAIDE/5018
    Good to hear and kudos to 'Lauren'
     
  11. OP
    OP
    Saate

    Saate Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    398
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    480MM RADIATOR UPDATE - Continued

    I wanted to triple check I had the radiator grill aligned properly so I clamped it to the case to get some measurements and line things up perfectly.
    [​IMG]

    After marking the appropriate spots in the case to drill out I used the piece I'd cut out earlier as a guide in case the dremel wanted to jump around while I was drilling.
    [​IMG]

    The drill spot marked with black marker and center punched.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    ..and done! didnt even put a hole in my leg or anything :p

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    All the rivet holes finished. On the left side of the opening you can see the small lip/curvature I didnt cut out at the time and had to go back and remove later.

    [​IMG]

    The 480mm radiator grill in place, if temporarily :)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  12. brayway

    brayway Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,721
    Location:
    Dun - New Zealand
    Did you rivet it in?
    Looks Very nice! :leet:
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Saate

    Saate Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    398
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Thanks :) Yeah I did the rivetting, actually my first time using the pop rivet gun and although I added tape I didnt realise I could also use my fingers to stop it making harsh contact with the rivet after the pop.

    Wasnt quite happy with what you see in the pic and I wanted to remove that lip I'd missed so I ended up drilling the ones you see out and did a better job the second time around :)
     
  14. brayway

    brayway Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,721
    Location:
    Dun - New Zealand
    Nice, I may look at doing that some time, If I can find some black rivets :p
     
  15. Dumpty

    Dumpty Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,308
    Location:
    Geelong
    Nice and neat,
    big :thumbup:
     
  16. h2oxide

    h2oxide Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,739
    Location:
    Perth
    Source: MDPC-X
     
  17. brayway

    brayway Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,721
    Location:
    Dun - New Zealand
    Don't Tempt me...
    If I order rivets from there... I know I will order more than that... :Paranoid::lol:
     
  18. Moptimus

    Moptimus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,094
    Location:
    Nambour-by-the-Sea
    Or Bunnings if you like. But MDPC do have them if you manage to get through for the limited opening times.
     
  19. h2oxide

    h2oxide Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,739
    Location:
    Perth
    Cheaper black rivets the paint cracks/flakes off when the rivet expands. MDPC black rivets don't
     
  20. BlueRaven

    BlueRaven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,191
    Location:
    Sydney
    Since it was my first big project but also my main gaming rig, I basically didn't do enough planning, underestimated the cost and quantity of parts/materials (sleeving and WC gear mainly) then ran out of budget. But the games must be played, the content must be consumed, the OC'ing and tinkering must continue... so after the inital frenzy of metalwork/sleeving/grand ideas etc, I put it together to use and tried to finish off little bits here and there, while dropping a whole new hardware config into it halfway through and moving house with bits of the chassis and screw hardware packed up in random boxes. This does not work when you're trying to build a beautifully-finished themed mod. :rolleyes::lol:

    Project coming along nicely, with care and attention to detail. The views are well deserved. :)
     

Share This Page