Xbox 360 Content License Transfer Tool (The DRM Tool)

Discussion in 'Microsoft Consoles' started by DiGiTaL MoNkEY, Jun 27, 2008.

  1. DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    [​IMG]

    Support Link (2013) http://support.xbox.com/en-US/xbox-live/marketplace-and-purchasing/download-content

    [​IMG]


    ___________________________

    THE INFORMATION BELOW IS NOT LONGER VALID. PLEASE FOLLOW THE DETAILS IN THE LINK ABOVE.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2013
  2. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    33,090
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    I guess it's their solution to the ever growing amount of complaints in regards to DRM'd content but at least this is going in the right direction I think.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Yep sure is, glad they got it sorted :D better late then never.
     
  4. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    33,090
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    Which means I need to get a new 360 in the next few weeks before i go back to uni.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Well grab one before you get back into uni, otherwise you'll be too busy with study to play it :(
     
  6. DRAGONKZ

    DRAGONKZ Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,790
    Location:
    Bankstown, Sydney
    Finally!

    Now i can transfer over all of the licesnes from my first console :thumbup:

    Thanks for posting the info!
     
  7. Duff Man

    Duff Man Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,919
    Location:
    Melbourne
    So does this allow you to have your content on two consoles or simply a pure transfer from one to the other meaning the original one you transfered no longer has DRM rights??

    EDIT: Nevermind... just read the FAQ

    If you have two Live A\C's.. one Aussie and the other US it sounds like you can only use the transfer license on only one A\C as it can only be used once a year and you have to be signed into that A\C with that gamertag.

    Not good for those of us who have downloaded Rock Band or any US DLC under a US A\C. Sounds like we will have to make a choice of which gamertag we decide has the most necessary content.
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2008
  8. alch

    alch Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,539
    Location:
    Perth
    ..and....

    How much are they trying to charge for it?

    Boycott Microsoft! Download your -should-be-free- version of Windoze today.

    Edit;
    Oh yeah, Buy a Sony.
     
  9. SpudBoy

    SpudBoy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    5,258
    Location:
    Under the Bed.
    bout friggin time.

    i replaced my xbox360 pro for an elite.
    noticed that my 10k MS points worth of content no longer worked.

    edit: pity i have to download EACH AND EVERY SINGLE ITEM again. this may take a while...
    -though it makes me feel slightly less pissed that it took so long knowing i managed to get a complete refund for every single piece of content i had purchased. (coz the MS rep had specifically told me the hdd transfer would also transfer the DRM - lol nub) so 10k ms points for free baby.... yeah.. feels good.



    ^^ and... its free.. and it works.. unlike the PSN... :leet:
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2008
  10. stuffisgood

    stuffisgood Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Messages:
    6,189
    Location:
    Whitsundays, QLD
    I don't think it revokes the licences on the other consoles so I've used it to transfer my GH2 and GH3 DLC onto my NTSC console so all rhythm game content is now on the one console.
     
  11. SpudBoy

    SpudBoy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    5,258
    Location:
    Under the Bed.
    it only deletes the licences on the other consoles once you sign back into live =P
     
  12. stuffisgood

    stuffisgood Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Messages:
    6,189
    Location:
    Whitsundays, QLD
    Either way I've got all my rhythm game content on one console which is all I cared about. Now I only have to take 1 console around to friends places when we're going to have a GH or RB night.

    287 licences spread over 4 consoles FTL :(
     
  13. SpudBoy

    SpudBoy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    5,258
    Location:
    Under the Bed.
    tell me about it..

    around 10,000 MS points worth of licences and about 15 gig of content.. all to be redownloaded.

    the jedis are gonna feel this one.
     
  14. stuffisgood

    stuffisgood Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Messages:
    6,189
    Location:
    Whitsundays, QLD
    You don't have to redownload the content itself. It just downloads the new licences, it takes seconds per download. I did all my GH stuff in under 10 mins on a shaped internet connection. And I have A LOT of GH stuff. Someone people might say I have ALL the GH stuff :p
     
  15. SpudBoy

    SpudBoy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    5,258
    Location:
    Under the Bed.
    ahh.. thats a little better. figured what the faq meant 'redownload' actually meant.. redownload.

    edit: total 366 licences transferred. :leet:
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2008
  16. DRAGONKZ

    DRAGONKZ Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,790
    Location:
    Bankstown, Sydney
    751 licenses spread over 2 consoles for an even bigger FTL :shock:

    Half way through them now luckily
     
  17. SpudBoy

    SpudBoy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    5,258
    Location:
    Under the Bed.
    lol! and i thought i had a lot with 366.

    pity i cant remember which ones i had downloaded on what console. and the ones that werent a transfer - actually DO download again. so i have to wait for them to finish.
     
  18. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    33,090
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    I go back late july so I should be able to get a pro with HDMI and better hardware!
     
  19. Zerstorer

    Zerstorer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,666
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    Fortunately I only had about 4 licenses on another console, but that's now cleared up. Yay.
     
  20. SpudBoy

    SpudBoy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    5,258
    Location:
    Under the Bed.
    well.. looks like it worked.

    this tool is seriously worth knowing about.

    pity it was delayed so long. it was supposed to be released at the same time as the elite conosles as many people upgraded to the larger HDD and HDMI.
     

Share This Page